Thread: Peel Island Camping Fees

Peel Island Camping Fees

I read in the local paper here last week EPA is taking control of Peel Island and will be charging fees to camp on the island. Now I cant bloody well find the article to post it on here.

Fees werent huge, I think $4,80 a night or $15 a family, something like that. Dont go camping alot so not sure if that is cheap average or dear.

Anyway, no more free camping there. An excerpt from the EPA site.
    Permits and fees

Camping permits will be required from Easter 2008 and campers will then need to book online.

Camping fees

Before camping in a park, forest or similar reserve, you must obtain a camping permit and pay your camping fees.
    Camping fees are $4.50 per person per night or $18.00 per family per night. A family group is up to two adults and accompanying children under 18. Children under five are free.
    School children on approved excursions are charged $2.50 each.

mike

Re: Peel Island Camping Fees

Mate

I thought they were also going to charge all boaties to anchor there overnight also but not sure about that.
    Hopefully not.

Ken

Quote Originally Posted by Rodman View Post
    Mate

I thought they were also going to charge all boaties to anchor there overnight also but not sure about that.
    Hopefully not.

Ken
    I have not seen anything along those lines.

Details of camping fees are in an EPA media release;

http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/projects/media/?release=1236

Changes for Peel Island camping

07 Mar 2008
    Campers heading to historic Peel Island in Moreton Bay will need to obtain camping permits after the 2008 Easter holidays, and all visitors to the island will have to leave their pets at home.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) District Manager Miles Yeates said the changes were necessary since the Island had been declared a National Park.

“Teerk Roo Ra (Peel Island) National Park and Conservation Park were declared on heritage-listed Peel Island in December 2007,” Mr Yeates said.

“The EPA is implementing changes to improve the management of camping areas and to protect the island’s unique biodiversity.

“Camping is allowed at Horseshoe Bay on the island’s southern side.

“A permit to camp at Horseshoe Bay is not currently required. However, the EPA is bringing in a permit system to improve the experience for campers in the area.

“Campers are also reminded that fires are prohibited on the island due to the risk of wildfires, so they need to bring gas cookers or fuel stoves,” he said.

Mr Yeates also reminded visitors that no domestic animals were allowed in national parks.

“They are also prohibited in intertidal areas of marine parks where they join a protected area,” he said. “Domestic animals disturb wildlife. Horseshoe Bay is a sensitive site for migratory waders and other species such as the beach stone curlew.

“These changes will be enforced on the island after Easter 2008. Rangers are also speaking to members of the public about the changes.

“We need the public’s help to manage this fragile place, and they can help by not taking domestic animals such as dogs to this wonderful park.”

Teerk Roo Ra, pronounced took-a-ra, is the Quandamooka name for the island. The island has a rich cultural history. There are middens full of shells, as well as many significant heritage sites and values.

The island also has a rich biodiversity with sedgelands, melaleuca swamps, low-open and tall-open forests. It is fringed by mangroves, coral reefs and significant beds of seagrass. It has a range of birds, mammals and reptiles.

Camping permits in the park will cost $4.50 per person or $18 a family per night, and are available online – www.epa.qld.gov.au or by calling 13 13 04, or visiting the EPA Customer Service Centre at 160 Ann St, Brisbane.

And what do you get for $18 per night??

Same as nearly every other national park, NOTHING

I am all for it. If it helps reduce the number of wankers that go there and light huge fires from the trees that the rip down and the ones that leave all the smashed stubbies around then its good. What the EPA has done is control the use, and I dont care what anyone says we are much better off with them than without them. It is a shame that it must come to this, but its those few idiots that wreck it for the rest of us. If I have to pay 4.50 a person per night for a clean, well looked after campground then as far as I am concerned its money well spent.

We used to take our dogs for a walk an a swim there quite often. They were always on leash. I guess the lifestyle Nazis have put an end to that.
    I think its those pesky migratory waders that are causing all the problems
    They fly in, eat all the good stuff, sh%t all over the joint then take off home.

Its getting sad when you cannot have a fire and your old mate is banned

i think fires cause alot of shit in camp grounds, bogans can't seem to tell the diference between a bin and a camp fire.

Hey guys,
    My son headed down to tipplers yesterday to be denied by an epa officer I think. Don't have any details as yet. It appears that we have to book to camp there also with the same fees applying.

Shane

G'day Ausfishers!
    I am all for the camping fees - as long as it goes into the preservation of the Island. I am a member of "Friend of Peel Island" - a volunteer group that renovates the old leper colony and cleans up the beach at Horseshoe bay. We did an emu walk after New Years one year, and the rubbish that we picked up was enormous. Everything from empty bottles and cans to dirty nappies. At least with the introduction of fees and control, maybe Park and Wildlife will be able to track these pricks that leave rubbish everywhere and slap them with the fine that they deserve.
    Cheers!
    Lunatic

Quote Originally Posted by watta View Post
    Hey guys,
    My son headed down to tipplers yesterday to be denied by an epa officer I think. Don't have any details as yet. It appears that we have to book to camp there also with the same fees applying.

Shane
    Shane,

I am not sure whether Tipplers is run by the Gold Coast City Council or the EPA but fees have always applied, and due to popularity - always better to book

Currigee and North Currigee Campgrounds
    South Stradbroke Island - Queensland 4216 Australia
    Ph: 07 5577 3932, Fax: 07 5576 2030

Bedrooms and Tipplers Campgrounds
    Ph: 07 5577 2849, Fax: 07 5576 2030

Full details here --> http://www.caravancampingnetwork.com...mpgrounds.html

Angus

Thanks mate......son told me all about it when he got home.