Pine still firing
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pine still firing

Pine still firing

Haven’t fished the Pine for about three weeks, due to a trip away and never fishing during the Easter break. Was interested to see if the fish were still active as they had been before I went away.
    Launched at Deep Water Bend about 5.30am and went looking for prawns. They were fairly hard to find but managed about a hundred greasies in about 2 hours, but only half a dozen bananas. Also managed about 15 herring and a few poddy mullet which gave me all the bait I needed.
    Settled down to fish the rising tide – I prefer a falling tide, but you take what you get. There was a steady run of fish through most of the rise and by the time I gave it away about 11.30am I had managed 9 keeper bream, and released about the same number, a small grunter (38cm) and a nice size school jew (67cm). I had also released a small cod and an even smaller GT, but was busted off about half a dozen times, both on live baits and on prawns, by fish I couldn’t keep out of the structure. A couple of these felt like cod, but could only guess at the others.
    I quit about 11.30am when the tide went slack. Nice morning, with light winds and no showers for a change. The bony bream (crab bait) in the picture were taken in the cast net.
    Cheers Freeeedom

Re: Pine still firing

Nice mornings effort.
    Ray

You sure do know that Pine river well. Nice feed, - well done again.

Sounds that Pine's fishing better than Mud, haven't you visit Mud later?

You're champion again!

Are there any vermin annoy your fresh baits?

Ausfish Platinum Member Fish_gutz's Avatar

thats a good haul for the pine, well done.

Quote Originally Posted by Silent View Post
    Sounds that Pine's fishing better than Mud, haven't you visit Mud later?

You're champion again!

Are there any vermin annoy your fresh baits?

Hi Silent

I don't have a lot of trouble with vermin where I fish in the Pine - just get a few catfish if the baits get in too close to the mangroves and the odd stingray, but they're few and far between. The only vermin I got yesterday were two catfish in the cast net.

I haven't been to Mud for a couple of months now because of the strong winds. Forecast looks good for tomorrow so I might have a go

Cheers Freeeedom

Good read Freeeedom. Thanks for the report. You had a productive session. Well done. I have not fished with livies in a very long time but it looks like they still produce some quality fish.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Nice fish in that Box Freeeedom.

The jewie looks in good nic.....Well done.

Awesome stuff mate, you sure have the pine sussed out. Are you fishing in the general vicinity of the highway bridge or further upstream? might have to go hit the pine myself one time soon, considering how the weathers been of late. Top stuff!

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

Nice catch mate!! there are some good Bream getting around the pine atm. Can't believe you caught another Jew though!! lol good work

Brandon...

Yeah Brandon, another jew in bright sunshine is a bit of a surprise. The quality of the bream was down a bit on what I had been catching. Might have been the rising tide - I much prefer to fish the run out. Go to use some heavier gear and see if I can stop a few of the bigger ones, just to see what they are. I did lose what I thought was a decent threadfin there before my Iluka trip. Saw the rod start to go and when I picked it up the fish was up past the boat and almost at the surface. When I put a bit of hurt on him he took off downstream at a hundred miles and hour and I saw the big golden flash of his side for a second. He fought pretty clean and I thought I would boat him but after about 5 minutes he cut me off. Maybe a nice big live banana prawn under a float might tempt another one to have a go. Next time!

Live_2_fish - the bridge area mate

Cheers Freeeedom

Brandon, you me and Nico might have to follow Freedom around one day. Do you reckon he will notice 3 tinnies following his every move?

Remember when he looks at us to avert your eyes and whistle innocently.

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

John, you said you will be using heaver line after last time? lol I have been chasing a few around the bridge of late and am getting shredded on 20lb leader more often then I like Think I might have to rig up the barra rod with a nice big juicy nana on your spot next time

There use to be quite a few threadies in the pine but I don't hear of them much these days, they still have to be around hey!! I don't know if I would be using a float for one though, I tend to think they are a bottom feeder 90% of the time looking at their mouth makeup. but I could be totally wrong as I haven't caught one yet

hahahaha nice one baitwaster

I have an advantage though, I drive over the bridge every morning and I know his boat spotted him anchored up yesterday morning so know exactly where to fish hehe.. Will have to see whats happening this weekend and try and organize an arvo fish there..

although we will have to work hard for the prawns, I think this is a big advantage for fishing the pine atm.

Brandon...

great haul again mate.

how many jew have you caught this year in the pine?
    "True Blue"

Three Loophole

Cheers Freeeedom