Electric brake controler

Thread: Electric brake controler

Electric brake controler

Geez where have I been in the last 20 years.
    I went to buy a campervan the other day and they said what type of brake controller have I got, well stupid Foot pedal of course....But ummmm then I find out over ride brakes don't exist anymore.

Are the Tekonsha prodogy any good ? they seem to work in reverse which might be a good thing as Pajero's don't like to reverse without falling over.

Re: Electric brake controler

G'day Roughasguts....
    Far superior to the normal/popular controllers, ie standard Tekonsha Voyager or Hayes. Have many advantages over the others, inc pocket instead of bracket to slip unit in/out for removal when not needed, digital read out with output when applying brakes and connection/no connection readout (although the cheaper Voyager has this same sort of feature - green light when plug into trailer), work in reverse capability as you mention (not that anyone should be going so fast in reverse with a van on anyway....lol), very handy boost button to instantly give more power to brakes in certain circumstances (boost 1, boost 2, boost 3, then back to normal), far easier to adjust and most importantly.....smooth as silk.
    I fit many many brake controllers for work, and the Prodidgy is by far the best and easiest to use. Well worth the extra $60 - $70. Whatever you decide on, make sure you invest in an inertia activated unit only.
    Cheers - Paul

Thank's phewy, just the sort of feed back i'm looking for.

Paul, is the wiring as simple as it sounds, 4 wires. Pos and neg as per any electrics, a circuit breaker say 20 Amp in Pos circuit, Yellow I think to brake foot pedal switch patched in, and blue to trailer plug, electric brakes.

Another vote for the prodigy, I just removed one from my patrol to fit the sensabrake. The prodigy is much better than the sensabrake, with a digital display that lets you set the braking force from 0.0 to 9.9 and a spring loaded progressive manual overide lever

I currently have the prodigy on ebay, PM me or do a search if u r intrested.

Cool Thank's Hamish, how come you changed to sensabrake is that cause electrics and boat trailers aren't a good idea ?.

Will get back to you about the prodigy I haven't got the campervan yet, It keeps going up in price with every differant sales dick I speak too.
    All I can say is no wonder there going in to liquidation.

cheers.

The Tekinosha Prodigy is the best controller I have ever used - I wouldn't go anything less...

Quote Originally Posted by Roughasguts View Post
    Cool Thank's Hamish, how come you changed to sensabrake is that cause electrics and boat trailers aren't a good idea ?.

Will get back to you about the prodigy I haven't got the campervan yet, It keeps going up in price with every differant sales dick I speak too.
    All I can say is no wonder there going in to liquidation.

cheers.
    The prodigy is for electric brakes, where as the senasbrake system is for break away brake systems. Electric brakes offer far superior braking performance IMO , but arent fond of being dunked in the water. Also, when you go over 2 tonnes you need a system that locks on the trailer brakes when the plug is disconnected. The boat trailer had the sensabrake system, and it only work with their in car controller. The auction for the prodigy finished last night

Hi RAG

Go the Tekonsha both for the camper and your next bigger boat.

Just make sure when you get your more than 2000kg rig that needs electric over hydraulic breakaway self lock up the trailer if it comes off the car, that you make sure the boat trailer has Hydrastar brakes fitted as these are fine with tekonsha. Also heaps cheaper than the sensa system.

The hydrastar has the little 12v battery on the trailer and as well as the controller feed they also need a another 12 v supply to the hyd set up. If the trailer comes off their own 12 supply does the job. You can also back the rig ok but I found that with the boat off the trailer I had to reduce the power to the brakes as it was too sensative and very grabby when backing across the car park and down the ramp when retrieving the boat. As it turned out the reduced setting was fine for the road even driving though Surfers Paradise traffic and I still have the "more power button" if I need it and this is also good to just operate the trailer brakes after hosing off to dry them before storing the rig.

Enjoy the camper van but you might as well set your tow vehicle up for the bigger boat now so you are ready!

What could go wrong.......................

Hi Chimo, thanks for the info mate. I was pretty sure I read somwhere the prodigy could be used with the brake away system, but then I lost it.

Hmmmm biger boat... I hardly use the one I got but I ain't getting rid of it.
    I like the fact I got a boat in the garage nice and safe and away from the elements but any bigger I wouldn't get it to fit. The camper will fit in there also, but then only room for one more thing, Maybe the old Paj, I still like the old girl. even though it's a gutless piece of ...p.

Cheers Justin

Yep be getting the Prodigy thank's fella's.