Dolphins, fishing friend or foe

Thread: Dolphins, fishing friend or foe

Dolphins, fishing friend or foe

This may well have been done before,
    just didnt wish to Hi-jack another current thread,
    there seemed to be a general opinion that dolphins are bad for the fishing?

Is this confined to river or estuary fishing ?
    My jew fish mentor has convinced me they aren't a bad thing at all.

Personally, I love finding a big pod of dolphins at sea.

On one such occasion, we found a huge pod, about an acre, working the surface over a reef we had come to fish in about 60 mtrs.
    We never had a problem with them all day, it was really good fun to see the big grey ones so close.
    They never touched a fish on the way up, or a bait on the way down, not even livies we caught out there.

We did find that they love Seargent Bakers though, even the big ones, not one made it back to the bottom.
    The big dolphins would come up to the fish, it looked like they looked for a hook or line,
    give it a nudge with their nose & just scoop it up , was great to watch.

What's the general opinion??

Re: Dolphins, fishing friend or foe

Friend.

They're harmless and extremely intelligent. Also good to have around if there are sharks, as sharks are scared of them. I think there'd be a lot more issues with sharks if dolphins became extinct.

It's actually not a good idea to feed them deliberately, and it'd be frustrating if they kept taking your catches, but they don't come on land and steal our steak filets so I just do my best to move away from them. The ocean's a big place!

Here's a link I posted in another thread about what to do when encountering Dolphins when fishing.

Here's the link! Just click on the "When you see a dolphin whilst fishing" link and "Boating with dolphins" link.

http://dolphins.mysouthwest.com.au/C...ty%20Awareness
    Saint Andrew, Patron Saint of fishing and fisherman, Pray for us!

Never had a problem with them,muzz.
    Like you I find it a real joy to see them.
    On a recent trip we came upon a small pod with tiny little babies that were mirroring there mothers and cresting out of the water.I stopped the boat until they moved on.
    It turned out to be a good omen as we had a ripper of a trip.

I havent decided wether they affect the fishing or not but they are always a welcome sight when I'm out.

I was fishing at the beacons off Moreton Island with a friend one day and a dolphin hit a raider lure he was jigging off the bottom. Pretty exciting till we realised what it was. The dolphin came up and splashed around on the surface so we snapped the line. I would have thought dolphins would have been smarter than that.

I'd rather have a dolphin problem than no dolphins at all.

Looks like I've opened a can of worms!!! Dolphins are definently friends just a little frustrating at times.I'd rather be watching,fishing or swimming with dolphins than sharks anyday.
    Mex

Have never had a problem with them....love having them around after a day last year where we appeared to be being herded by this pod while trying to get out of their way, so we stopped when they stopped and put the anchor out and proceeded to have the best days fishing we'd had for ages!..without moving.

Always look forward to seeing them on a trip.

Geoff

I'm just happy they don't eat my live mullet when fishing for jewies, even though they are eating all the other mullet around them.

Hey Muzz, what does rabbs reckon about jewies & dolphins?

Mick.
    Last edited by Jackinthebox; 10-03-2008 at 05:33 PM.
    Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Had them spook tailor in the surf a heap of times. Often see the dolphins come from kilometres away when onto a school. Foe in this situation. Less of a prob offshore tho have had them take a fair few mac tuna.

i cant stand them, sometimes out near tangalooma we lose 1 out of 2 fish to them. they are cool to watch but not while catching fish...

What does rabbs reckon about jewies & dolphins? Compatible?

Can only repeat that I have been convinced that they are a good thing.

Ausfish Gold Member

Bloody pest eat all the burley when snapper fishing and knock off every under sized fish thrown back.Friggin seaworld rejects.

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

There is a pod of six or so dolphins that regularly visits Harrys in moreton bay, dont seem to bother the fish at all, catch just as many with them or without em.

I see the same, wont touch the bait, dont take a fish on the way up, but you return an undersize squire, man poor little buggers dont stand a chance.

I figure the dolphins are just like people - inherently lazy.

HOnda

I saw them heard up the biggest ever school of mullet at Point lookout. It was the biggest gathering of fish ever. I stopped fishing just to watch and I sat down for the next half hour. A pod of 30 came and hearded them up againt the rock wall and tail whacked them with 360 flips at my feet. They watched me, I watched them in less than 2 metres away. They had the school pushed right in to the surf life saving club, that was until the commercial fishos jumped in with their boats, and collected several tonnes of fish. That was the end of the day. It was the most excellent sight to see (not the boats tho!). They are smart and they worked hard to heard this huge school in.
    Last edited by DICER; 11-03-2008 at 07:44 AM.

muzz as you know i love em round when fishing for jew!Ireckon they help by keepin the mullet in close to where we fish.also makes for some good viewin when they smack the mullet.Might have to go have a look soon muzz see if we can find some bait . cheers ida

Sounds good to me bloke, , freezer stocks are getting a bit low.