Thread: Crappie Line.....

Wink Crappie Line.....

NB: If anyone thinks this thread is inappropriate say so and I'll delete it.
    It's intended as a bit of light hearted humour as follows:

Did you know there really IS such a thing as Crappie Line..!

So if you use this line and aren't catching any fish or are getting heaps of tangles you'll be able to blame your Crappie Line... "must be this crappie line I'm using"

It's not just ordinary Crappie line ' it's specialty Crappie line and its even camouflaged (makes the mind boggle - how do you camouflage Crappie line?)

Anyway, no need to reply to this thread. I just had a giggle when I came across the Crappie Line ad and I decided to share it...and to do it justice I have included a picture of the spool and the original blurb.

It's probably good stuff so no more carrying on about buying crappie line...
    So, has anyone bought crappie line before? I have, but it wasn't the crappie line pictured below as it had something else on the spool when I bought it.
    I found out the crappiness of the line later!!

And if you happen to be snagged badly and can't get the line free you'll be able to say "Ooh...cut the crap!" then actually do it.

The line comes in 4lb - 10lb of 1,500 to 3,100 yard spools for US$6.99
    (Is that a load of c_ _ p ,or what?)

OK, no more crappie jokes. It might be prefectly good line.
    Here is the original Mr. Crappie line blurb:

Mr. Crappie Line has all of the characteristics to be the finest specialty line available. It's camouflaged to be undetectable in any color water, yet its fluorescent stripe can be seen above water. Soft and supple, with low memory for easy casting. Best of all, it's extremely abrasion resistant, with excellent knot strength to get big slabs out of the toughest places.

"...a voice in my head keeps telling me to go fishing..."

Re: Crappie Line.....

nice find.... very cleaver.

i've bought some so called "tournament line" before and i must say it was the biggest piece of C&%p i've ever touched. definition of abrasion - using cheese as your line instead.

Seems you might be out of touch..this line is used in the U.S. to catch a fish called crappie.Its been named the same as the fish species as a sales pitch to entice buyers.GEEZ
    The fish was named crappie way before the slang word crap was used.same as when gay meant happy now it has a new meaning
    Last edited by spears; 30-03-2008 at 11:05 AM.

Cor,

I didn't know there was a fish called a crappie. I wonder if you can catch them in crappie weather while using crappie line with a crappie rod..!???

Hmm, I wonder what they taste like..?
    Last edited by PNG1M; 26-03-2008 at 11:42 PM.

i also have heard of a fish called a crappie in america they don't grow that big from memory i think the record is around 4lb's but i do think they would taste very crapy because they live in a muddie freshwater lake and i think they would taste the same as carp.

regards,
    keechie
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

I heard the Yanks like Crappie fishing when they are not Walleye fishin

I thought crappie line came from the bay with an E
    Reidy

Crappies hey ? they sure don't sound very appetizing. Googled up a pic of a black crappie. Pretty looking fish. How the hell did they get a name like that ?

Quote Originally Posted by Little grey men View Post
    Crappies hey ? they sure don't sound very appetizing. Googled up a pic of a black crappie. Pretty looking fish. How the hell did they get a name like that ?
    Maybe your on the right track,Maybe they taste crappie im getting worse
    Cheers Reidy

I recently ordered a few things from Bass Pro Shops (a couple of lures, a shirt & some Columbia shoes) which arrived two days ago. In the box they included their current 291 page 2008 Early Spring 'cattle-dog' (I mean catalogue).

I quickly flicked through to see if they had anything crappie in there and sure enough on page 81 there it was - the Mr. Crappie line itself with a picture of a bloke holding up a swag of crappie fish. Not only that, but they also had Mr Crappie rods and Mr Crappie reels for sale.

So if you're that way inclined you can set yourself up with completely crappie outfit.

The rods even come in a 'fluero pink' Ms Crappie version for the other half so you're going to buy your missus a rod you can tell her you're going to get her something crappie.

Serious now:
    In the cattle-dog I also saw that I had been using a couple of rather 'el-cheapo' rods (as spares) to catch some quite serious PNG black bass on. Apart from a Penn Pinpoint and GL Loomis that I have I've also been using an Ugly Stick Lite (worth US$39.95) and a Bass Pro Shops 6" (2 piece) 'Tourney TS Special' with a PowerHump grip that's advertised for US$49.99.

So who says you need a 20kg rated Live Fibre black bass rod when you can catch them on more 'run of the mill' rods after all. (I have now upgraded to an Egrell)

In fact (100% true story - no crap) on one trip using the Tourney Special matched with a Calcutta 400 and a Green Mackerel TILSAN Big Barra lure, I caught 13 barra in 35 minutes (not incluidng the half dozen or so that got off on the way to the boat).

My mate in the same boat (also a 1 metre club fisho) casting to the exact same spot for the same period of time, caught point blank zero - despite changing his lure 5 times. We could actually SEE the barra literally queing up behind my lure to take a strike at it. I even lent him another Tilsan but a different colour and that didn't work either.

Since then a Tilsan 'Big Barra' in Green Mackerel always has to be in my tackle box. I kept that same lure on over the whole weekend (Friday - Monday) and caught other barra as well as several black bass on it. THEN, as we were slowing motoring back to the grass airstip on Monday morning we stopped at the same pool where I landed the 13 barra two days before.

On the very first cast (still using the Tilsan) I hooked and landed a 104cm barra - that's the one pictured below. While I was attending to it, my mate caught 2 more at around the 90cm mark. We named that place "Sharpey's Hole"
    ...(no crappie jokes thanks)

The PNG boat guys requested that they keep the 104cm barra and share it around. They scaled it and kept the head and gills for the soup pot. Then they put the entrails in a zip lock plastic bag also to cook later. They took the fillets off and essentially gave them to me to keep the esky company on our return flight.
    They also broke the skeleton up and bundled it into their food hamper, also to boil up later. So the only thing on that fish that wasn't used, was the scales.

Our fishing club have now imposed size limits on barra taken in these waters to ensure the big females are set free. Wherever possible, the black bass are tagged and/or weighed & measured then also released.

And the Tilsan Green Mackerel??? I used it again to good effect on our next trip a couple of months later. Due to all the tooth marks it had I replaced it with a new one - identical.

I began hauling in barra and bass at a different waterhole late one afternoon
    (my mate - a different one to before - was catching nothing). He asked me if he could use my original Tilsan; the one with the toothmarks. I said yes and within half a dozen casts (and a barra hat-trick) he lost the lure on a bass due to a 'crappie' knot he'd tied. Yes, I did mutter a few under-breath "crikeys" and other carefully selected adjectives as I was gonna put that (lost) lure on display in the buffet cabinet .

So there you go..."wouldn't read about it would you..!"

Tru
    Last edited by PNG1M; 02-04-2008 at 01:54 PM. Reason: typo

I thought a Crappie was a brown eel that curled up on the sea floor and looked like a..............turd.

Avast ye matey!

This crappie thread has even more crappiness that I first thought.

Another flick through the Bass Pro Shops cattle-dog revealed no less that 3 DVDs about crappie fishing.

I'll have to check their titles later but there is a Volume 1 and 2 about how to enjoy your crappie fishing.

I know I've enjoyed 'good' fishing before but I'm not sure if I could enjoy crappie fishing even though it's been said that "a bad day of fishing is better that a good day at work".

Another DVD is about the secrets of crappie fishing....by a crappie fishing expert!!

I think I'm gonna have to order one of these crappie products just to have it in the tackle box as a talking point. I'm thinking of the 10lb crappie line as I could use it as padding under the braid. Then when someone asks me what I have under the braid I can say "ooh, just some crappie line..!"
    Last edited by PNG1M; 31-03-2008 at 02:54 PM.

good day al,
    An exercise in retoric
    "I NEED A CRAPPIE" or
    Do i need to fish for crappies or do i just need a crappie
    My replys are crappie this i know
    Reidy

I think you could start up a novelty outfit, like say a rex hunt outfit. If you wanted to have a go at someone you could buy a. crappie rod,crappie reel,crappie line.....swivels?...sinkers?....lures.... although most of us have those lures after you don't catch anything with them.

I could see women buying these outfits for their husbands as a xmas present.