-
No hits at Tinaroo
Tinaroo lived up to its reputation today with my first "no hits, no hookup day"!!!!
I tried a variety of lures in various locations but the barra just did not want to play. I did find a few fish that were right up in the shallows absolutely boofing the bajesus out of schools of Boney Bream, however these fish were so far in along the bank amongst the heavy trees and grass that a viable cast was just not possible (although I still gave it a crack)
The water was sitting around 21-24 degrees and was the highest level that I have fished after all the recent downpours. Once the water settles, I will head back up again
-
Re: No hits at Tinaroo
I know just how you feel Matt.
I will post a report about my dismal Monduran trip later today!
Still, it must be good to see Tinaroo full again!
Regs
-
Matt,
Don't tell me your Gully has dried up for you?
Mates father pulled a 126 (very, very much like your 127) from my Point in front of the Holiday Park last Tuesday night on a Skitterpop!!!
Wasn't able to get out on the weekend (friggin Flu), but I am itching to get to one of my favourite haunts which will no doubt now just be lapping with water. I am quietly confident that there will be alot of fish feeding around there.
Theo
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Matt, I hope it improves in the next week, I'm doing my first trip in ages to Tinaroo so hope I don't donut.
Navi
-
matt
i was up there fri and saturday not many people up there which was good but like you i could see fish but they wouldn't come out. best i did was a sooty out of the baron. the best temps i got on the lowrance was 24.5. i fished deep and shallow i even had a go at trolling to see if they might be sitting down real deep but no joy. i'll give it another go this weekend and see how it goes.
-
Ausfish Addict
Bit tuff every where at the moment by the sounds of it, can only get better
-
Hey Matt,
You know those stories you hear in the pub about the bloke that wins $100's at the casino or on the pokies...you never hear about the times he loses!
Good onya bud for a report that indicates whats really goin' on up at the lake!
Most appreciated.
-
Peter,
As I mentioned the dam was higher than I have fished it before, so to say I needed to revise my game plan was an understatement. I thought I had already done that from the previous weekend, however was not ready for the height of water level that I was greeted with.
Theo,
I was thinking about heading down the "other end" of the dam, and maybe I should of due to different water conditions that are quite noticeable between north and south end. Great stuff catching a 126 on a surface lure. I will crack that barrier one day!!!
Navi,
I am going away this weekend so no barra fishing for me, but will definitely be heading up there on the long weekend to join 15 million other boats (mainly skiers). We will stay at the Holiday Park for some creature comforts, and hopefully have better results than last weekend. So if you are up there I will no doubt catch up. And yes I DO now have an ausfisher.com.au sticker on my boat
Simmo,
Geez, it can't all be roses I suppose .I don't mind not catching fish as it makes me think harder about what it is I am not doing, and what I could try next time the same conditions arise. It is hard though when you don't even get a hit, as it starts playing mind games and you start to chop and change ideas before you even realise it. All I want to do is get back up there and not let the dam beat me. Unfortunately though that will have to wait until a few weekends time (mmm maybe I could do a mid week fish )
There were many factors involved for me not catching fish I think. Water quality not temp was the one of the areas I need to revise, as from previous experience, catching catching barra at Tinaroo is still possible during winter in water at its coolest. Maybe hitting the northern end and focusing my attention to some of the bays with wind in the right direction would have been the right decision. So many thoughts are running through my head. I think I had the bad case of "but I got fish here before" mindset. That has gone out the window, and time for some new game plans and broaden my horizons a little bit.
As they say....think outside the square!!!!
Thank guys
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Matt,
I will be based at Yungaburra and staying Joe - you know him. I will also hopefully be out with Theo for a session or 2 (not sure what day) but I will be there from 22-26/03 so shouldn't be hard to catch up - I'm sure you know Joe's boat (no ausfish stickers though!!!).
Talk soon mate.
-
That 'have caught fish here' attitude runs in everyone Matt. You had a pretty dam good run of weekends at a few of your snags (that one in particular has never fished better) but this new water level and change in the fish could see them anywhere doing anything. Until the water clears and our confidence builds, thats when we will find out where they are at. I know for one I am going to do more exploring then ever now that the Dam is at the height it is now... I havn't seen it this full for some time... never fished it like this either.
We, and every other passionate Tinaroo angler last year stared at 'dry snags' up the bank and said 'Ooooooo'... its a case of memorising which ones looked best, sounding them out and letting fish build up in those spots and then knocking the guts out of em'.
See you around!
Theo