Thread: Snapper at last

Snapper at last

Well talk about a long time between drinks, was on the water at 4.30 today for a flick for snapper from wello to st helena and dispite the conditions beig good the scene was dead as a dodo, worked along all the edges for a little sweetlip and at 7am i headed off to the shallows to try and catch a few bream on my new shimano bream finnese and new stradic 1000 with 1.5kg line and 10 lb leader, after 30 minutes of no hits i moved back out to the deeper edge and was flcking a 2 inch crawdad out still using my lighter gear as i honestly thought nothing was around when zzzzzzzzzz off it goes and my spool is peeling off line, oh oh!! was my first thought and i started the motor and chased for 70 metres and slowly worked the fish until it was besides the boat, it went 71cm and was great fun on the light gear, also had 6 foot of 20lb line hanging from its mouth with the hook in gut and another hook embedded in its lip, i was going to let it go but by the time i cut line and removed hook she carked it, oh and the little stradic handled it a treat, the new ones have much better drags than the old ones, it seems even big snapper go for 50-70 metres and then you basically got them beat, and was very dissapointed to see it so quite for snapper, not even smaller fish around bar that good fish..
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fish.jpg 
Views:	216 
Size:	51.3 KB 
ID:	22172  
    Last edited by alleycat; 28-02-2008 at 11:07 AM.

Re: Snapper at last

Thats excellent work on light gear, well done.

well done mate..............

your mind is like a parachute, it only works when its open

nice work there alley cat and would have been fun on the light stuff i see u got the stradic matched up with a raider. there good rods. i saw the new stradics at wrk the other and was wondering howd they go.
    "True Blue"

Quote Originally Posted by loophole View Post
    nice work there alley cat and would have been fun on the light stuff i see u got the stradic matched up with a raider. there good rods. i saw the new stradics at wrk the other and was wondering howd they go.
    Hi loophole, yeah the reel is great and the rods are good but i dont like the handgrip being part of the reel whinch, you can feel movement, much rather whinches that wind up as with the dropshot, i caught a 3-4 ft turtle out there this morning on my snapper gear, 7ft2 2-4kg berkley dropshot with 2000 sustain and 10lb fireline and hell that thing would pull the plug out, the pressure i put on that gear was unreal until i knew it was tooshay turtle and snapped him off.
    Last edited by alleycat; 28-02-2008 at 01:33 PM.

Hey alleycat you're back! I had wondered where you are!
    Nice work on light gear and believed your heart beat so hard...lol...
    any more under squires around heaps or few?
    PS haven't hit Mud this year

Great fish there...would have been great on the light gear.

Good fish for light line. I have had 20 pound bitten of like it was butter. You must have set the hook just right to keep a beautiful snapper like that. I was playing aroung the shallows last night on my new brim set up close to yours but i kept getting bricked aftr a short fight but didnt feel like cod. Oh well had fun on the light gear but not as much fun as you by the looks of it that is short of my new PB of 82cm the best thing for light gear i have ever seen well done.

Gday dobson and yes i saw your big snapper, was a beaut, my best is still 75, and tell you the truth i didnt have much drag on him either, like i said after 60 metres or so they stop and just slug but no more big runs, and hey slent!!, why you not fishing mud fella?, thought you had a spot reserved out there , and im going to be hitting the whiting as soon as we get better weather, got a good spot and i like eating fish.

Nice to see a good fish hit the deck. Most of the inshore reefs seem to very quiet at the moment. A few good fish but not much else

Quote Originally Posted by alleycat View Post
    also had 6 foot of 20lb line hanging from its mouth with the hook in gut and another hook embedded in its lip, i was going to let it go but by the time i cut line and removed hook she carked it,
    Likely story ALLEY! It's Ok, you can say it's been a while between drinks and you really wanted to take him home and cook him up! I would have!

Nice fish nonetheless!

I caught one on an SP last year that had 2 hooks in his mouth - however he died because fish only have a short lifespan in my esky...

Take Care T
    Last edited by T1; 29-02-2008 at 12:29 PM.
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Quote Originally Posted by T1 View Post
    Likely story ALLEY! It's Ok, you can say it's been a while between drinks and you really wanted to take him home and cook him up! I would have!

Nice fish nonetheless!

I caught one on an SP last year that had 2 hooks in his mouth - however he died because fish only have a short lifespan in my esky...

Take Care T
    Looks like third time UN-lucky for that snap

Nice fish on the bream gear alleycat.

Cheers Chris

Nice fish AC,

T1 you heartless B%$&+*!! I would have let the poor buggar go

Nice work alleycat, would have got the heart pupming for a while!!!! Most of my trips of late have been a non-event, only takes one fish like that to change it!

Mickstar

Great fish,and even better on that line class.Top effort