Thread: Monduran virgins.

Monduran virgins.

The long awaited 1st trip to Monduran eventually came around this weekend.
    What a place!!!!!!!!!
    Great scenery, great weather, great fish, just a bloody great place!!!!

I fished with Nick (abbott86) and we were keen to get our first Impoundment barra. Saturday morning we spent throwing minnows in the sticks. Reports of fish caught the night before had us as keen as mustard. I managed a huge strike and hookup at J section, he's smashed the lure but hooks pulled after a short hard run. At least I saw the beast. He had a couple of mates with him too.

Saturday arvo we decided to fish H section as some boys from our crew got 3 fish from there sat morning. Throwing Classics at the sticks saw Nicks gold 15+ Classic get smashed! Solid hookup and after a tough fight on 30lb braid, trying to keep him away from the sticks, I slide the net under a beautiful 96cm Barra. To say we were stoked would be an understatement!
    A quick measure and some photos and he's swimming again. Kept chucking lures 'till dark then decided to troll the basin. My 5metre Classic got snagged in the weed, I pull it in, got rid of weed and chucked her back in again, bang!!! as soon as it hit the water!!!! I'm on, she's jumped a couple of times, but got her to the boat and in the net, another fish of 96cm. Yahoo!!
    We've both broken our barra virginity!!!! Called it a night after that, it was a long day.
    Sunday morning we fished Bird Bay and Nick landed another fish of 95cm, which carried on and jumped a couple of times, trolling around the sticks.
    We went up with a crew of 8 boats and fish were caught all over the dam from the basin to H section.
    Biggest fish caught in our crew was 119cm from Bird Bay and one crew trolled all the way back from H section last night for 5 fish to 112cm.

Had a great weekend, we fished for 21.5 hours, had 4 strikes and hookups and landed 3 fish. Hard work, but for our first trip to Monduran, we were stoked!!!

I must say a big thankyou to the guys I have sent PM's to. Thanks fellas.

Cheers Jeff.
    Last edited by ffejsmada; 24-02-2008 at 07:47 PM.

Re: Monduran virgins.

Very nice mate, that first fish is a solid looking lump. Some good pics as well.
    Very addictive place that Monduran.
    brian

any pics of the 119???
    would like to see that big girl
    brian
    Last edited by BR65; 24-02-2008 at 08:03 PM.

Great Stuff Jeff,
    Glad to hear you had a good trip.
    Nick had a ripper time by the look of it....96cm casting is a sensational start.
    Although he still aint smiling in those photos....
    How did Benny & James go...?
    Hopefully Benny outfished James AGAIN.....

Well done guys thanks for the trip report. Great pics 2.

Cheers Lyndon & Kel

Good work fellas. good pics too. I would love to see a pic of the 119cm too!!!

Thumbs up Re: Monduran virgins.

Great stuff Jeff!
    Virgins any more eh' More like busted cherries
    Congratulations on a successful maiden voyage.

Cheers Les

congratulations on your first barra, im going for mine up there on the 8th next month well ill be on the dam trying ...........len

Good work Lads u realise u are now hooked for life, Great photos and thanks for the report, Cheers Whitto

Hope we score our first barra as Monduran virgins .Me and the young bloke leave tommorow morning . So bloody hyped but don't really know where to start.Got a few days to sus it ,well done on your fish ,congrads.Cheers

Good stuff Jeff. You realise that all you're going to think about now is barra fishing. Your gunna find it hard to find the motivation to fish the river for a while.

Cheers mate

Nice report Jeff. Some great pictures too!

Your good research obviously helped you get a great result on your first trip. A valuable lesson to others going to Monduran for the first time!

No doubt you'll be back!!

Regs

two words for you mate, "oh year" that's what monduran is all about. Good to hear they are all over the dam now and Bird Bay is firing. Love those scenic pics mate really show off monduran for its real self other then just a barra impoundment.

Nath
    Last edited by Tropicaltrout; 25-02-2008 at 06:57 PM.

ive never worked so hard for a fish in my life, but it was well worth it. i now see what all the fuss is all about . great place cant wait to go back.. oh and pete, mate the way i see it serious fish.serious photo cheers nick

na pete he got me mate. i struggled this trip but still had a ball. glad to see you and nick had fun jeff.