Thread: First Rod built

First Rod built

Afternoon all... below is my first rod building attempt... not sure of the blank details... got it cheap which pleased the gods... mixture of bought/hand made parts.... tried a "Barra" skin wrap on the split grip...haven't cleaned the cork up yet...and excuse the dirty tiles on the floor...I've been busy...umm.. doing other stuff....washing windows and vacumming...dusting....etc etc...hmmmm...actually I've been sitting willing the rod to dry...watching it go round and round and round....
    Anyway...feel free to comment... I love a bit of contructive criticism...

BTW... totally addicted... obsessed.... fanactical....gotta love this rod building caper...

Robbie

Re: First Rod built

G'Day Robbie....
    I think you did a great job on your first rod !! Every rod you build from this point on, will be better and better......I expect great
    things from you !!
    I am anxious to see what you will do with the snakeskin, if it ever arrives !!...
    Good Job Mate !!.....

ML...

Fantastic job Robbie the barra skin looks great and i will place a order for some barra skin too. Unreel job cheers darryl

Hi Robbie,

Really good job. Can i ask you how much you spent making this rod? I am looking into making afew rods and was wondering how much i am looking at and if i can get any tips (and people to buy things off to make the rod???)

If you can help send a PM or a simple reply.

Bandit.

Hi All.... thanks ML, Storchy and Bandit... Yes ML the skins finally arrived... they look sensational...hope I can do them justice on a rod or two....Storchy..I reckon we might be able to swing a deal.... some barra skin for some of that nice bling ur turning....lol.... Bandit...there's lots of variables cost wise in building a rod...the rod above I bought he blank off a sports shop locally...the guides were fuji - sic... cork handle and fuji butt cap etc....so best estimate rod cost around the couple of hundred.
    I've been buying my stuff through Ross (The Rod Works)...have found it to be top service....reasonable prices... and great variety...he'd have everything you need to build a rod... from an el-cheapo...through to a top shelf one... hope that's some help... cheers, Robbie

Thanks Wet Yet...

I will cheak it out, alot of people think it is better and cheaper to buy lets say a t curve... but the fealing of when you catch a fish on your own rod that you made... Thats what they miss out on.

Bandit.

Hi Barra the cost is all depended on what type and brand of blank.
    the guides you are wanting eva or cork grips and what type of real seat you want, plus the litlle extras sush as thread, glue, and epoxy> the rods i built and am still building cost $350 plus, i am still wanting to wrap and weave on the one's currently, so it costs more, i am still learning this wonderfull skill, still trying to learn the art of building fishing rods too. cheers storchy