Thread: Burrum Heads Croc

Burrum Heads Croc

Has anone else heard about the crocodile sighting at burrum heads on sunday. there hasnt been anything on the news. Apparently it was a llocal that saw it??

Re: Burrum Heads Croc

To many gulps of jungle juice - I reckon !!

wouldnt suprise me at all. saw a rather large one 2 years back while fishin with my dad and pop cruising along the edge of a sandbar

Yea there was one caught in a cast net two years ago and one of the pros saw one in the last flood. they used to shoot a fair few in the susan in the 70s. Im just a bit surprised it didnt make the news. apparent a few ppl saw it??

They certainly used to be in the area as you mentioned (I saw one in the Mary about 20 yrs ago)

Plus the buggers don't mind a big swim in the ocean so it's not too far a stretch of the imagination for there to be one in the Burrum. They used to be as far south as Brisbane until the settlers shot them all

It all too easy to write it off as a hoax, the silly buggers who play around with blow up ones at Fraser make it very easy to assume that's the case. Maybe they never read "The boy who cried wolf"

There was a report of a number of sightings in the Bribie passage a couple of years ago and I recall seing a photo of a very large croc taken out of the nerang river in the early 1900's. People of Rocky have been warned of the dangers of croc's with the flood water that is around so I geuss they can turn up anywhere.

I grew up in rocky and saw crocs that use to sun themselves at the ski gardens ramp when it was quiet.What blew me away was the size of them,big salties living in freshwater, above the barrage.
    It does not surprise me that there are crocs here in the mary & burrum, but an older gent once told me that where there is saltwater barra, there is crocs

A couple of years ago while heading to my favourite fishing spot at the pin with my son in law we were waved down by a fisherman in his brand new tinnie pointing behind us . We thought we had droped something but coutdn't see anything so motored over to this distraught fellow to find out that he had seen a croc and he pointed in the direction it had travelled . Upon investigation in that direction we seen something about 6 ft long heading for the bank .Getting closer we seen this animal climb up the bank and yes it was a goawana. Motoring back to distraught new fisherman was greatly relieved to hear the findings. Must have scared the u know what out of him when it swam past. True story.

Live on the gregory river off the burrum for all my life and never seen a croc. The old man however, has seen one crossing the road in between dams on the way to Bundaberg after heaps of rain.

WJ

they do have a tail and feet, the get around a bit, there a cunning animal, just cos you dont see them doesnt mean there not there, my opinion is that they would head to the south during the warm months. and there is not enough food for them to thrive, would not be surprised if they were in the noosa river and other sunny coast creeks, some times of the year,

when crabbing in gregory had a potted crab that had a hugh hunk bitten out of it . i posted pics on fishntales. croc was the popular pic ?

Wayneroo, is there any chance of posting the crab pic on this thread? Also, what part of the gregory was it taken?
    Heard plenty of stories over the years about croc sightings, although they certainly may be true, its sort of something you have to see to believe in my oppinion.

WJ

i dont have a copy mate [old puta blew] my pots were on mangrove bank just past the yachts . am heading up there for a few days tomorrow lol but will try little further up . fishntales member hairymick was sure it was a croc he fishes gregory in a canoe . i dont know wot else can take a big bite out of a crab shell ?

20 years up the second crk on the walkers pt me and the old man heard a crocdile roar and older gents told stories of crocs at Woodgate told stories of them in the area in past times. My old boy knew the sound of the roar from his time in Darwin. Abit of rain lately is a fair reason for a sighting as the saltwater is pushed closer to the mouth