Thread: rigs for the seaway

rigs for the seaway

hi all,

a mate and i are heading to the seaway thru the week and i was wondering what u guys n gals are using for bait and also what rigs u use. i was thinking livies would be good and drift thru the seaway on an incoming tide. if using livies, where can one jig them up??? also ive read a fair bit about the pipe. can anyone help me with the location/map, showing me whereabouts in the seaway it starts and ends, as i MAY want to anchor up somewhere.

col

Re: rigs for the seaway

Hi Killer
    The pipeline at the seaway is clearly marked on both sides of the seaway and lies in a straight line between the 2 signs on either side. It shows up VERY clearly on a sounder. It can be a very productive spot to jig or drift livies over BUT you will lose a LOT of gear fishing it as you need to stay in close proximity to the bottom to get the best results.
    The North and South walls can both turn on at times and it is jus a matter of drifting thru different areas to find where the fish are. I dd pick up 5 jew the other morning but they were all on livies and wouldnt touch the plastics. Bream and jacks and flathead were caught by others the same day. Livies are where U find them and I have about 4 or 5 closely guarded spots that can produce some days and not others. It took me 2 hours he other day to get a dozen yackas out of a hundred other species that took the jig. Hope that helps a little???

thanks mate, thats a good start. whats the bottoms substrate from the mouth inward, sand or rocks/reef. just so i know how to rig up. given your advice that i'm likely to lose a fair bit of gear, i might use a paternoster rig, so if i lose the sinker, no biggy. what do you think. also what rigs do you use for that session?

also what other baits are useful given the varied species that pass thru, pillies, yabbies, squid?? sorry for all the questions matey

col

Hi Killer
    The only rig that I have ever used in the Seaway is a running sinker (size dependant on the run) with a 3 foot trace (usually 40lb) and either a single or doule hook rig depending on the size of the bait.
    Yakkas and herring are the main baits for the larger fish. The bottom is VERY rocky around the rock walls and extends for some 15 mtrs around the Northern wall end. I saw a 15 to 18kg cobia pulled out of there yesterday just after we had drifted thru a nailed a small jew. That fish took a whole yakka.
    There are plenty of bream around the walls as well and u can use live herring or yabbies for these.

Ive used both rigs in the seaway. The running sinker gets more hits, but loses more tackle. The paternoster rig is fine, if you can use a twisted dropper to keep the bait clear of the line.

I use 30-40 lb trace, for the main rig, then I use 4 lb trace to a small snapper lead.The idea is that the light line breaks first, and you still have the main rig. When I lose the sinker, I can just rerig the 4lb trace. This saves a bit of time.

Ive only found livies at the scottish prince or the sundale bridge. They are hard to get near the seaway.

Andrew,

You may not be happy to hear that I reckon we are gonna lose the Scottish Prince to the Divers/greenies when they start on the green zones for the Gold coast estuary & offshore areas.

Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

netted a few mullet around wavebreak and near seaworld before. Not a yakka but if your desperate for livies