-
Quick Murray Cod question?
I'm heading to Glenlyon Dam tomorrow morning to chase murray cod and yellowbellies (for the first time) for the next three days.
I'm used to impoundment barra fishing so I need to know quickly:
1. Does water temp matter when chasing cod?
2. What about the moon phase (full moon tonight)?
Or is is just about finding the structure and bait schools that will hold/attract fish?
-
Re: Quick Murray Cod question?
Pete,
Water temp will play a part in regard to what depth the Cod are sitting. I don't think the moon will have any influence. Best thing to do is talk to Brian Dare when you get there.
-
Temp no, moon phase sometimes Defiantly more about structure and hard work Cast into the tops of trees,rock walls,beside large trees & fallen trees. Good luck.
rossco
-
hi peter went down today to the dam , mate sorry to say but very very quiet on the lure front, the water is really dirty and only afew people catching yellow belly using shrimp, usually full moon gets the big cod moving but spoke to afew blokes and they said they trolled for afew hours last night with not a touch. hope you do alright the bottom half of the dam was abit clearer. cheers bdowdy..brett ps... the creeks are even quiet at the moment only got 1 cod yesterday morning.
-
Gday Pete
Mate do what you do when barra fishing but use a big fat wide action lure ,deep or shallow diver , I'd start with the shallow early in the morning and go deeper in the daytime hours and go back to the shallower lure in the arvo .Pick your favourite colour because the cod won't care .If you have two or more in the boat get one bloke to throw spinnerbait or chatterbaits around to see what they are looking at.
If that doesn't work get the esky full and go trolling.
wamjam
-
Ausfish Gold Member
I think everyone is struggling at the moment - dams rising and water too dirty.
I dont find temp an issue for cod. But I tend to do better in the evening on full moon - and middle of the day for new moon....might be a load of shit...but works for me.
Never been to Glenlyon - but our dams have been fishing better for cod in the shallows along the weed edge....UNTIL IT RAINED AND RAINED AND NOW THE WHOLE DAM IS WEED EDGE!!!!! Grrr
I agree with WamJam - just load the esky & troll - idiot proof....ha