-
First Sooty
After getting my first JP the other weekend I was keen to find a sooty, but Nic and I thought we'd go exploring for more junglies on Saturday arvo. We went looking not far from where we got them last weekend. I found a track that looked ok, but after about one km we sank!
We were bogged, and as I hadn't intended going too far off the beaten track, didn't have any recovery gear. We got out and started digging by hand. This stuff had the consistency of wet cement. There was a hard crust on top, but that was it.
After digging and putting sticks under the wheels for an hour and a half, we were out. Covered in mud, we went to the spot we caught the fish last week for a swim and a fish. No fish this time, so off home.
Today we went further afield, looking for a sooty. We found some great looking water. The first didn't produce, though I'd like to go back with the canoe as the water was only accessible from one spot and the canoe would open up all sorts of possibilities. Great spot, and heaps of turtles.
From there we drove for another hour until we came to the same stream, but further downstream. Walking the creek there was easy, and there were tiny sooties cruising the edges. We caught several that weren't much bigger, but geez they pull hard for little fish. I caught four with an old little Nilsmaster tied to a 2-4kg bream stick, and Nic got one on a 1-3kg stick with a 3" Power Minnow. This is another spot we'll return to, particularly as it's relatively easy to fish from the bank. We only walked 200m from the road for these fish, so I reckon there must be heaps more opportunity if we go back with more time.
Here are some pics.
Last edited by Alchemy; 09-03-2008 at 11:06 PM.
Reason: Dave can't spell.
-
Re: First Sooty
some great photos again dave you are lucky to be in such agreat area, thanks for showing. cheers bdowdy..brett
-
Ausfish Gold Member
They are a magical fish that fight well outside of their weight range, prize fighters for sure.
Great photos too.
Regards Cameron.
-
DDD - Turtle shots are awesome...love those little guys.
The old nilsies are such proven fish takers - funny how they get forgotten in favour of the new age toetouching stuff which I am so guilty of - good to see you showed some nerve and tied it on ( Are you sure you dont want to join the 30m club? you love it )
Will be knocking on your door with the 5 weight tucked under my arm soon
-
Thanks for your comments Brett and Cameron. I can't wait to find a better sized model now. One of the things I love about trips like this is the environment and general surrounding you fish in. Truly spectacular!
Bobby B.... that little nils was an easy choice after spotting some of the other little fish darting about. I will have to see how many other old classics like that I have and get them ready with new trebles. You will love this fishing and I think the 5 wt will account for quite a few fish too.
Last edited by Alchemy; 11-03-2008 at 07:30 AM.