Thread: Ballina Forcast

Ballina Forcast

WEll the sun has finally been out for a couple of days something we haven't seen for a while. How are the seas anyone know the forecast for the weekend is a trip outside going to be possible????

Cheer
    Frost

Re: Ballina Forcast

Just looked at Seabreeze fishy,

Sunday might just happen. Might be time to go & dust off the gear, finally.

Talking Re: Ballina Forcast

hi mate iam in yamba i surfed angouri yhis morning it is still in the 6 foot range i cheaked the bar tonight still rather nasty. sunday look like a maybe and to my surprise i seen blue water about 1 km off shore yip yah i hope this helps.

according to seabreeze the swell is going to pick up from today to tomorrow how accurate is this???? i looked at the surf cam on coastal watch and there was barely any white water on the bar which hasn't been seen for a while.. i live in lismore so it would suck to drive all the way down to ballina only to turn around and come home considering we can't fish the river lol

Just looked myself fishy, 2.5 mtr swell is enough to change my plans.

BUGGER.

G'Day Muzz have you had a look at the sea this arv?

gday guys myself & muzz looked 2day at 5pm &the ocean was white with chop bar was still a bit shitty.we are not going 2moro .bummer .cheers ida

wind is still puffin a bit in town also cheers ida

Thanx Ida, changed the plans myself late last night. To far to drive from Casino to Evans with the conditions the way they were.

yeh wow.. i changed my plans too and decided not to go... went for a drive to ballina to have a look and take the missus shopping and the bar was highly crossable sun was out and a few boats about... my decision has been highly regretted

We missed nothing Fishy,

from what I heard, the few that did go today were all home early, seems the current is howling.

Chatted with Ida this morning, he said that big rigs were disappearing in the swell at Black Head bait ground............not my idea of fun.

Last edited by onerabbit; 24-02-2008 at 09:03 PM.

Ended up leaving Cassino at 8am for a gentlemans start, a call to the Evans coast guard a 7.30am sounded promising. Should have stayed home. Travelled a long way for 2 yakkas! Bar was no worries sea was pretty good even with 2m+ swell. Blo#dy big manta ray decided it wanted to mate with the boat. Missed climbing in the boat by 3m on one jump. There were several cobia following but by the time I got organised enough to throw a pillie in the direction of the ray it had disappeared below the milky depths.

Spent alot of time looking for a reasonable show of fish. The only patch I found just didnt want to play. Got sick of that at 2p.m so headed in to be greeted at the bar mouth by MSB, only doing there job and all checked out OK but it was just another hassle I didnt really want. Got back to the ramp to find the trim n tilt switch packed it in. Had to use the switch on the motor to get the motor up.....still I spose it beats workin!

From what the ramp rats said there were very few fish caught for the day.

What a bugger bloke,

you'll have to change aftershave by the sounds of that, ( after you change you're undies).

How did you find the current? I've heard it's pretty savage ATM.

Surely the weather gods will give us a go before the jackets arrive???

My undies were OK mate....cant say the same for the father in law .

I didnt find the current to bad but then we didnt head to wide given the swell and I wasnt sure how strong the arvo NE was going to be.

I remember an old cockie from booyong saying, mate it'll rain one day. It cant stay dry forever! That was at the start of the drought in 2000......An old cockie from Kyogle said to just last week...mate it cant rain and blow forever....which is true. I just bloody hope it doesnt take as long as it did back in 2000.
    Last edited by stonecold; 26-02-2008 at 05:59 AM.