PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Turd of a Good Friday around Maggie
Well as some Townsville folk will know, I decided to brave the winds today and try and get a fresh feed of fish for Good Friday.
I was doing my usual checks of the boat on Thursday arvo, everything working fine, but the battery was a bit low, so I put her on charge over night. Woke up at 2.30am (not worth going to sleep really) and put the battery back into the boat, checked voltage with multi meter and checked again when load was applied, all was good. Hooked the trailer up and headed into the ramp, launched at 3.30 and switched the navlights on only to find that one the port light was working. I tied off to the pontoon and went to work, found the problem fixed and I was right to go. I was a bit wary of the wind as 15-25 knts had been predicted so I headed out and decided the wind was OK for now and motored out to orchard rocks and @25knt travel speed, it was so far so good as far as the chop was concerned. Once I got to Orchard rocks and sounded around for a good spot, I saw the very first distinctive arches on my sounder, massive schools of what I guessed were nannygai so I dropped the pick and sent out a bait on to have the wind really pick up, with the seas higher than the boat. Decided will wait 5 min for this bait to be eaten and then head in somewhere sheltered.
The big squid bait was absolutely smashed, and with my 15kg rod and 30lb braid, could not stop the fish for the life of me until it eventually busted me off. I thought "awesome, there's going to be some good fish come aboard this morning", but the wind had picked up even more so I decided against staying and headed back in to Middle reef to get some shelter from the wind.
Middle reef was much smoother water and when I anchored up on my desired spot, there were miriads of undrsize sweetlip coming aboard ranging from a paltry 10cm (how he got a 5/0 circle hook in its gob I'll never know) upto just under, the largest fish goin 29.5cm. Not to mention the 10,000 small cod of various variety's joining the party. The bit slowed and the sun was up, so I decided to head in close to picnic bay to my trout hole to have a go at some coral trout. Was soaking a bait and the wind changed direction slightly, making conditions very uncomfortable, chopping up the water and sending the boat one way when the current was trying to take me the other way. Got the shits and decided I'd had enough so I tried to start the engine before pulling the anchor in, as I always do, and nothing a couple of clicks from the engine and nothing. Shit I thought, oh well, I'll just use the rip cord only to find there was none, crap what the hell am I going to do now? Turned the radio and nothing, battery didn't even have enough power to run a simple 27meg. Luckily I was in close and had full mobile reception which I used to ring home and ask dad where the ripcord was....his response...."its here, in the drawer", "WHAT?", now what the hell am I gunna do? after a bit of thought I asked dad to look up the phone number for the Coastguard and I rang them. Coastguard said they'd be out shortly and asked if I was in any danger, if I was anchored, did I have enough water/food, and details of the boat. Got a call from the Coastguard to say They'd just received a mayday call and since I was in no danger, they would attend to that first. I said no worries, I'm fine, I'll just keep fishing.
So I was stuck out there for a while and there was no point worrying about something I couldn't do anything about, so out goes a dead mullet to pass time. Just as well cos I had trout after trout come aboard, unfortunatlye all under size, ranging between 15cm and 36cm, but it kept me entertained while I waited. Dad rang me and asked if someone was coming out to rescue me, "yes Dad, ooh shit hang on I've got to go, good fish on". Never saw what it was but I somehow mangaed to keep it off the reef for a short while and then, bang, reefed, damn, and that was on 30lb and I had no chance of getting it in. I switched rods to a 24kg outfit I was planning to use for some trolling, tied a hook on and threw out a big mullet, wasn't long before zzzzzzzzzzz OMG a massive fish! Yay, something to show for the trip! Until I realised I couldn't stop it, not a chance in hell, it was stripping line off like there was no tomorrow and I had the drag almost locked up. Was nearly spooling me and with no engine to give chase, hoped and prayed for the fish to either tire out or bust me off near the hook. Eventually he busted me off, leaving me with some massive adrenalin pumping. My guess would be a massive shark, but I have seen some monster GT's hanging around that area as well.
Switched back to my 30lb outfit and continued fishing, when I got another call, it was the coast guard "we'll be there in about 30min mate" no worries, take your time, the fish are biting came the reply. I got scolded over the phone for taking a lax attitude towards the trouble I was in, and I just said, well what else am I going to do, sit here and do nothing, worrying about something I can't fix? I might as well have some fun since the rest of the day turned to shit.
I could see the coastguard heading over to me and started to wind up my line when Bang, zzzzzzzzzz OH not now, I need to go, tried fighting the fish but had to cut it off when the coastguard got nearer, as there was rescuing to be done, and I know how little they get in funding, so how can I why waste their time for the sake of a fish?
Tow lines were attached and into the ramp we head, haivng to sit down at their request, I didn't see the massive (for townsvile anyway) wave coming, and when it hit the boat, I was bounced completely out of my seat, in the air, landing in the boat, smashing my head on gunnel on the way down, "shit", I thought "I hope they didn't see that", so now with a throbbing headache I get the bill, $180 for the tow, or I could join for $55 and give a donation and it was free. I chose the latter, after nudging me up onto the boat ramp and me securing the boat to the trailer I walked into the VMR and joined up (I've been meaning to for ages, but kept putting it off, stupidly), the bloke at the counter and asked for a donation and I handed him an extra $100, he wasn't expecting that and said most people will donate around $20, but for me, after the guys givving up their long weekend, to rescue fools like me I know they deserved it.
I can't thank the VMR enough, they get too little recognition to the brilliant life saving work they do. After a quick inspection found the battery had dropped a couple of cells in the space of 4hrs, so now I'm up for a new battery as well.
Yeah what a fantastic day! I wish i was there! Scott at least you were not stuck around at Orchid rock hay i will pm my mobile number next time you have a prob like( hopefully wont ) that and i am in town will be happy to come out and lend a hand? Only able to help the smaller boats . Have to agree the vmr need every bit of help they can get. Did you try and strip a length of one strand of the anchor rope for a temp pull cord? Sounds dodgy but it will work but i guess the pull cord will be back in your kit now. Sounds like the fishing will be good over the next few springs but i hope the weather clears up and the fff might turn up some good fish.
Guess you're getting a new battery hey.... Have you thought about buying 2 and setting them up as dual batteries? Might be worth a thought... Although I'd be getting your brother to pay for it
Glad to hear that you are OK and things never got worse than what they already were. I reckon you should up your braid to 40lb. Sounds like you lost some big buggers.
Your turn is coming for a whopper fish report.
Keep safe
cheers.
I tried the rockwalls with only one bite resulting in a 35cm Grunter.
I just read the book on the engine....the ripcord wouldn't have helped me anyway.
The engine needs at least 9 volts going to it to operate the electric fuel pump so even if I had the rip cord, I would've been trying in vain.
I reckon I should've used all my bad luck up for a while at least, it just seems to more I do to the boat, the more problems pop up. At least I got a couple of good marks I can revisit when the weather is better.
One other thing, I was damn lucky that I decided to upgrade the length of the anchor chain to 5m, there was no way I would've held bottom if I didn't, even in the relatively sheltered water off picnic bay
Great yarn thanks for it, true story's are always the best.
Just an offside I carry a spare battery in the boat at all times when offshore, history has shown me it is more reliable safety feature than even a twin setup. Never used to but these days I feel more comfortable with it around.
good report Scott, and to think that is still better than a good day at work!
Will have to remember to jion the vmr, even though I never go offshore they need lots of support.
Asked dad how old the battery was he said it was about 8 year old, I thought it was the 'new' battery that we bought only 3 years ago, but that shit itself after 12 months and since then I've unknowingly been using the old one. So I guess its a bitter sweet thing to happen, having the trouble and needing a tow just to find out its a very reliable brand. Will definitely be purchasing the same brand this time round.