Thread: is it legal

is it legal

is it legal to use blood to attract sharks when fishing

Re: is it legal

There's no law against the use of whatever you like for burley as far as I know.

wtf it probably is aslong as it isnt human blood

but probably not a good idead as it can cause a feeding frenzy of sharks.
    and its not a good idea to encourage them in our waterways anyway.
    "True Blue"

If you don't mind a bit of pain you should mix some of your human blood with fish blood and guts
    Maybe it'll attract them more so than just regular fish blood.

i seen a guy in the butcher askin for some blood to use as berley. i wasnt sure if he was the full quid or not

Blood was a common attractant 25 years ago for ppl wanting a big fight with sharks landbased. I can't say I've seen too much other things come around for straight blood tho, much better to use tuna oil slowly dripped out onto the water.

not legal in tassie, not allowed to use mamall byproduct.

Pretty certain it is illegal to use anything but sea products as berley. Nothing of mammalian origin i.e animal blood or products. Supposedly to stop sharks getting a taste for mammals (human). Bill

Saw a documentary once and they said human blood does not attract or excite sharks. Apparently it is an urban myth that it does.

Yeah Ausfish, I saw that one once aswell but I think Sharks will get excited over anything really as it has a scent...

Cheers Tom

Nothing like some chopped up liver and chook pellets. Years ago we used to lower a gallon drum of blood down off the wharf at night to attract jewies. Used to work well but occasionally a shark would come along. Nothing wrong with eating them either if they're not too big.

I remember years ago in NSW we fluked it to be out in the middle of a school of Australian Salmon, I reckon I could have tied a piece of foil onto a hook and would have caught them. My mate wanted a couple as his wife was asian and he assure me she would eat them. We kept 4, and slit them and bled them on the deck, as we didn't have a big enough tub. I had to bucket in heaps of water to clean up, and had the bilge pump going with a constant red stream.
    There were enough grey fins circling us to create a debate about who was going to go up front and pull anchor
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

in the uk,we used to get gallons of cows blood froma local slaughter man to use when chasing tope(shark family)worked a treat!