Thread: Boaties Market 9 March

Boaties Market 9 March

There may have been a thread posted for this by my VMR mate Zubzero but I cant find it. Anyway it is a good reminder.
    VMR Victoria Point is holding its 13th Boaties Market on 9 March 2008 at Victoria Point State School, Colburn Ave, Victoria Point. Gates open at 6.00am and it is usually all over at Midday leaving time to go fishing with the new gear. This market is continuing to grow in size with over 100 sellers at the last market and a flood of buyers walking out with all sorts of boating and fishing gear. As usual we expect there will be everything from a boat hook to a cruiser for sale.
    Entry for buyers is a donation and sellers $10.00 for any size of area you need.
    The school P & C will cater with a BBQ and drinks of the soft and coffee type.
    VMR is also holding a one day raffle with Boat licencing courses, a custom made rod and other gear up for grabs.
    See you there
    Coroboy,
    VMR Victoria Point.

Re: Boaties Market 9 March

Coroboy,

Is there any need to "book" before hand or do I turn up on the day? I've got a boat I'd like to bring up.

Carl

just turn up & pay at gate. the only thing is they say gates open at 6, i arrived at 1/4 to last time & there was already 4 rows full & some customers had already spent their money & were leaving so to get full value ,be early, i was amazed at how many were out early looking for a bargain.....Oh, & if you want a sausage sanga, get in early as they ran out pretty quickly last time
    lots of good stuff to be had if you look, & lots of people that will buy any crap if it's cheap enough

all things being equal i'll be back, it's a good morning..

Coroboy is there parking at the school or is it out on the street?

Gidday Shagga, parking is on the street for the shoppers but if you end up buying a bit you can drive in and pick up your goods no worrys. Their is better parking in the school car park on the School Rd side of the school as opposed to the Colburn Ave side though.

Dr, yes, theoretically the gates open at 5.30am for the stall holders but half the time it is opened a bit earlier and it gets fairly chokers early. As for the snags, the school does this as part of their fund raising and always tend to run out around the 9-10am mark... gone hungry a few times myself.

Thanks for supporting us and the positive feedback... will see you all bright and early... well early anyway

Cheers Lloyd

Everyone is spot on with their replies. Parking is best on School road entrance but all vehicle traffic into the school will be from the main gates. From the number of phone enquiries all indications are that this boaties market will be as good as or better than usual.
    The school P & C may have got the hint from the last market and organised more sausages as that market was the biggest so far.
    Sellers can get there before 5.30 to catch the early worms looking for stuff to buy but as usual there will be que of sellers down the road waiting to get vehicles inside the grounds. It is not unsual for some sellers to drive a long way such as from over the boarder.
    There is no need to book as we have the whole of the school grounds to use.
    Anyway it is an enjoyable Sunday morning rain or shine.
    Thanks to all who have read this thread and see you there on the day
    Ed Pepping
    VMR Victoria Point

hi does any one have the adress i wouldn mind taking a look please pm adress or post it up many thanks.

Here it is
    http://www.whereis.com/whereis/getMap.do?nref=homeMap

I have never been, is it worth the effort from the Gold coast???????

Here it is
    http://www.whereis.com/whereis/getMap.do?nref=homeMap

I have never been, is it worth the effort from the Gold coast???????

Swap Meet 9/3/08

Hi All,

Can anyone please tell where the swap meet is this weekend &
    what is it about ?
    as i have heard differnt stories about it,but no one is sure

Many Thanks
    Joe

Re: Swap Meet 9/3/08

do you mean the boaties market at victoria point school. 5.30 am sunday gold coin donation there is a thread in it somewhere.
    Ray

I was lead to believe there was one being held out Redcliffe way ?

No doubt im wrong (wouldnt be the first time)!!

I would like to know if there WAS one at Redcliffe or not

G'day Lloyd and Ed.

see you guys Sunday as always. No stall for me this year... just a customer looking for a bargain....

I'll have to get in early for a snag though, I have missed out twice now.

The weather looks good for a market, pretty windy to keep the hordes off the bay.

here is a map.

Thanks Phill, been a bit tied up the last week or two and to be totally honest the whole thing had escaped my mind.
    Wont be there in the morning more than likely as am a little crook with the wog.
    Hopefully you wilol all get some good bargains.

Cheers Lloyd