Thread: Banded Scat

Banded Scat

Just interested to know if you have catch or seen this big size around SEQ?
    It was caught into my cast net, I was meant to chase prawns and disappointed that i caught few prawns...consider good enough for cocktail!

I often see or caught this specie up to 30cm at NQ

Re: Banded Scat

Yeah mate,

I've caught 'em two or three at a time in the cast net down here on the Goldy.

Big ones too - 'bout 30cm.

Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

You catch the odd one when fishing for luderick. They really give a good fight on the light gear you use for luderick. I've caught a few in the boat passage at Fisherman's Islands. A couple were also caught by the luderick fishermen at Iluka last week.
    Cheers Freeeedom

hi i have only caught a few small ones in my castnet but i have seen a repropt on another website that one was 38cm from a local estuary to his house in brissie.

regards,
    keechie
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

Greetings all!

Got one close to 40cm tangled in a crab dilly in North Creek, Ballina.

Regards, Rob.

mate i love scats!, i recently got 6 20c size ones for my aquarium species tank, i love it how they just school around together.

i saw a 2ft one caught at the bli bli barra park in 06, was a big silver!

Cammo
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

I saw a 50cm one floating in the Noosa River 4 years ago.

Cheers Tom

do not, i repeat not get spiked by yhis sucker. spike is similar to a catfish,it hurts pretty bad. the only relief i could get was to immerse in as hot a water as you can stand .

Quote Originally Posted by chewy01 View Post
    do not, i repeat not get spiked by yhis sucker. spike is similar to a catfish,it hurts pretty bad. the only relief i could get was to immerse in as hot a water as you can stand .
    Yeah thanks for remind & it has happened a small scat about 10cm spiked my finger last last year...It hurt worst than catfish!!! you're correct to have hot water to relief the pain...

Go to Redcliffe jetty with your cast net for the scat. At times you can score a dizen around the 40cm mark a cast.

Quote Originally Posted by cammy View Post
    mate i love scats!, i recently got 6 20c size ones for my aquarium species tank, i love it how they just school around together.

i saw a 2ft one caught at the bli bli barra park in 06, was a big silver!

Cammo
    yes scats awesome little things they are. i want some
    "True Blue"

You're right about the spikes. Even the little ones hurt like blazes if they get you. They are also a very ordinary eating fish - one of the worst I can think of. They have a large bony knob in the shoulder area which makes them awkward to fillet too. Having tried them once I've only one thing to say - never again!
    Cheers Freeeedom

Did anybody see these little things on the telly last night. Ben Cropp was doing a show on box jellyfish up north. These little fellas are one of the only natural predators of box jellies....they were tearing into them and having a good old feed. mmmmmmmm I like aeroplane jellie. Another interesting thing on the show was box jellyfish have four eyes.

I hate scats i get hundreds in my cast net some times whem im trying to get live mullet takes an hour to get em all out with out getting spiked.

I, like jackinthebox, have caught two or three at a time in the pine river under the bridge in the castie. Funny thing was you only caught them in the shaded water.... mongeral things.