Thread: Small Spinning Reel - gearing up for SP's

Small Spinning Reel - gearing up for SP's

Team - does anyone have any suggestions for a small spinning reel for gearing up for finesse fishing and some sp work.

It will be mated up to a Shimano Xcel Weapon 2-4kg, in the rod rack and rearing to go.

I was thinking around the 2500 size, or is the 1000 not too small?

Having never really fished with reasonable quality gear under 4000 size I am at a bit of a loss. One option is to pick up a 2500 Sienna (or similar) for around the $70 mark. Or should I look at spending a little bit more?

Budget??? Gotta stay under $150.

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Ed.

Re: Small Spinning Reel - gearing up for SP's

I would personally lean towards the 2000 to 2500 sizes, only because some of the smaller 1000 size reels have some line lay problems that don't seem to occur in the larger sizes.

Sienna would be a pretty good reel for the sort of money you are talking, or if you can find someone that stocks Daiwa Proshooters in smaller sizes they would be a good option as well. Very nice reel for the money.

little siennas are a great reel, my mate has one and its very good value.

Sedonas are also a great reel, I have a 1500 and its great for bass.. its around the $90-$100 mark, very smooth.

Also has a nice gold colour and look FLASHY lol

Hope this helps

cheers barra

G'day mate!

Have fished with the Okuma efs 20 for a couple of years now. Great little reel in the 2000 size. Doesn't seem to have the problems of corrosion and wear and tear that some Okuma models have. Good, smooth drag.

Cost about $140 but on e-bay can be bought new for about $80 delivered.

Regards, Rob.
    Ballina.

See if you can find a daiwa ondine 2000, it's a great little reel for the money and smooth as with an awsome drag on it. I got one ages ago when i started out with artificials and it didn't let me down. It

See if you can find a daiwa ondine 2000, it's a great little reel for the money and smooth as with an awsome drag on it. I got one ages ago when i started out with artificials and it didn't let me down. It also comes with a spare spool and you could probabley find one for under $100 now.

2500 Shimano Sedona will do the trick, under 100 bucks will leave a bit of spare change for braid, leader and some new softies. What about a Daiwa Tierra, should be able to hunt one up for that dollar??

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Brand-New-Tea...QQcmdZViewItem

Smidgen over budget, I know
    Last edited by BR65; 03-03-2008 at 08:22 PM.

I agree with the sedona mate. Have owned a 1500 size one for four years now and it has taken a real beating and come back for more. Very happy with the quality for the small price I paid ($98). Good luck.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

ditch the shimano and go for a daiwa exceller2500 i have had one for awile and it has had a flogging on tuna ,gt,mackeral,trout all on plastics it even been droped in the water when i was trying to pick up the gt off the rock. still works great

hi i had the exact same combo the 2-4kg x-cel weapon and the 2500 sienna for my bream fishing when i was just starting to get keen with soft plastic bream fishing. i would have to say i loved using this rod and reel lots unfortunately i don't own the xcel weapon due to some brakages on the grip and was returned.

regards,
    keechie

I would get the best you can afford if you are serious about giving it a work out. a mate has the sienna. its ok but for a lazy $20 more the sedona is a big step up. if you want to go further another $20 will get you a symetre. good reels in this price range. there is probably a comparable daiwa but i've not used them so i cant comment.
    Cheers Roo.

I'll put in another one for the 2500 Sedona. I've got one that I use to toss light lures and plastics to bass. Always performed very well. I see them everywhere for about $95 to $100. Got mine matched up to a 7ft Shimano backbone rod for $110 because I chucked a poopy in the shop after being stuffed around big time, with two screaming kids and a whinging wife in tow.
    Gave the rod to my old man and put the Sedona on a 2-5kg rack raider, nice little outfit for chucking the lighter stuff.
    Set the drag right and you'll have no worries.