52 28.26%
  • Other (which)?

26 14.13%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Australian TV fishing shows

Re: Australian TV fishing shows

Quote Originally Posted by Simmo2 View Post
    We went to a bee-cee-eff 'club night' the other arvo. Scott Hillier was the guest speaker.
    Must admit he was entertaining and knowledgable.
    Did you know he was 10 yrs in the Fisheries!!!
    My vote Creek to coast.
    That would have been a great night having a guest speaker like him!

Cammo
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

Creek to Coast have been the ones i've always tried to watch.
    Paul Burt used to do a fishing segment on the channel nine saturday arvo show.
    The AFC Series is a good watch.
    On Briz 31 there is River to Reef with the Barefoot Fisherman Dave Hodge and Adventure Bound which are good also.
    The fishing, techniques, gear etc they use, the facts, details, tips and hints is what i'm looking at. Some of the presenters are ok some are really good and could watch them continually, others i want to watch with the tv on mute.
    So long as its got to do with fishing, boating and even camping at times i'll watch it.
    Mark..
    Never enough time or days in the week to go fishing.

There's one down here in Sydney called Adventure Bound

they have had a couple of ripper Kingfish segments.

Marty

Creek to Coast gets my pick, shame they can't do a 1 hour segment weeknights as weekends are when we should be out fishing/boating (mowing the lawn) not sitting at home watching others have the fun.
    Pelagic 660

Yep, AUSTAR

OK here goes my whinge for the day (and so early too) first off the newcomers,if that goose Jason Kennedy on fishin trip, say stop the bus, or berkely one more time, I might just throw something at the TV (that is a fishing show that I will turn off) then Dave Buttfield on Hooked (probably up there with the least irratating) but he should learn that "th" is pronounced th and not F as in Things, not Fings, but I can tolerate that, then there is Fishing WA, what a dill that Steve is, better off leaving the Show to his Mate Ryan, at least he does not act like a 6 year old all the time, next we have Rob Paxavanos, he is sort of OK, but tends to Patronise anyone (especially Women) like he is the only person to have ever caught a fish (also tolerable though) I don't even want to start on Rex, what a plonker, always talks down to the crew!! then there was Fish and four Wheels with Eddie Riddle, another good show, with a fair host if only he would stop the wooo hooo hooo hooo thing, and the Australian Champion series, is way too Americanised with hyped up commentary for my liking, that leaves only ET no real agrivating traits, seems to know what he is talking about, and a mildly interesting blend of topics, so there you have my thoughts on our Fishing shows, you know what, bloody lucky I am so perfect huh!!

I try to watch them all seeing as how I can't get out there and do it for real. Might as well watch them do it. But i do rate Creek to Coast on top cause the others are not right up to date. Rexie boy is about 5years older now and Dave 's ;ast one advertised the Australia day fishing do. ET is about the same or older.

Ausfish TV Hmmm. Mighty good idea maybe for Steve and Nugget to get their heads together?

I quite like Creek To Coast although it beats me why Scott Hillier wants to refer to himself in the third person all the time. Makes me wonder what he's like when he goes grocery shopping:

"Big Scotty Hillier wants a cabbage... Big Scotty is scanning the aisles... Woohoo, there are some good ones -- some cabbages for Big Scotty! SCOTTY HILLIER HAS PURCHASED A CABBAGE!"

Gary Howard reckons he's actually a nice guy though, so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. Plus, I have to (grudgingly) admit that Scott does seem to know what he's talking about.

I agree NAGG, product endorsement in fishing shows can seem a bit blatant at times but I guess it's necessary to pay the bills. Perhaps it's because fishing is such a narrow field of interest that it's hard for the shows to get big non-industry sponsors like some of the other lifestyle programs have?
    Last edited by Nic; 28-02-2008 at 10:37 AM. Reason: Added a bit

Quote Originally Posted by Nic View Post
    it beats me why Scott Hillier wants to refer to himself in the third person all the time. Makes me wonder what he's like when he goes grocery shopping:

"Big Scotty Hillier wants a cabbage... Big Scotty is scanning the aisles... Woohoo, there are some good ones -- some cabbages for Big Scotty! SCOTTY HILLIER HAS PURCHASED A CABBAGE!"
    I wholeheartedly agree, and it annoys me greatly. Whether he intends it or not, I get the impression he rates himself quite highly because of that '3rd person' way of presenting.

Creek to Coast doesn't have enough fishing content for my liking either. The last few times I've watched it, there has only been one measly 4 minute fishing story in an episode, and then they spend the rest of the time telling you about some flash $2000 portable rechargeable esky or a ridiculously lavish Winnebego that most average Joe fisho's don't want to hear about anyway.

And while I'm at it, I've come to dislike Martin Bowerman and his useless little pieces about some hideous hinterland getaway that is about 100 kms from the frikkin water!

So Escape with ET is my pick, as he at least has more actual fishing content.

RB.
    searchin' for my lost shaker of salt

ET..
    I've always thought a good idea for a fishing show, well at least a few segments at least would be to get a good knowledgable fisho to go fishing with a novice in a place that the novice would choose.( No boats ) It's great to see fish coming out of these amazing locations. But a lot of people will never get there. A segment filmed at some random jetty or beach where an everyday novice fisho would frequent.
    Purely for educating people to become better fisherpeople at the places that they fish. From collecting bait through to using plastics and lures.
    That would be interesting.

geees shame we don't get Creek to Coast, that would be someone else I can whinge about!

I'll watch almost anything as long as it dosn't have Rex Hunt in it.

Rexy's focussing on the European market at the moment, or so I've heard. Not a bad idea, really -- it's a massive consumer base. Pity they're so crazy about carp!

Quote Originally Posted by Nic View Post
    I quite like Creek To Coast although it beats me why Scott Hillier wants to refer to himself in the third person all the time. Makes me wonder what he's like when he goes grocery shopping:

Gary Howard reckons he's actually a nice guy though, so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. Plus, I have to (grudgingly) admit that Scott does seem to know what he's talking about.

I agree NAGG, product endorsement in fishing shows can seem a bit blatant at times but I guess it's necessary to pay the bills. Perhaps it's because fishing is such a narrow field of interest that it's hard for the shows to get big non-industry sponsors like some of the other lifestyle programs have?

I walked into Big W today & wandered over to the fishing & leisure section ........ nothing really exciting ...... then SHOCK , HORROR ..... I see ET has his own range of Camping gear (WTF ... I think ! What does ET know about camping ........ where is Mal Douglas when you need him

Nagg

If the powers that be would bring back A River Somewhere and create a few new series I would be finding tv interesting again. Creek to Coast is prolly the pick of the bunch atm and ET is marginally ok.

Come on Rob and Tom, Get your fingers out and start producing again.