Thread: NPD- What's happening?

Re: NPD- What's happening?

Quote Originally Posted by haybii View Post
    Sorry Jimbo didnt get to see your message earlier.. went down there on sat morning.. saw a 3 of guys to the far right of mcgavs and another in a blue station wagon going down as we were packing up (hi if you are reading).. didnt catch anything as well.. so i decided to go catch me some garfish.. hope they make good saltwater bait..
    Hey haybii, were you using lures or bait for the bass ? Certainly are a good number of gar in there hey ? Everytime I'd bring my lure back in a little school of gar would be tailing it......nosy little buggars !!!

On another note mate...the hatchery people got back to me on how to determine the sex of yellowbelly...they said it needs a trained eye (hatchery staff ) and only at certain times of year. ??? Not to worry, I still reckon that the boys go harder, I hooked another two on the weekend, both similar size. One came in no worries but the other chucked an absolute poopy in the water and out of the water.
    After I let the second yella go I walked back into the water and into the grass and stood on the fish......Slimy
    Last edited by Little grey men; 08-04-2008 at 10:47 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Little grey men View Post
    Hey haybii, were you using lures or bait for the bass ? Certainly are a good number of gar in there hey ? Everytime I'd bring my lure back in a little school of gar would be tailing it......nosy little buggars !!!

On another note mate...the hatchery people got back to me on how to determine the sex of yellowbelly...they said it needs a trained eye (hatchery staff ) and only at certain times of year. ??? Not to worry, I still reckon that the boys go harder, I hooked another two on the weekend, both similar size. One came in no worries but the other chucked an absolute poopy in the water and out of the water.
    After I let the second yella go I walked back into the water and into the grass and stood on the fish......Slimy
    Hahaha yeah they are.. the one that we caught last week just lay flat in the net not even bothered that its trapped in the net...
    I used spinner baits ( kokoda ones- duno how good they are... thought they are all the same ), poppers, hardbodies, and g vibes for bass... no touch lost a g vibe but no biggy because they are cheap.. last week i saw an asian couple use saltwater yabbies for bait.
    i noticed when i was actually fishing for garfish they where chasing my float when the bait was gone..fun catching them when nothing is biting... but a shame that i am yet to catch my first bass..especially when i just recently got a new outfit and i want to pop its cherry with a nice NPD bass..

Haybii,
    that was me in the blue stationwagon. I went down past the picnic areas on the right- not a touch! Had a texas rigged worm which is just the business for all that weed, but still nothing. Tried between Forgan Cove and Macg's- felt like I was in the movie "Platoon" with all the long grass ..... I too saw HEAPS of garfish, following in my worm. Nosey buggers indeed. Anyhoo, now that I know what you look like I'll pop over and say hi next time.
    Looks like it's going to be too cold for the bass soon......
    tight lines all,
    Jimbo

especially when i just recently got a new outfit and i want to pop its cherry with a nice NPD bass..
    It'll happen, then you'll just keep on getting them. Those Kokoda spinners are pretty good gear. G vibes can produce good results out there as well. Soft plastics ( Sliders ) have been working really well for me lately. Took a mate out there Saturday morning, he's never caught a bass before or even used a lure and he got three for the morning. He actually got the biggest one for the day.
    The fish are out there......you've just got to find them.

Hey Jimbo, I fished all last winter out there for some good bass.
    Beetlespins hooked onto your plastics can be very effective in that submerged grass.

Quote Originally Posted by jim_bream View Post
    Haybii,
    that was me in the blue stationwagon. I went down past the picnic areas on the right- not a touch! Had a texas rigged worm which is just the business for all that weed, but still nothing. Tried between Forgan Cove and Macg's- felt like I was in the movie "Platoon" with all the long grass ..... I too saw HEAPS of garfish, following in my worm. Nosey buggers indeed. Anyhoo, now that I know what you look like I'll pop over and say hi next time.
    tight lines all,
    Jimbo
    Hehehe awsome... man u rocked up pretty late though.. we were there at 7ish and i thought that was late..hehehe... yeah if you see a guy in waders with a blue jacket --> me

best time for NPD bass fishing is winter IMHO, big fat bass on a late sunny winters arvo, great stuff