herring as live bait , any good?

Thread: herring as live bait , any good?

herring as live bait , any good?

Hi guys

Just wondering if you guys find herring useful as live bait. Everytime i throw out the cast net i end up with heaps of herring but they never seem to do any good as livies, not even offshore grrr. Whitting and mullet get smashed but never herring, should i just be throwing em back in the water and stop wasting my time.

what are your thoughts as to best livies to use , Im on the sunshine coast.

Re: herring as live bait , any good?

should mention have also tried herring and boney bream around fraser and again had nothing take em

Hey mate. Herring are a gun bait. Great for big bream, flatties, jacks, Threadfin, cod, People also get queenies in the passage on live herring. Keep persisting throwing into snags for bream jacks cod ect, and into fast flowwing eddies n stuff for pelagics.

I have a live herring to thank for my very first LT Tuna which came in at 15kgs so I think they are a good livie. Yakka do well too.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

they are excellent bait!
    10% of people catch 90% of the fish

i guess my technique is a bit flawed , i get em off a jetty , put em on a hook and toss em out, should i be changing locations from where i catch em, i guess nothing is eating em thats why i can catch em on a cast net, lol

choice location for the hook is key - 1/4 way down the back from the dorsal, just under the skin. The are excellent bait.

Make sure you use a fine wire hook with them as well

Live Herrings on the Roy Rufus Artifical Reef ( Hervey Bay ) do well
    couple of takers

ok im going to persist with these herring until i get something, at the moment when i use livies i'm also throwing out plastics , the live bait is more of a just in case something takes it. do they work better at night or during the day ?

and when you say fine wire hook, can you explain that a little bit more

Last edited by nufin_flash; 14-03-2008 at 07:52 AM.

A fine wire hook is a very thin steel hook, but still mainaining some strength. Herring are a very tough live bait, as in, they are hard to keep live for very long, but when you do, they are the gun choice for many fisho's (but not me, nothing better than a great big mullet dancing around on a couple of 8/0's)

Yeah Herring are gun bait for Jacks, Cod, Bream.

Cheers Tom

Ausfish Gold Member

Greetings all!

First fish I saw caught in Oz was a 12.m Queenfish off Urangan pier.... on a herring.

Great bait. when you get them on a jig, shake them off holding the tiny hook as the scales come off very easily and this stresses them, shortening their life.

Also, get an aerator in the bucket. They kark it pretty quickly if you don't oxygenate the water.

Regards, Rob.
    Ballina

pommy you just said it urangan pier is where i started and caught fish that most people catch on a sportfishing charter a few pb of the urangan pier all on live herring 16kg bluefin,7.6kg broadbar,6.4kg mac tuna and 9kg goldy just to name a few.
    if you are free swimming then put the hook threw the colour on the back of the herring.
    do the same if its on the bottom with no current if there is current hook them threw the nose.
    p.s ditch the airrater at the urangan pier catch the hering when you want them its a lot less effort and keeps them fresh as.

Go the humble herring!!!