Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Getting my Barra fix (MAYBE!)

Re: Getting my Barra fix

Good luck mate - fish hard and remember to break sessions up a bit and concentrate on different area's/techniques.

VB? I clean my toilet with that crap! Go the Toohey's Extra Dry's (TEDDIES!)

Theo
    TT

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Sent you a PM Re: Quintrex 's ......too rude to post here!!!!

Hope you have a good trip.. If the weather hold out. Its been hot today if thats any help!!!!

cheers steve
    Thanks Steve

..... & back at you! ...... & you are right .... but aint my reply the truth!

Actually ..... They just get me in trouble

Nagg

Quote Originally Posted by TinarooTriumph View Post
    Good luck mate - fish hard and remember to break sessions up a bit and concentrate on different area's/techniques.

VB? I clean my toilet with that crap! Go the Toohey's Extra Dry's (TEDDIES!)

Theo
    thanks Theo

Did my rigging today ......( 3 outfits) all rigged differently ... Shallow , slick rig & deep diver ........ so i plan to be flexible!
    Having only fished Monduran for a day .......We have a lot to learn ( I reckon the cattle yards would be good with the water levels up now)

What is it with you Qlders ....... do they remove your taste buds at birth ..... & replace your blood with XXXX ( or Bundy)
    In any other place I've been to ...... the taste in beer is eclectic ! .... In Qld .... If they dont cross out the word beer & put it in a yellow can ..... you wont drink it! ( xxxx reminds me of the cheap top flight cross out golf balls I used to buy for practice ....... The quality was not up to standard )

Nagg
    Last edited by NAGG; 08-03-2008 at 09:00 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by cdg81 View Post
    you want wind people, move to not so sunny mackay, has been blowin 35's for about 3 weeks. mix that in with the 6.3 metre tides, fresh water where salt should be. no planets are lining up there, looks like anouther run to the houghton for a weekend for my barra fix.
    Every now & then

God punishes those that live in paradise ..... or Sydney!

Nagg

I'll be there this coming weekend {monduran} no hornet. 4.5 bluefin warrior c/c. Ben

Gday Chris, Im just back from there today after a dash and splash.
    Levels at 38%, temp in the basin was 23 at the ramp early in the morn, found 29 up at H, getting cooler at F and further up, most of the little bays I poked into were around 26.
    Water was a better colour than the mud of 2 weeks ago.
    Wind, dont get me started on the sou easters, bloody hell.
    Had to wear the trackies and flanno yesterday morn on the pre-dawn run up the basin, starting to get chilly for a Queenslander.
    Good luck, its a long trip for ya, Im up again week after easter.
    brian

ps
    remember ya vehicle load limits on the way home, dont want to hear bout how you were in trouble with the law for haveing the boat trailler over loaded with your duty free XXXX
    Last edited by BR65; 09-03-2008 at 02:32 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by cdg81 View Post
    you want wind people, move to not so sunny mackay, has been blowin 35's for about 3 weeks. mix that in with the 6.3 metre tides, fresh water where salt should be. no planets are lining up there, looks like anouther run to the houghton for a weekend for my barra fix.
    Hey Gippsy, good to see your still on here!! not flooded away!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Gday Chris, Im just back from there today after a dash and splash.
    Levels at 38%, temp in the basin was 23 at the ramp early in the morn, found 29 up at H, getting cooler at F and further up, most of the little bays I poked into were around 26.
    Water was a better colour than the mud of 2 weeks ago.
    Wind, dont get me started on the sou easters, bloody hell.
    Had to wear the trackies and flanno yesterday morn on the pre-dawn run up the basin, starting to get chilly for a Queenslander.
    Good luck, its a long trip for ya, Im up again week after easter.
    brian

ps
    remember ya vehicle load limits on the way home, dont want to hear bout how you were in trouble with the law for haveing the boat trailler over loaded with your duty free XXXX
    Thanks for that Brian! ........ But how did you do ?
    Boat load of xxxx ...... XXXX That! besides It wouldn't get it past NSW customs ( prohibited import)

Nagg

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Boat load of xxxx ...... XXXX That! besides It wouldn't get it past NSW customs ( prohibited import)

Nagg

I was thinking the same thing. Dont bring an NSW beer on your trip north.
    Otherwise,there could be fireworks.

Steve99

Quote Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
    I was thinking the same thing. Dont bring an NSW beer on your trip north.
    Otherwise,there could be fireworks.

Steve99
    We could make a fortune ....... all those ex pats that cant get a decent beer

Nagg

Re: Getting my Barra fix (Maybe!)

Hi All you Ausfishers that will be at Monduran on Friday night ....... It might be worth organising a Beer & BS session!
    I'm running out of time ( leaving 6am tomorrow) ...... but its just a thought seeing that it looks like a fair few will be around.

Last edited by NAGG; 10-03-2008 at 10:33 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post

Nagg

Matted one and dropped one mate, very tuff day, mind you, given half a chance, I'd be straight back up there this week end if I could
    go get em
    brian

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Matted one and dropped one mate, very tuff day, mind you, given half a chance, I'd be straight back up there this week end if I could
    go get em
    brian
    Absotively ...... couldn't think of much better!

Nagg

Re: Getting my Barra fix (MAYBE!)

Yep, I think everyone has had enough of this wind. Last I heard its supposed to be hanging round till at least Friday.
    Bill

Re: Getting my Barra fix (MAYBE!)

Nagg,
    Been pretty quite with the wind and the water temp. Also the decompostion of the local flats due to flooding and seen a bit of a desert (Rotten vegatation) especially in area like the back of bay B. The shallows very putrid with a surphur or potassium smell.

Water today was clearer and warmer, only ventured up to H for an hour( Better half's birthday) got a nice 90cm. But cooler again this afternoon, wind has been a bugger most days but an early morning run up the dam is quite nice.

There will be lots of Ausfishers up here in the next week or so. Guess we might run into a few.

Take care and see you there.

Trevor.
    Last edited by mylestom; 10-03-2008 at 06:18 PM.
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.