Out and back from Peel

Thread: Out and back from Peel

Out and back from Peel

Poodroo and I must be changing our approach to fishing these days, we seem to be planning our trips more than 1 or 2 days in advance, this one being about a fortnight or so. But there were a few good reasons for being so organized, we had the company of my daughter and her best friend who has not been able to come out because of weekend sporting committments.

Our plan was to leave Manly, get to South West rocks early, before the wind increased to full force, and as the wind was expected to be S/SE the trip home on following sea would be easy. It turned out that we left a little too early, making it difficult to navigate in pre dawn light, so for safety sake, and we don't have a GPS yet, we stopped at Wello until the Sun came up.

The plastics of choice were the usual Gulp Nuke chook and Lime Tigers. We know Wello well enough to avoid the jig head munching reefs, especially with two inexperienced deckies on board, so we set up a drift which seemed ideal...... We were getting hits, the sounder was showing schools under us..... then another boat rocked up, deciding to anchor where we were intending to drift Every link in his anchor chain rattled over the side of his tinny, and I swear it seemed he had a magnet in his boat that attracted ours to his. Suddenly, the fish were gone, and so we decided to head over to Peel as originally intended.

What a ssssllllooooowwwww trip over to Peel, by the time the sun came up, the white caps started to show themselves. We got there in the long run, but when we did, I was looking forward to our 1st keeper.

By 8 oclock we managed a feed of Snapper, but the chef had ordered pan size only, so that is all there seemed to be. 1st a sole, then 5 x 38cm fish. We were fishing 4 rods, but Poodroo and I were running a relay for the girls, because they don't seem to have the agression when it comes to casting their lines out. I would say " give your plastic a real hard flick when you cast" but the resulting attempts seemed to be little more than a wave of the rod, more than a decent cast. Sometimes they cast them almost verticle, and we were lucky they didn't land back in the boat with the help of the wind Give it a real hard flick of the rod!!! Oh.... never mind, we'll cast them out and then hand the rods over once the plastics had started their decent. For a while, we had double hookups, and we found a school!! YES!!! This is it we thought !!! We are set for a ripper session!
    Suddenly, our little angel guest passenger spins around and announces she is feeling a little queezy, and the lack of colour in her cheeks confirmed it. "Do you think you will need a bucket?" The reply was yes please! Just in case ..... I've seen a lot of "just in case" and we decided a move to quieter water was in order before someone got totally ambarrassed about barfing in front of her best friend. Her eyes started to close, her head started to droop into her lap, and the interest in fishing was just a memory.

The rest of the morning was spent moving a little to what we thought would be quieter water..... still not feeling well?? OK lets try another spot. We were back at MAnly by 10.30am. Some bigger waves were a little fun riding on their backs, but we returned unscathed.

Lunch was prepared, fresh crumbed snap!!

Last edited by Scalem; 24-03-2008 at 07:16 PM.

Re: Out and back from Peel

Good effort mate...

I headed out in the goldy yesterday, the swell in the seaway early in the day was OK, but then it kicked up a notch.. Ended up mucking around the Coomera river and I have to admit, after using bait all day, I flicked out a nuke chook and whammo, my first flatty - just under legal at 38cm but fun none-the-less.

You almost have me converted Scalem,........almost

Nothing worse than a quest getting seasick,Certainly can cut a day short but you did well scoreing a feed before early stumps.Well done

It was hard work but gratifying to put the girls onto a feed of fish. Scalem you forgot to mention the fantastic skippering for the day. Was not the best conditions to be in the Bay but to get a fresh feed is more than anyone could ever hope for when going out. Here is a pic of Scalem's daughter reluctantly holding her fish after lots of "Eeeewwwww, gross....it's slimey and still kicking!"

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

well done..good to see some people can get out and have a fish.

Ausfish Platinum Member Aquarius's Avatar

Gidday Scalem, Good to see a family enjoying a days fishing.
    Pity about the guest feeling seasick.
    The crew did well to boat 5 nice squire especially in those sloppy conditions yesterday.
    Cheers Brent

Quote Originally Posted by Aquarius View Post
    Gidday Scalem, Good to see a family enjoying a days fishing.
    Pity about the guest feeling seasick.
    The crew did well to boat 5 nice squire especially in those sloppy conditions yesterday.<----- we actually went out today
    Cheers Brent
    Thanks Brent. Not sure what it was like out there "yesterday" but I am sure it was not a lot better than it was today.

Nice work Boys and Girls,

Good to see the young ones getting amongst them.

One of these days the weather is going to be perfect just like the weekend coming up.

Chris. Get over it. Plastics are the only way to catch really big fish. One day when you have time I'll show you.

Frank OO

Quote Originally Posted by Chris Ryan View Post
    You almost have me converted Scalem,........almost

Almost hey? I think you are not letting on you are actually convinced, but are too busy running boat rallys and doing the father thing to concentrate on making plastics work.
    Or will I have to wait till the next R2M comp and team up with you? Congrats on the flattie!

Quote Originally Posted by Frank OO View Post
    Nice work Boys and Girls,

Good to see the young ones getting amongst them.

One of these days the weather is going to be perfect just like the weekend coming up.

Chris. Get over it. Plastics are the only way to catch really big fish. One day when you have time I'll show you.

Frank OO
    Frank,
    He doesn't need you to show him plastics can catch huge fish, he's seen it 1st hand But any excuse to venture up your way for a fish onboard HMS FRANKOO is a good excuse.

Last edited by Scalem; 24-03-2008 at 07:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    It was hard work but gratifying to put the girls onto a feed of fish. Scalem you forgot to mention the fantastic skippering for the day. Was not the best conditions to be in the Bay but to get a fresh feed is more than anyone could ever hope for when going out. Here is a pic of Scalem's daughter reluctantly holding her fish after lots of "Eeeewwwww, gross....it's slimey and still kicking!"

Skippering for the day? Not bad! Let's see how the back is in the morning and I might edit this response I guess you can't really avoid those potholes you seem to find with regularity

Thanks for the nice pic, it turned out great. She gets her good looks from me, of course!!!

Last edited by Scalem; 24-03-2008 at 07:26 PM.

Silly question but going to South West Rocks why would you leave from Manly? especially if expecting it to blow up.

Why not Raby Bay?

Quote Originally Posted by Marlin_Mike View Post
    Silly question but going to South West Rocks why would you leave from Manly? especially if expecting it to blow up.

Why not Raby Bay?

Mike it was purely based on my skippering abilities because Scalem's boat is temporarily out of action with trim and tilt issues and my new boat as yet is not armed with a GPS. It was 4:30am and still dark so in my way of thinking you are better to stay in familiar territory than to launch from somewhere foreign. I have not launched from Raby Bay before but I am confident with the waters from Manly because I am used to it. With the wind kicking up we knew that it would be behind us so the ride home was not so bad. I would hated to have been going against it however. I am sure to check out Raby Bay in the future because I agree that it would have been the better choice to launch from.

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    Skippering for the day? Not bad! Let's see how the back is in the morning and I might edit this response I guess you can't really avoid those potholes you seem to find with regularity

Thanks for the nice pic, it turned out great. She gets her good looks from me, of course!!!

Well I meant to say something a couple of times whilst in motion about why you chose to sit backwards? When hitting the potholes it would jar the back more than if you faced forward. I have a ruptured L5 in my back and not once did I feel any jarring that caused it discomfort. Oh well, if you can barely walk in the morning just do the Australian thing after a long weekend and chuck a sickie. Chris will love you for it I'm sure. Be sure to tell him it was my fault. Lol

Last edited by Poodroo; 24-03-2008 at 08:49 PM.