Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: One off fishing occurences, tell me your tales.

Re: One off fishing occurences, tell me your tales.

Was sitting on the old fishboard wharf in Bundy many moons ago with a handline in the water. Handline starts spinning around, dancing all over the place.

I pulled it in. Fair weight, but no fight.......

I pulled up a 5 Kg rock.

I must have pulled the hook from the fish's mouth, and straight into an oyster shell on the rock that the fish happened to be passing at the time.

The rock was released unharmed.

Was out fishing with Vic1 one day a few years ago. Jigging up some livies, and he mentioned that the rod seemed really heavy. Pulled up a legal sized Estuary Cod on the bait jig! Was only JUST hooked in the lip....

Quick gaff shot, and into the esky it went.

Fishing for cod one day with live bait and pulled up my heavy line to check the bait. Bare hook, but in the process had pulled up my mates big line over the opposite side of the boat.

Have a bit of fun hereI thinks, so took up the slack gave his line an almighty pull and when he grabbed it I kept pulling hard until his wife caught on and gave the game away.

Ok. joke over, but when he eventually took up the slack he did have a big cod on
    and we had to take it in turns to land him.

Big fish probably in the vicinity of 60-80 lbs. so we let him go.

The interesting thing is, I am convinced that fishing with live bait (mullet) that they swim into a hidy hole on the bottom and when we move the line a good cod often takes the bait straight away.

This has happened too many times to be just heresay.

I might add I have fished for cod particularly for about 50 years.

Never keep them under about 6 lbs or over 25-30lbs.

Have Fun Haji-Baba

Mates lad had hooked a largish barra on his new birthday lure but unfortunately lost it (barra and lure still attached) when the leader chaffed through. Shortly after a guy fishing on a the sand bank some 50 mtrs away at right angles to the lad has his rod bend over to a good fish. You guessed it, same barra. The guy has snagged the lure's treble hook and landed the barra. Decent enough of him to give the lure back, but the barra went straight into the esky and he took off....closed season. Very unlucky barra.

Steve.

fishing fair few km offshore and i hooked something big. couldnt move it, only using smallish gear, but could feel it swimming. bloke next to me in the boat is pulling and going crazy with his rod trying to get somthing in. next minute my line has snapped, though when he pulls in the fish it is an 8Kg red emperor and his hook wasnt in the fish. his line had tangled around mine, snapping it, but being tangled in a knot strong enough for him to raise the fish.

My brother and a friend were on wail rock on straddie and they were into something good so they thought. One would gain line the other would lose line. After a few minutes they realized they were hooked to each other and the line was wrapped around some cunji. LMFAO.

Avast ye matey!

Today out off Caloundra, Fishing in 60 feet of water, 3.0 hook with flesh on it for bait, Catching undersize Red Emperior (just under), Snapper (just under to), Tuskfish, Brown Bommers, etc I pulled up a 20cm Whiting. Must have been lost.

Yellow patch at Moreton. Fishing a deep close in gutter with a sharp bank and getting good tailor. Watched my mate cast a pillie out as a shag grabbed it just before the water. Watching the shag get pulled in through the surf and the break was a little disheartening but luckily enough it got off just before shore.

Then watched another mate with a few under his belt go to cast and take one step too many into the gutter. From 1 foot of water to 4 in one step. With waders. Priceless.

God I love that place.

After about an 3/4 hour getting yabbies we headed out the front of Burrum Heads past the last marker. We drifted for a bit trying our luck then we saw about 3 groups of birds working the surface.
    We chased after one group of them when we saw which ones were working the surface for baitfish. We kept casting out a silver lure hoping to hook up something. Col hooked up what looked like a mackerel but the hook did not set in its mouth and it lived to fight another day.
    I had a go and hooked something. As I was reeling it in my eggbeater reel decided to seperate from my rod.
    It took a team effort to land the fish with me holding the rod and Col winding it in. When the fish came up to the surface we both saw it was a huge longtail tuna. It didn't put up much of a fight maybe because of where it was hooked had disorientated it.
    Col yelled "Quick, get the net" I netted the fish and when it was in the boat we both saw how lucky it was to have landed it.
    It was hooked in the eye!
    It started shaking and blood was going everywhere.
    I got it into the esky and closed the lid.
    We kept chasing the birds around for a bit longer but no more success.

Fishing the Arty reef at Hervey Bay a few years back, I hooked up on a ganged pilchard. I started fighting the fish and the line started angling towards the boat anchored beside us where an another fisherman was also fighting a fish. It turned out we had both hooked the same fish, a rather large dusky flathead. To end the stalemate, I let out my line so the other angler could land the fish. I made the comment that we should go 50/50 in the fish, but was replied with a chuckle and a retort that possession was 9/10 of the law. On seeing the size of the fish landed, I then commented that it was probably over the 70cm mark and would have to be released any way. The other angler measured the flathead and found it was over the legal limit and reluctantly released it back in the water. It was the best fish we saw all morning.
    Quality is still delivering long after you have forgotten the price.

Well its been a while since I posted here, having nearly given the game away.
    But have been bitten by the bug again.
    Must say I am surprised at the number of double hookups, but also
    managed this with my boss and a 4ft queenfish (1981 the gulf).
    So now for the story, and I promise that despite the reputation for
    embellishment that us fishos have aquired over the years, every word
    is true (unfortunately).
    Fishing off the Territory coast, motored into position, cut motor and
    dropped anchor. Now as the anchor rope was running through my hand
    I felt two distinct thumps on the anchor and then the runout of rope
    stopped, I knew that enough rope had not been fed out to reach the
    bottom, now somewhat pussled but assuming had hit some obstruction,
    I took hold of the rope with both hands and gave it a reef. Now I don't
    know what was going on below, but my anchor took off with such a jolt
    that I was pulled off balance with my left hand ending up in the anchor well
    where it was immediately entangled by flying coils of rope. now while
    trying to free my left hand I am left hanging onto the rope with my right
    hand and with all my might trying to get the rope around the bollard to
    relieve the pressure on my left hand which is now a distorted fist shape
    but as the rope continues to burn through through my right fingers there
    is a pop and my left thumb soars about ten ft overboard but at the same time
    I have managed to pull myself free. Now diving back inside the cab to stop
    the bleeding I find that my left middle finger is also missing while the index
    finger is just black. Now I dont know what was on the end of that anchor
    but when it came to the end of the rope it hit with a jolt sufficient to knock
    two men off their feet and continued to pull the 16ft fibreglass H/cab at
    such a rate as to create a trail of white water until the rope was cut.
    Now I know there are going to be plenty of doubters, but I have the hand,
    medical records and an eye witness. I have heard of sharks being tangled
    in anchor ropes by the tail, but have only heard of one similar incident off
    Hervey Bay, where the bollard was actually pulled from the bow.
    cheers Mick

ouch Mick thats gotta wreck your day.
    trolling for spaniards off woody head on a really jiggly new years day arvo hungover as an my mate hooks up. he played the fish I sunk the gaff first swipe and on board comes a 12 Kg spaniard went to release the lure and it wasn't in the fishes mouth any more. went to put the lure back over and start trolling again and it was no longer attached to the rod.
    other time I was decky on a charter boat we had twelve passangers and somehow one of them managed to hook a humpback whale when it swam through under the boat calls of play him wayno and you got him beat rang out between side splitting laugfter and wayno yelling cut the fn line as his drag payed out more and more line but noone would until he was spooled.
    third thing that happened we were fishing for spotties again at woody and we get a triple hook up I got one rod my old boy has the other and the third one breaks a plastic holder dissappears over the side. couple of hours later we go to pull up the anchor and head for home and here is all this line wrapped around the rope pulled it up one way here is the rod we lost pulled it in the other here is a 10 Kg spanyard stone dead.
    Last edited by coucho; 31-03-2008 at 08:46 AM.

Yesterday I went chasing banana prawns for the first time ever. I had heard there was a run on and wanted to have a go. Finding there were upwards of 9 boats castnetting close together in an area not larger than someone's suburban backyard I decided to move away from the fracas. A couple of minutes later and all alone I chanced upon some prawns still on the surface while slowly motoring along and let off a quick cast.
    The first cast netted some prawns and I was stoked as I had never done this before. Imagine my horror as I viewed in slow motion my second cast spreading out then plopping my favorite ugly stik into the water along with a $160 Daiwa reel - Urrghhh!!!

There was a photo in one of the mags a while ago that had a bream with the freakiest hook-up. The bloke had hooked the eye of another rusty hook that was embedded in the fish’s mouth.

But it doesn’t end there was also another even rustier hook on the other side of its mount.

I hope he let it go as that fish deserved a break.

Years ago I was fishing at Mooloolaba in the river with the kids fishing rod. A cheap and nasty holiday purchase. I hooked onto a good sized Trevally over 2kgs and it put up a hell of a fight. Midway through the skermish the reel decided to fall apart. I tried to contol the fish as I tightened the reel back together.

Mean while a small crowd had gathered to watch the events taking place. A few young boys decided it was a good time to help me land the fish when I had it near the sand of the shoreline. One of the boys grabbed the line and the fish decided this was as good a time as any to escape and he hit the toe faster than Alfie scoring a try against the Blues in Origin.

The story does not end there.

A short time later after a good laugh about the incident. I thought this will give me something to talk about at Barbies for a few years.

I then saw this young teenager walking past with a very familiar looking fish on the end of a hand spear. I asked him where he was spearing the fish and he replied he was about 100 meters down towards the river mouth when he seen this Trevally floundering in the water and he took and easy shot. Poor bloody thing was exhausted.

At least he had a nice meal.

"Nothing is as frightening as regret"

Vickypoint "Paradise by the bay."