Not personally but my eldest son and family bought one to heat shower water when they lived in a converted seatainer and used the shed for showers etc and they have nothing but praise for unit. It now goes camping with them.
Anyone used the Coleman Hot water on demand units? I recently purchased one (uses Coleman gas cartridge) price range $300-$350 and I can't believe I've camped to date without one! Man, I've had cold showers and cold everything and camping on an island without hot water gets to you after a week. This unit is truly amazing and I recommend it. I don't like the collapsable bags so much but I've just purchased an inline hose connection for use if you have a tap (caravan park/campsite). The water gets so hot you can literally use for coffee making.
I'm a happy Camper now (and the wife & bub especially)
LIFE'S SHORT - FISH MORE!!!
Not personally but my eldest son and family bought one to heat shower water when they lived in a converted seatainer and used the shed for showers etc and they have nothing but praise for unit. It now goes camping with them.
Yeah not that bad, when the hot water unit went where i was renting stuffed up I grabed one, used it to have a hot bath, not a bad bit f kit at all.
Yeah the bag is a bit ctap, but i suppose a good idea for the space saving people.
Love mine
click Here For Short Term Satellite Phone Rental
I got the primus one because it came in a nice metal case rather than plastic in a bag. I used to just throw mine on the back of a cruiser ute and go, and was pretty rough with it. My mate took it to cape york as well and it bounced around the back of a f250 for four weeks and never missed a beat. It is a very tough unit.
I think the coleman has better thermostat control as the primus can be a bit hot and then not hot enough when trying to get the temp right, but I just love mine. Primus one was a fair bit cheaper too which was a bonus
I think hot showers are something you could probably do without up on Cape York.
Maybe I am a jew but I think $300 to $350 for hot water is too dear.
I mad a solar one up out of 100 ml capped pvc pipe that goes on top of the ute.
Works pretty good cost about $40, you get 2 warm showers out of it at the end of the day.
SeaHunt
That's original! Good stuff.
What about pressure, only gravity feed I guess? The coleman has rechargeable batteries which can also charge whilst driving on 12V and supplies enough pressure. You also get a regular garden hose adaptor (say you're camping in a park with taps) so you don't need to use bags, just plug into water tap and off you go unlimited showers. Lastly, the capped pvc pipe won't give you boiling water for coffee instantly.
yep love ours , we got the shower attachment and also the external gas attachment which i attach our 4kg bottle too! i dont use the collapsable container , i bought a 20 ltr water container with the large screw on lid and i drop the water pump into the drum , i love my showers as you can tell!
No Mark, no boiling water for coffee. Gas stove and kettle for that.
I usually only have a coffee at breakfast, and then its beer for the rest of the day.
I painted the PVC tube flat black, it gets pretty hot even in winter as long as the sun is out.
You can gravity feed but its a bit slow, so I fitted it with a tyre valve and and give it a quick hit wih the 12v tyre pump, about 24 psi does the trick, works best two thirds full so there is enough air in there to expand and push the water out.
Good one SeaHunt! I'll drink to that..hic..
Happy Camping
Fillet & Release supporter