Thread: Monduran Easter Madness

Monduran Easter Madness

Well the park is pretty full, not much space in the non powered areas. Reckon that there would be a bout 600 people in the park.

The best solution is to have a pre-booked powered site. We have been here for about three weeks, through all the south easterlies, rotten vegitation, mostly fishless days.

Did most of the tourist stuff around the area, fished for about 2 to 3 hours most days for a small fish or two around the 90cm and a metre one being the highlight.

The full moon brings out the madness boats everywhere at all ours, a few drunks on the water and in the camp.

Had a break yesterday, then out just before six, found a nice quite patch up above Bay B with some likely timber and shallow water on the point around the 1 to 2 Metres and pelted in a lure or two.

First strike and fiesty aerial act for a few minutes then, yep you guessed it. Lure back and no fish. Estimated about 110cm.

About half hour more casting in the same region and on again, this time more of a slogger, and kept us down. Fish hooked on side of gill plate and wasn't about to go aerial.

Boated a nice 90cm and photo taken, fish released for the next person to enjoy.

Casted our arms of for another thirty minutes in the location and around the area, no result.

Up to new area and did the same for about an hour. No results.

Executive decision and back to original area. First cast and I'm on again and this time, better fish. Quite the slogger and back into the sticks, got her out about five times and then she decides enough to this. Into the air and peel heaps of line, tighten drag and back to near the boat. Nope don't like that boat and out she goes again for another long run and a sensational leap. Thought by this time she might be getting tired (I sure as heck was). More slogging and then a lot of running under and around the boat. Finally got her boat side. Bugger will have to get a bigger net.

Finally got her into boat, for a couple of quick photos, not quite the majic 120cm but at 119cm she will do me.

Back in the water to revive and off she swam. Hung around having a tea and Hot cross bun, and to ensure the fish was ok.

Stay away from the idiots, find a quite spot, possibly way up the dam. Then work the points and drop offs. Lots of trial and error.

Berkley dropshot rod, Diawa Capricorn spin reel, 50lbs Fins Braid and 80lb Penn 10x leader.

Nice fish and even nicer to see her swim away.

Regards Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

Re: Monduran Easter Madness

great report and great fish, thanks for showing. cheers bdowdy..brett

Trev,
    Thats one fine capture mate, nice to see efforts rewarded.
    A trophy fish that didnt come easy, now thats worth celebrating!
    Congratulation once again.
    Jas

Hate the big crowds but sometimes we have no choice, Great report and even better fish Trev, Thanks for the report and well done, Cheers Whitto

Lovely fish Trev ..... well done

We heard that the crowds were on the way! ...... nice to be back in quiet Sydney

Nagg

Trev, thats a great effort with all those boats and the idiots that go with them!!!

I have heard about alot of silly business out there this weekend.

119cm barra !! thats awesome. Well done. Great photos too.

I haven't heard of many fish being caught at all, so you have done really well.

cheers steve

Great looking fish..... What is about drunken yobbos and long weekends camping. Most people plan there time away to enjoy the surroundings and make the most of the location but yobbos on the drink seem to spoil it for others, yet they can't recognise how their actions affect others.

It is becoming very rare to find a location free of drunken idiots.

Regards Cameron.

Trev... To get a fish out of Monduran with all its hazards of that size is a top effort....l thought that the world had found Awoongee this long weekend but it seems that you have had your fair share of the world too....

Awsome fish Trev. Heading up to Monduran during the school holidays. Hopefully the drunken idiots are minimal. Looking to crack the Monduran Metre mark.

Brad

Quote Originally Posted by Awoonga View Post
    Trev... To get a fish out of Monduran with all its hazards of that size is a top effort....l thought that the world had found Awoongee this long weekend but it seems that you have had your fair share of the world too....
    G'day Trev

Has it been busy up at Awoonga ?

Great report Trev and well done on that very nice fish!

Nice fish Trev, well done! although it's a shame you had to put up with the idiots.

Obi_Wan

Hi Trev thanks for the update and well done what a great capture mate.

A few wks on a barra dam must have been great.

All the best cheers Kel & Lyndon.

Thumbs up Re: Monduran Easter Madness

Top effort Tev and a nice $1.19 there mate.

Hell of a lot of fisho’s hit our dams over Easter as it’s probably the most popular time on the calendar for families.
    So I’m guessing there would have been over 100 boats on the dam at the peek time of day’.

Cheers Les

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."

Quote Originally Posted by McCod View Post
    Hell of a lot of fisho’s hit our dams over Easter as it’s probably the most popular time on the calendar for families.

Cheers Les
    Easter long weekend combined with a full moon. Double wammy.
    Its why Im sitting down here at Hervey Bay enjoying cold lager rather then the frustrations of being crowded out at my local.
    The fish can wait
    Jas