What is Whyte Island like for security?
I know Port Security patrol it, the water police are right next door, and its on the loop for the normal cops to patrol it... but has anyone got any stories from there?
What is Whyte Island like for security?
I know Port Security patrol it, the water police are right next door, and its on the loop for the normal cops to patrol it... but has anyone got any stories from there?
Anyone had any probs with the redcliffe boatramp, near the vmr building, or the public ramp too for that matter?
Mik1 that ute was burnt where it stands.....been there for 3 weeks at least. The tree its under suffered from the heat.
At the end of the day guys, it's the same with everything/everywhere....shopping centres are probably the worst. Does it mean that the missus will stop going shopping???? Don't get me wrong, I feel for you guys that have lost out. We have the oldies locking themselves in their homes from being scared. Schools etc putting on extra security.
I have even known a guy whose car was stripped parked right below his bedroom window....woke up to find it on stands, no wheels, bonnet gone and engine removed. A few years back every tyre on every vehicle parked in our street were slashed....something like 23 cars in all.
Its a sad story I know but we shouldn't let others rob us of our much earned loves and passions. I have parked my car/trailer around various ramps around brissie and in 20 years have had no trouble. Things like winch handles can be locked away in the car. Insurance covers some of it but we shouldn't let the riff raff dictate terms to us.
Shane
I know the feeling of hollowness....my car was broken into a few years back and I lost some sentimental items as well as loose change whilst I was parked at work but it doesn't stop me parking.
riff raff are oxygen theives and should be culled!!!!!
Never had a problem yet, Now days locked in the secure car park of the MBBC- Scarborough. I hope its still their when I get back, I am anchored of Bulwer as we speak, the barge has just come in and I am having a coldie after an an attempt to get some decent fish the last couple of days
Barker Transport Logistic ServicesTransport Solutions for Every Job
For a fantastic adventure: www.mvwaiben.com
http://s269.photobucket.com/albums/jj63/Waiben/
about 10yrs ago had car & trailer stolen from the ramp at petrie at about 1pm was only gone 1hr never had problems anywhere else day or night.
redlands boat club , waiting list to join and use the compound though
http://www.redlandsboatclub.org.au/joinus.htm
I have joined the redcliffe vmr, and would like to do an "over nighter" but do have concerns about theft........ at the moment i would be using a borrowed ute, so any damage to it would make me feel worse. Is there anywhere at the redcliffe boatramp to lock the ute/trailer up? even if it cost a bit of money... that would be a good investment for peace of mind.
Gaz
We work 5 days a week to enjoy 2 with the family and fishing... so enjoy them
so its not just the uk that has this problem.i came over new years eve,its a huge problem there!
8 years ago at scarbough ramp they taken the rear wheel off the 24ft tandem trailer bloody new rims & tyres & we found all the wheel nuts loose,must have been disturbed prior of getting the lot.
12mths after that at Cabbabe Tree Creek ramp we return to the boat ramp app
2am & finding 2 mungerals at the 4 x 4 tojo never heard us come in,yelled out & they taken off in a green cortina.
Up here at Hervey Bay now we have heard of trailers taken & cars broken into at River Heads, cars broken into at Urangan boat harbour ramp.
Notice police presence alot at boat harbour, i get a smile on my face.
Cheers Ged.
Trailer they tried to strip the wheels
dont normally if its over night the ramp down our wat at shorncliffe tends to be a hot spot for thefts lucky we only live about a k down the road.
Rudi's or father-in-law at runaway bay
I have left cars and trailers over night at:
Manly
Lota
Whyte Is.
Labrador
Beaver Rock
Maroom
Tuan
River Heads
Maryborough
Urangan
Sunny coast
Iluka
Woody heads
Pine river
Caloundra
You get thge idea, never had a problem, touch wood. I think its just unlucky that a few P%$*s stuff it for the few that get damage or loss. I am always vigilant at ramps late at night or early am and keep a good eye out for strange looking fishing type people. If nessassary i will hang around for 15 minutes until they leave or seem to be of good intensions. Best security we have is each other.
Hello Everyone,
We leave the boat at Rudi Maas, would not dream of leaving the car & trailer anywhere else. You are right Chong, we have each other & we would like to think that all fishing persons have the same viewpoint, look after all, 100% from all equals no gaps, security for all.
Rosie
No probs on the Gold Coast for me. I regularly use most ramps at night. I stay away from The Grand at Labrador, Loders Ck, Sundale and VMR ramps tho. Commonsense says dont go where drunks are likely to turn up, and dont park at nights on Fri and Sat when hoon levels are highest. Mon, Tues Weds gets no hoons at all.
Tip 1; if your towbar has a hole for a safety chain, then remove the D shackle and replace it with a padlock. my trailer is padlocked to the car.
Tip 2; police say that cars with a remote locking system have a lower rate of theft. Its not impossible, but it is much harder to steal these. The pre 1998 cars with keys locks are much easier to steal. VK/VL commodores have the highest rate of theft in the country for this reason.
Tip 3 ; remove everything visible from the car like loose change and sunglasses. If the car LOOKS empty, then they are more likely to break into the next car instead of yours. Theives dont hang around long, and will target the most likely car to bring them a return.
the gecko sums it up nicely.
I've had no problems leaving the car / trailer at Paradise Point... good area with no taverns in close proximity. I also put all valuables in the boot and lock it down (can only be opened by the remote).
Wouldnt touch Loders Ck... very dodgy area, same goes with some of the places on the Nerang River.