What Is The Oldest Tackle You Have? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: What Is The Oldest Tackle You Have?

Ausfish Gold Member

Re: What Is The Oldest Tackle You Have?

Mine`s an ABU Duet Zoom rod I bought back from Singapore in the mid eighties.

It came with 2 top sections, one lighter than the other. Teamed up with my Cardinal 55 reel, it accounted for a lot of school macks.

Reggy

[quote=TonyM;770862]I've still got my first ever boat rod (little Jimbo Deluxe), whiting rod (Black Queen Deluxe), and my first Alvey which are all at least 38 years old (the alvey and Black queen had been my dads for years before I nabbed them).

Ahhhhh....... the old Black Queen My mate and I both used to have one of those - we would use it for carp, whiting, mullet - everything.

I remember they used to be THE rod back then - even tough they curved all the way from the butt.

Who made those? - Butterworth? or Jarvis Walker?

Hi Mark,

They are a JW.

[quote=SunnyCoastMark;771114]
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyM View Post
    I've still got my first ever boat rod (little Jimbo Deluxe), whiting rod (Black Queen Deluxe), and my first Alvey which are all at least 38 years old (the alvey and Black queen had been my dads for years before I nabbed them).

Ahhhhh....... the old Black Queen My mate and I both used to have one of those - we would use it for carp, whiting, mullet - everything.

I remember they used to be THE rod back then - even tough they curved all the way from the butt.

Who made those? - Butterworth? or Jarvis Walker?

G'day Mark,

The Black Queen was made by Jarvis Walker and was the rod of choice for a long time for diehard bream fishers (bait) in the Gippsland Lakes here in Victoria.It was popular largely because of the parabolic (bendy) action that the breamers preferred to let a fish take a bait without too much resistance ...."ya gotta have a Black Queen mate" was often said.My brother had a long green JW rod that was a "Clarence" I think and we used to stir him about his "sloppy joe" which by the way I believe was a model of Len Butterworth?? ie the "Queensland Sloppy Joe"??

I've got a Jarvis Walker "Tooradin" which is also a solid glass rod,black with a ferrule just above the cork foregrip.Gee that black rod has caught a sh1t load of fish over close to 30 years and it's had a refurbishment or two.I still use it with a Shimano TSS-3 & 12-15lb line.

As to other gear I've got some old Penn reels ie Delmar 285 overheads that are at least 40 years old (about my age) and still going strong and great reels for heavy duty bottom bouncing.Also some Penn Longbeach 65 overheads that are around same vintage.Got a few of the older ABU overheads in the 8600,12 models that are pushing 30,in good order with many more years left in them.Got a new in box/unused ABU 10000 2 speed automatic that's over 20 years old.

Got a bit of other gear that's getting old but works well.

Geeeezzz...people will start to think it'll rain for 40 days & nights when they see me with my boat. (boat & motor and accessories are new & haven't been used yet---sooon!!)

I have my wife's grandfathers old cane surf rod and alvey reel with a red ceder spool
    it is from the late 1950's still works trouble is you would have to be a weight lifter to use it. cheers Wayne.

Now look at that - who says we are a throwaway society?

If only we could get our wives to keep some of their "stuff" for so long....................... then we would have more money to spend on fishing gear

i went out to the shed, found the old black queen, forgot i still had it. was given a reel by my great grandfather about 30odd years ago, like an alvey (but not) it looked bloody old when i got, he said it was his fathers. no idea how old it is but i still use from time to time. caught a lot of fish over the years

i was given a rod at the same time, yellow solid glass, timber bottom grip, top grip is like a red bakelite , off to the shed to look for it

cheers rob

My favorite reel for rock fishing is my trusty old Abu 12 how many guys out there can honestly say they have used or remember them?

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post
    My favorite reel for rock fishing is my trusty old Abu 12 how many guys out there can honestly say they have used or remember them?

I remember them well
    The guys who used them swore by them but they never took off with the general public for some reason. Probably poor marketing or something

I have an old brass backed alvey with a wooden spool that my father picked up ( probably second hand) when we lived in townsville in arround '65..'66.... still works fine..... due for some attention.

I still have the butterworth rod my brother baught me when I was about 12.

yep the old black queen... still available..... still good on bream & whiting.

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post

Well I'm one for example.I've got a couple of Abu 12 reels in top nick and an 8600 that needs a minor amount of work.I used to have another 2 x Abu 12s but due to (very) hard times I parted with them. When I got the chance to buy another..then another,from a US ebay seller I couldn't resist.They cost me about $200 each and I also got a 8600 which is very much the same reel.I sold the 8600 on here ages ago (and wished that I hadn't!! ).When I saw another one for sale I thought I'd atone for my wrongdoings..hence my present one.

Down here in Victoria I've used the ABU 12 for surf fishing for gummy shark and smaller bronzies etc..they cast a long way and are built like a tank.I reckon they'll go to my little bloke in good working condition once I'm gone.Hope to get a lot more use in the meantime!

They're great matched up to a FSU5120 blank.

The newer gear looks pretty but I like things that are going to last for sure.

i have my grandfathers boat rod & reel from somewhere in the 50s i think..
    rod is 6' heavy split cane with stainless guides, on ferrule it says.. Mt. House rod
    matching reel is an old Graeme, both working well, just need a bit of TLC to make a lovely wall decoration..

Unfortunately I've not been able to hang on to any decent gear .... due to a couple of break ins & a break up

The couple of losses that disappoint me the most were a Finnor Tycoon ( late 70s) & a Finnor lite ( mid 80s ...... both were awesome hand built lever drag game reels that were worth their weight in gold

Nagg

PS .... I still have a late 1970s ABU 7000 ..... that I used off the rocks

gday guys i still use my 6.6ft solid glass jarvis walker rod .i got it in 1972 & it is the best rod for whiting .just love it you can nearly bend it from tip to butt cheers ida

this has been a fascinating read.

Someone has to lower the tone, and since I have to be so P.C. at work, I'd like that to be me :-) For those who don't know what P.C. means, be happy !

My oldest piece of tackle is about as old as me, but after I was married, got less use, and after our child was born, even less :-)

Now how daring was that:-)

On a serious note, I have a much treasured seascape major, a beautiful yellow heart rod that an elderly friend gave me, and a tank aerial rod ffom lifeline at Lutwyche