New builder and Samurai blanks

Thread: New builder and Samurai blanks

Question New builder and Samurai blanks

G'day guys,

After replacing the guides on an old solid glass rod which came from my grandfather, I'm finding myself really keen to do a bit more building, from scratch this time.

I'm was thinking I'd probably start with one of the Kilwell kits to begin with for practice, and work my way into bigger and better things.

My question regards Samurai blanks. At the moment I'd really like to build myself a soft plastic snapper rod for use in the bay ie Mud and Peel. I was thinking of useing either an S006 or S008 with alconite guides, Fuji reel seat and cork grips, built as a spinning rod. I have never used a rod built on a samurai blank before and was wondering what this build would be roughly equivelent to in the pre-built market?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by bru55el; 28-02-2008 at 08:10 PM.

Re: New builder and Samurai blanks

If you are in Brisbane -Talk to Trevor (fishing section) at Annaconda at Everton Park - he used to build for Garry Howard & knows his stuff & is a really nice bloke to boot. He built me a snapper rig last year on a Samurai blank and It is brilliant - put it up against retail any day!!

mate give roz a blast. she loves em and a good builder as well, and not a bad sort either

thanks guys,

samsnap, roughly what league of retail rod would you put them up against? excluding the componentry, mainly interested in the action of the blank.

do you happen to know which blank your snapper rod is built on?

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Gday bru55el If you are still looking the Gary Howard "Morteon Bay Spin Stick" is built on the S008 blank. Fast action 4-6kg. Great rod.

Tackle Warehouse have them.

Avast ye matey!

Not tring to hijack the thread or anything, but is there anywhere close to Ipswich that stocks blanks, grips, ect...??

br455

I built a 6 kilo spin stik on a samurai RBC008, great little rod, perfect with 10 kilo braid. I went with hypalon grips, with cork grips it would be a great softy stick for snaps, very fast action, really light, plenty of grunt down low.

outlaw
    try chaltons at redbank

I think you will be very happy with samurai blanks, they really are rolls royce blanks at holden prices. I now have 4 of them.

Both my snapper rods are NV7s, however you might wish to go a bit heavier...that's a personal choice. Mine are used for float lining and also suitable for soft plastics and I definately prefer the faster tapering rods anyday, again, thats a personal choice.

I use mine with 4500 baitrunners and 6 to 10kg mono.

would definately go with cork grips, very light and comfortable, look good & if looked after, will out live you.

You will get a lot more satisfaction fishing with a rod you have built yourself, you are unlikely to save money, but for me that's not the point... Be warned, it (rod building) can become very addictive.

Post up questions if you are going to build, there are heaps of people here very happy to pass on advice.

good luck

GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!