Midd Brisbane river Catches. - Page 2

Thread: Midd Brisbane river Catches.

Re: Midd Brisbane river Catches.

hi guys,ive just moved to brisbane from the uk,and am looking for some spots on the river to fish.im living in moggill,10 mins from the moggill ferry.is it any good around there?what can catch there?any help would be great

Gday Salmonking. Lived near there myself many years ago when i was a kid and use to fish down near the ferry. Mate we use to get catties,sharks,bream,eels,you could be lucky and get a threadie . Cheers

Hey guys,
    Yep it is a worrying question......if we as avid fishers have trouble nailing a positive id on some fishes then how does poor mum and dad and little johnnie/jillie get on that only fish a couple of times a year. I am having the same problem with our bait fishes.....herring, etc. I have been catching what we used to call 'putty nose perch' in the cast net around brissie. I can't seem to find a definite piccie of one. Also managed what appear to be small threadies as well. Do they have the golden appearance when small (50mm long)?? The ones I have caught also seem to have their whiskers more toward the jaw than where the larger models are.

Shane

WOOT. Finnaly did it. Caught fish on lures in the middle river. Went to a sweet new spot and in the first 5mins my mate gets a 25forkcm bream in 30cm deep muddy water! Later on i got a 40oddcm flatty! were stoked to say the least. Caught on pumkinseed gulps in 3inch minnows and grubs.