A few prawns but need some help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A few prawns but need some help

A few prawns but need some help

Caught a few prawns around victoria point the other day but i was wondering what are the prawns movements in regard to the tides. when do they school up and when are the best times to target them? low to high, high to low.... i have a tinny and would like to target them in the russell island area, what should i look for? the deepest holes, drop offs, corners of channels, small bays??? appreciate any tips you could spare

Re: A few prawns but need some help

Mate, best time is mid high to low.

Get a good sounder and look for other boats. With russell island . it's usually deep their so lots of lead on your nets.

Look for my boat, and do the exact opposite of what I am doing.

I have been out twice chasing them and so far have caught 4 prawns.

You may find that people who know where they are seem reluctant to tell anyone.

Mid to low tide seems right from what I have seen others bringing back
    to the boat ramp, and of course, if you see a pack of boats full of yellow
    raincoats, and nets flying everywhere, get in there mate.
    Last edited by baitwaster; 20-02-2008 at 11:16 AM.

I only ever start Prawning after the turn of the tide on the way out. In the shallow water they seem to school better closer to the low tide. But that's in water only 1 or 2 mtrs deep. The mother load schools that hang around drop offs 4 to 5mtrs seem less affected, but I never bother prawning in coming tides any more, you seem less likely to find them. Prawning most of the outgoing tide is more than enough time for my shoulder to be throwing the net a couple of hundred times!! If they school up, I dream of days I can get my 10 litres in only a few casts, as most would

thanks guys that will be a big help for when i go out next. cheers

i found the best is the dead of the tides doesnt seem to matter. if prawning down southern bay usually the w's are really productive in about 40ft of water the norm. you will need lots of lead and i usually use a 12ft net atm. prawns are very scattered atm due to the big fresh that just came through. will be out again this weekend will let you no

Quote Originally Posted by baitwaster View Post

Mate, I know that you fish the pine. Give the areas in this thread a go:

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=125280

In particular, the spot round the bend from Castle Hill. Chuck just near the green buoy but not too far inside it or 'you'll snag on the wreck. Also, see which way the tide is running so that you don't snag on the buoy's chain. Good luck.

Last edited by kingtin; 21-02-2008 at 09:03 PM.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

also, a secret. If there is a crowd throwing nets in an area. Observe the direction they are moving. Then move 30 or so meters in front of them and cast.

There is no point casting your net in the scattered school. Also once you have cast your net, move another 3o meters.

Oh. And buy a top pocket net.

Quote Originally Posted by timddo View Post
    Oh. And buy a top pocket net.
    Hi,

I'm also a novice at prawning but have heard that nylon nets are not as good because they don't sink fast enough - does anyone know if that is true, and if so what sort of net is best.

Thanks,

Quote Originally Posted by Lapras View Post
    Hi,

I'm also a novice at prawning but have heard that nylon nets are not as good because they don't sink fast enough - does anyone know if that is true, and if so what sort of net is best.

Thanks,

You can upgrade the leads if you think they don't sink fast enough, but I think experienced cast netters use nothing else. String nets are far too heavy when wet and I'm not absolutely sure but I don't think they're made in a size or type, good enough for prawning.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

After using a cotton net for the last 10 years or so I've recently bought a nylon net as the old one was getting rather second hand, with multiple mends all over it. The new 12 foot nylon net weighs about half what the cotton one does when wet and is SO EASY to cast compared with the old heavy one. The only thing I've had to change is to add some extra cord to it so that I can reach the bottom in the deeper holes.
    My experience is that the prawns are where you find them. I can't see any link between the tide - I've had good and bad days on all tides, high and low, rising and falling. You've just got to keep trying and sooner or later you hit the jackpot. I was out in the Pine River this morning. I got about 100 prawns of which 99 were greasies. Just a day or so I was getting at least one third bananas. At least I got some free bait, and sweated out about 5 kilos in the process
    Cheers Freeeedom

I was lucky enough to get half a 50ltr esky in one throw one time and couldn't believe my eyes when I pulled up the net to see the top chocka block full , my first thought was a heep of those black and white striped catfish as they get around in big balls and thank f##K it wasn't .
    pickers

some good tips thanks guys. i was down around the powerlines and the w's on monday morning low and didn't get a prawn to my name, although we caught a baby jew about 15cm which was great to see. managed a mixed bag from the pin of bream, whiting and flathead. caught a couplke of moses, is there a size limit on these. also a couple of muddies but unfortunately had 4 pots flogged!! fark it pisses me......oh well

heard there are a few prawns around the nudgee, brissy river area, anyone been trying there???

Quote:
    Originally Posted by baitwaster

Mate, I know that you fish the pine. Give the areas in this thread a go:

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=125280

In particular, the spot round the bend from Castle Hill. Chuck just near the green buoy but not too far inside it or 'you'll snag on the wreck. Also, see which way the tide is running so that you don't snag on the buoy's chain. Good luck.
    Thanks Kev - I just saw this post again, muchly appreciated

baydog,

where u where prawning is one of the first spots that they show in the southern bay..

low tide is best preferably around daylight with a small high tide (less than 6ft) in the early afternoon...not so much run and the prawns hang around all tide..

was talking to a pro crabber on the weekend, and he told me that the weekend after easter is when the first show should be..

warm that shoulder up!!