Just a question, How many of you leave your cars and trailers at the boat ramp when you go for an all nighter?
Mate i used to do it all the time but in the last couple of years it seem's that some people have found car park's at boat ramp's easy picking's.Lot's of car's have either been broken into,vandalised,burnt out trailer stolen or something missing.It play's on my mind to much now,if you have a missus who really love's you you should ask her to drop you off and pick you up when your finished (she could even wash the trailer).
It's a shame that some people find destroying/stealing other people's property such an amusing pastime.Security at ramp's is something that has to be addressed unfortuatly some ramp's around Darwin now have lock up's and caretaker's and you pay a small fee for some piece of mind.
Dan.
We leave our car and trailer at the ramp and havent had any problems yet (fingers crossed). We will be leaving our car and trailer out at rainbow beach boat ramp on sat night and maybe sunday night.
cheers tassie JR
Nup, take it all home or to a safer place.
I think anyone that sees my trailer and car has pity on me and wouldn't bother.
Used to do it all the time, but after having rollers and even the winch stolen from my trailer on several occasions and my petrol cap jemmied off and the tank siphoned out a couple of times I decided to give it away. I still leave my car out at night when I'm land-based, but not the trailer. Too easy for someone with a shifting spanner to strip the parts off. On one of my earlier trailers I spot welded all the nuts to the bolts, which saved that trailer from vandals until it rusted away
Cheers Freeeedom
I leave mine at the ramp overnight..at Caloundra and down at Rudy Maar's for a week at a time..luckily had no problems.
Rudy's is the only place that I leave mine.
See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
Once upon a time yep, but not anymore...... To many morons about with nothing better to do than trash peoples stuff and a police force that is more interested in traffic offences than catching crooks. Better to secure it all, at least you'll have peace of mind.
Bill.
Not overnight at public ramp but 2 to 3 nights at a time at Rudy Maas no problem
I know how you feel,mate.
My trailer is a total disgrace and I reckon if someone was game to steal it they would probably be pulled over for an unroadworthy trailer(rusty as hell,no numberplates or lights....or as I prefer to call it ....theft detterent measures ).
I mainly go before dawn and come back after dark so I see no coppers.
God help someone that tries to steal it.
Not only night time either. Had my winch post & winch taken while I was out for only a few hours one Saturday morning. My neighbour had two of his car tyres & the two trailer tyres slashed on another occasion also during day light.
anyone know the story of the burnt out 4wd ute at Colsmlie, on the driveway? wonder if it was a stolen from outside and dumped there or a fisho's car from the ramp carpark?
Have not had a problem so far, i have a work ute to. Locked tool boxes..but they only keep the honest people out.
Does anyone know what the story behind the locked and gated ramp area at Cleveland? How much, who to contact and is it worth it?
Launched from Loders Creek ramp on the Goldie this arvo, and upon our return there was a poor felow who had also just returned to the ramp to find some pr**k had stolen his car, and left his boat trailer.....this happened in broad daylight, with the Car Park full!! Won't be using that ramp again!