Nerang river

Thread: Nerang river

Nerang river

I hit the Nerang river on sunset last nite, and came away with a good mixed bag. First up was a bream at 39 fork length, he weighed 1.7kg. Wow that’s a pb bream for me. It might be a good nite.

2 more bream around 31 FL came in, then I changed spots. A cod at 39cm hit the deck, then a cod at 43cm, and right before high tide, the line goes zzzz. Ah finally, this is what weve been waiting for! A 44 jack hits the mat for a photo. First jack for me since xmas. Im almost ashamed to post such a small jack, but I’ll post any jack if its been slow down my way. Is anybody else getting an inferiority complex about the size of the jacks?

All fish caught on mullet flesh. Theyre biting between the Isle of Capri bridge and Bundall rd bridge. Just look for any rock wall on any tide or moon, and be prepared to put in some hours at nite. Plenty of room there for everybody.

The 55cm cod in the photo came 2 weeks ago. Hes the best of recent catches (which have been mostly vermin in the brown water). Bream and jack were released, cod on the table tonite.

Re: Nerang river

Well done Andrew. Didley and I might have to head down there and try our luck. Thanks for the report.

great fish mate whish i could get down there for a fish.
    "True Blue"

That's a nice fat Cod there Gecko, can't complain about that.

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Not a bad session there Andrew!

That's a ripper Bream!!!!

Jeff.

Ausfish Platinum Member Leighton's Avatar

Thanks for the location tip, we have rented a house on the Nerany River for a week from this Wednesday. Its my mission to rid this Jack virgin monkey from my back

Ausfish Platinum Member geoff72's Avatar

great fish mate,nice jack and what a cracker bream
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Andrew,

Nice session, but where have the lures gone

Would have been a nice night on the water with light winds and warm temps. I can imagine the smile on your face when the Jack slid into the net.

Marty

Great fish and a cracker bream. A great sesh all round ,well done

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Good brim and a nice mixed bag indead. I thought you had left the country it has been that long. Would be good to get my first jack soon but the god damb snapper keep calling. I have some spots to try but tight to pull even a small tinny up. Need to get up your way and spend some late nights. Good to see yah back into the jacks.

No I hadnt left the country, Ive been fishing once a week, its just that the water has been that dirty on the goldy for so long. The only other jack Ive seen from the GC since the flood (excluding tweed) is martys one last week . All other jacks on ausfish this year seem to have come from sunny coast, brisbane or nth nsw. They are just starting to show up again downriver near the broadwater. Thats how long it takes to recover from a flood.

Hey marty, I did throw a reidys b52 around, but the current was running a bit fast in the main river. Im still mainly bait at night and more lures on dawn sessions. Im a bit lazy at night so I anchor up a lot. I reckon you need the leccy on and be moving with the current to throw lures.

Nice one mate that bream is a good one anyone would be happy with him on a comp day i might head to the goldy this weekend to see how its going havnt fished in a while.

Nice catch Andrew. all nice fish

...in case of emergency, take me fishing

nice effort gecko. Was only asking the question the other day if anyone has had any luck. Well Done.

Did have much trouble getting livies? I assume that was your bait.
    Have seen guys get them off chevron bridge before. I normally stick to the sand banks with the cast net.
    Got any tips for me?

Livies are scarce in the brown water. I used dead mullet fillets for those fish. I dont spend too much time with a castnet, cos I can castnet an hour for 6 herring and no mullet, then I wish Id just started fishing earlier with the fillets.

Ive seen those guys jigging off the Chevron Is bridge, they run a charter boat that targets canal fish. Seems like a good alternative to the broadwater and offshore. I bet they catch a few jacks too.

My tip is just use whatever bait you can get, livies or dead mullet strips. Go at night along the main river and look for rockwalls. Daytime is a waste, you must be at night and be prepared to put in a 5-6 hr session. Keep quiet, no boat or anchor noise, no lights if possible. Rocks, dark and stealth are my 3 top tips. Thats it, theres no other secrets.

good luck