Thread: Gulp! What's all the fuss about?

Gulp! What's all the fuss about?

Is it really that good? And is it appropriate for normal fishing? What is the stuff and what is the slime it is kept in?

I've always caught more on good old fashioned bait than any kinda lure/plastic but this stuff seems to have so much hype surrounding it. Is it all talk?

Re: Gulp! What's all the fuss about?

i only find it appropriate after all my other plastics don't work then i may pull out a pack of gulp and try that. everyone talks about why nuclear chickens are so good but what i believe is it is something new and never seen before so there for a fish may see it and think it is interesting so have a go at it i think that if they brang out a new colour bang that will be all the talk.

regards,
    keechie

jawstheorigional in terms of who catches more on what could always come down to what works for 1 person might not work for another..

plastics ... or lures are good because there is no mess or smell associated with them. fish also fight alot harder on lures than bait IMO. i think it's more the adrenalin rush of flicking a piece of plastic around the waterway just waiting for that fish to hit and when it does, boy oh boy do they perform.

i've always had better luck with lures than bait, but like i first mentioned, it could well do with the area you live in. i still use bait when the mackeral are around or when i'm fishing on the reef.

when it comes down to it.. I think bait does catch more fish.. i'm basing this statement on the Rocky Barra Bounty which is held each year when live bait outfishes lures 3 to 1.

as for the hype... i think it's just something new for all the people who love using lures to try.. i've just started getting into it and i enjoy it.
    Last edited by Local_Guy; 09-03-2008 at 07:20 PM.

Gulps are easier to use than most othe SP's. You can deadstick them behind your drift and score well. Many other types need some rod action unless the boat is moving around a fair bit. I use both types but would advise Gulps for someone starting off

I have caught good fish on many plastics but if the going is tough I reach for the gulps. I guess its a confidence thing. Like horse said they often work with bugger all skill because of the scent. I have caught the majority of my fish on gulps but my best fish on others. Other plastics can have better motion sometimes

Have bought all other types and still have hundreds of $$$$ worth of petroleum based plastics that don't even get looked at anymore.. Each to his own, but my own take is to use Gulps because they are as close to biodegradable as I can get. The Nuke Chook is a proven winner, there's no question, and here to stay as one of my top 3 choices.

Theyw ork if there is fish there to bite them. If there are no fish around, I dont think they will "attract" them any better than a good burley trail. When i go fishing with a mate, he always uses bait, I always use plastics... neither of us catches any more than the other really on most ooccassions, and when one of us catches nothing, neither does the other. So I think if the fish are there, and they are feeling hungry, they will take whatever is on the menu, plastics or bait.

Gulps aren't plastics, they are plastic shaped synthetic bait. you might just as well just use pillies .. there are lots of 'good plastics' out there if you look around.

My take is get a jig head, rig it up the same and fish it the same but use a nice juicy piece of squid dressed very nice and it will out fish the soft plastic, same goes for just about any soft plastic if the bait is fished in an identical way, it's all in the presentation and then the method but a square chunk of flesh sitting still will still outfish a plastic doing same.

Quote Originally Posted by FNQCairns View Post
    My take is get a jig head, rig it up the same and fish it the same but use a nice juicy piece of squid dressed very nice and it will out fish the soft plastic, same goes for just about any soft plastic if the bait is fished in an identical way, it's all in the presentation and then the method but a square chunk of flesh sitting still will still outfish a plastic doing same.

You've got me thinking now FNQ, you really have!! I've got some of that Globait in a bottle I can soak a whitebait in, and presto!! Same thing maybe??

I think your point I have highlighted varies from species to species, so if I was out for a trip with you in my boat I'd put a little wager on it - a carton of VB maybe, and see if your chunk of flesh will outfish my gulp if allowed to sit still. But the condition to the wager is that I would promise to share my winnings with you ...... should I be the victor of course!!!!!

Last edited by Scalem; 11-03-2008 at 08:55 PM.

Gulp is no more successful than the good old bait i recon. I took both out and i was catching the same on bait as i was on gulp. 6 of one half a dozen of the other same things different name.
    Cheers Nick

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    You've got me thinking now FNQ, you really have!! I've got some of that Globait in a bottle I can soak a whitebait in, and presto!! Same thing maybe??

I think your point I have highlighted varies from species to species, so if I was out for a trip with you in my boat I'd put a little wager on it - a carton of VB maybe, and see if your chunk of flesh will outfish my gulp if allowed to sit still. But the condition to the wager is that I would promise to share my winnings with you ...... should I be the victor of course!!!!!

Yes mate I wouldn't take that wager. I meant to add sitting on the bottom, but it would be fun over a few trips to wager a gulp V a well presented squid bait on a jig head both fished the same.

Gulps certainly do blur the lines between softies and real bait -- just look at their strip bait series... big flat squares that you carve up and whack on the hook like a strip of mullet. Gulps do work though, I'll give them that.

I reckon working a plastic or hard-body is certainly more enjoyable and stimulating than soaking a bait so I'll always reach for them first. When you hook a good fish you feel more proud as you actually employed a bit of skill to attract it. Well, aside from those days when the fish are biting their heads off and would attack a banana peel if you dropped it down.

Still, as FNQ said there is a certain satisfaction to be derived from bait fishing when you present your bait well to give it visual appeal as well as smell. A nice long strip of mullet, rippling like a flag in the water, surely has to look pretty tempting!

Quote Originally Posted by Nic View Post
    present your bait well to give it visual appeal as well as smell. A nice long strip of mullet, rippling like a flag in the water, surely has to look pretty tempting!
    Nic, I can acheive exactly what you have described here with a Gulp curley tailed grub. The tail is designed to ripple with the smallest amount of water movement.

With diminishing commercial fishing licenses and catch rates, this fisho no longer beleives in killing fish to catch fish, unless we can think of a way poor 'ol mullet can give up a slab of his side without dying... I'm not going all green on you, but think about it? Isn't doing away with sacrificing the lives of bait a long term, more sustainable practice?

Bait tends to cake up on my boat, especially in the sun, requiring more water to wash it off... I could go on and on preaching the good virtues of using synthetic style lures/plastics, but I think many Bait fishos are diehards (no offence guys ), and thats that, but I'm happy!!

Last edited by Scalem; 22-03-2008 at 06:44 AM.