Thread: Info on thread tools, resins & blank suppliers

Info on thread tools, resins & blank suppliers

Any one out their tell me what is the best tool to smooth out your thread, before you coat it with a preserver. I have tried a spoon, apperantly fuji have a proper tool, any hints. Also what is a good quality resin and where can i purchase cts and ats blanks from and not get ripped off.

Re: Info on thread tools, resins & blank suppliers

Mate

I use a teaspoon handle that is rounded to smooth out the threads.
    I also use braid line to pull the thread though
    I also use sewing sicissors for cutting'

Ken

i have always used nail clippers for trimming the thread.
    Dental floss for pull throughs.
    A very good quality, large stainless needle for burnishing thread, although i have lost the one i had for twenty something years & have been using a tool thingy from a tool shop (pic attached) i think it is a ring pick?? this one is Kingchrome? brand. It has a beautiful smooth finish to burnish & a sharp point for moving wayward of stubborn threads around. This fits nice & comfortably in the hand. last time i looked they had some in Repco for around $20 for a pack of 3 with diff ends on them, straight, curved & something else, worth a look..just be careful of the serrated bit, it's not really a problem once you remember it's there

I made my own out of a piece of 3/8 stainless steel rod. One end was smoothed and flattened slightly, the other end is ground down toa triangular point. The point has had the tip smoothed off so it doesn't cut the thread. When burnishing the thread, always move outwards from the centre of your pattern. I pack my patterns supper tight and when I am closing the background the centre threads can be burnished outwards to close the entire wrap. Takes some practise but is easy once you get the hang of it.

I use Threadmaster epoxy. It is crystal clear, dries quickly and gives you about 20-30 minutes of working time. Great to sue.

Blanks are up to you. You will have to contact suppliers or retailers and hunt around for what you want to get the best prices/deals. Don't forget, with the Aussie dollar so high you can get some great blanks from the USA and Japan at a decent price.

G'day Popeye,

There are heaps of things you can use. Try a few and stick with one that best suites your needs and you are comfortable. I used a plastic one but found I was getting too many fuzzies on the thread so use a stainless one now. I'd go with what Mark uses as his wraps are super tight and a sparrow fart couldn't get through his wraps with how tight he gets them, if only mine could be that tight, lol.
    I use sewing scissors for cutting as they are $2 a set and after a while I toss them and get another one. Blanks etc search around the net as you can find things cheaper but try your local tackle store first as once you build up a regular customer base with them you would be surprised at how much they will discount for you, I know I do .

Cheers, Jan.

I think what you have been talking about is this a Burnishing Tool made by Gudebrod. It is inexpensive and does a good job
    Last edited by OzRods; 27-02-2008 at 02:51 PM.

Sorry Double Post
    Last edited by OzRods; 27-02-2008 at 02:51 PM.

I posted the same question on rodbuilding.org, and got plenty of useful answers.

One popped up a few times, and that was the roller on a cheese cutter (minus the cutting wire of course!!) I can see the logic, as the little roller flattens without rubbing or dragging the thread.

I use a tool that Volvo generously sent me, it has a point at one end which is great for moving around individual threads, and a blunt type of blade at the other for packing. I also use it for burnishing, but intend to get the cheese roller.....well if it's good enough for Doc Ski.

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!