Thread: Monduran

Monduran

Hi All,
    Took the step father up for the week end just gone and we had a ball.
    We arrived Thursday lunch and fished that arvo and from there fished threw to saturday arvo and went home on sunday morning. I managed to hook 17 barra and my step dad hooked 7. We landed only 10 barra out of the 24 only to the fish spitting the hook out. The biggest went to the step dad at a nice 103cm with my best coming in at 102.5cm . We only had 2 fish under 90cm the rest were between 92 and 99cm. We got all on casting and the gun lure for us were slick rigs. We mainly fished flooded grassy banks with only a couple of fish out of the sticks.It was one of the best trips I have had to date.
    Jesper

Re: Monduran

Great looking fish mate! Monduran sure does produce some great fish. Making me want to move back down south.
    "Rather be fishing than doing homework"

Thats some great fishing mate well done

Well done mate, that bit of water looks very familar, there where plenty of fish in those areas last weekend bet the temp was right up again.

Good on you and the step dad, those grassy banks are really going to be good for a little while but its hard to resist the sticks.

Nath

Well done Jesper,

Those barra look great mate. Well done for cracking the m+ club.

I am sure those sore arms,shoulders and back pain will fade as you look over the picks again and remember the awesome strikes and leaping Barra

Aaron

well done i did not have as much luck it started out looking promising on the saturday afternoon hit the water at 3.30 ish to then head to a familar patch of trees in A area for an hour and a half ocasting for one catfish we then headed to c for you guessed it 2 more catfish we then decied to head back for a troll along a clustr of trees i a area wheren i ahev picked up several barra before to only hook the mother of all catfish at 80cm long they concluded day one
    The next morning we got out the early excited on the chance at landing a silver beast and headed straight for the same trees i had cast at the day before same again gave it about and hour before maiking the decsion to head back to bird bay when i then try to lift my electric up and crack my back gave way i have had a bit of disc porlems in my back latley that have been give me a bit of currie for the last sixmonths or so . My dad who was with me had to drive the boat back to the ramp which then (after about a couple or so phone to my wife ) she meet us at the ramp with my mother and father inlaw in tow to top it off a couple of fellow i know from the coast where at the ramp to see me struck down laying on the floor of the boat unable to get out . I then was taken to our cabin where i lay hopeless al day long till finally all the pian killers kicked in enough for me to get some movement end of fishing trip i now have to have a injection in my back this thursday to hopefully give me enough movment to allow the disc to do back in place cross my fingures toes and anything else avaible as i cant wait to get my chance to get there and land another beutfull fish so well doen again the effort is always worth it .

Nipsta
    Hope the back improves soon
    Not to get technical...... but according to Chemistry, ALCOHOL IS A SOLUTION

well done jesper, all very good fish, in what area were these grassy banks you were playin on.( if you dont mind).. cheers deano.... (:

Quote Originally Posted by Callop View Post
    Nipsta
    Hope the back improves soon
    I HOPE SO TOO I NOW MORE KEEN TO GET BACK UP THERE AND HAVE ANOTHER GO SINCE MY EFFORTS WHERE CUT SHORT BUT THIS TIME I WILL GO MID WEEK TO MISS THE CROWDS. THE BOAT RAMP SATURDAY NIGHT WAS PACKED AND A 15MIN WAIT TO GET IN PLUS THE USEALL COWBOYS HAVING A CHAT INSTEAD OF MOVING ON
    Last edited by nipsta; 26-02-2008 at 01:45 PM.

Hi Deano68,
    We fished bird bay and as well as bay b. Funny enough after the rise I just started to fish it like a bass dam that had just risen and it seamed to work for us. Here is a pick of how far the barra were taking the lures. We had to replace a leader after every fish.
    Jesper
    Last edited by bass54; 26-02-2008 at 05:41 PM.

Cheers jesper,
    hope to have as much fun as you did this weekend,still getin to know the dam so any info helps and will defniatly throw a few slickys around. thanks again...deano.

Quote Originally Posted by bass54 View Post
    Hi Deano68,
    We fished bird bay and as well as bay b. Funny enough after the rise I just started to fish it like a bass dam that had just risen and it seamed to work for us. Here is a pick of how far the barra were taking the lures. We had to replace a leader after every fish.
    Jesper
    and yes i have a pack o those lorakites......

Well done Jesper, you have to be happy with a couple of sessions like that. Glad to see the slickies are scoring at Monduran.....they were not really a lure that was synonymous with great success at this impoundment. I will have to reassess my arsenal next time.

PS Nipsta....get better soon mate....nothing worse than a crook back

great to see lots of barra caught all over the dam on a few different techniques, lures, retrieves etc

Your right Fishon, Since the rain, we have noticed people catching fish with just about every method there is....particulary good to see blokes getting them on plastics regulary. Trolling, casting, surface,deep, shallow on all types of lures, and ALL over the dam.

Helps spread the boats out too