how many days??? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: how many days???

Ausfish Platinum Member el_carpo's Avatar

Re: how many days???

It's winter here. Haven't fished since late October. It's 16 degrees F (-9 C). If I tried to fish, my skin might die (Frostbite). Yet another snowstorm is on the way I hear.......

Yipeeeee!

When's that global warming stuff gonna get here? I'm freezing my a** off!

Hasn't stopped me from rearranging the tackle boxes and fiddling with the reels and fishing rods over and over and over again though.

Mid or late March ought to be warm enough. Might get a coho salmon or trout. Lord, I hope so!!!
    "When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.-- Mark Twain"

In the boat
    10 trips up the Pine River
    1 trip to Mud and Moreton
    3 trips to Bribie
    4 trips up Nundah Creek

On the surf ski
    3 trips to Upper Pine River chasing mullet

When you add them up you can see the effects of the weather - only one trip in the open bay in a month and a half. I didn't fish much through the second half of December due to a shoulder injury which is still troubling me a bit
    Cheers Freeeedom

I could add up the days but that would be hard work but ive done 110 engine hrs since Janurary with another 60 planned in the next 3 weeks!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post
    I could add up the days but that would be hard work but ive done 110 engine hrs since Janurary with another 60 planned in the next 3 weeks!

Ian,the real question is...what have you caught during all those hours?

Once in Dec to the hards, bagged out on snapper.
    Week at rainbow, could only run the pots due to weather, 5 muddies for the week.
    Two trips to hards in Jan, bagging out on tuskies on both occassions.
    Troll around murphs, only one yf tuna and a mack tuna on the way home
    Shocker out to the hards couple of weeks ago, one flying fish!
    We'll see what we can bring in on friday at the hards.

Yeah I think I've had my fair share.

Kezza

5 outings but only 3 of them fishing as one was boat rally etc, fishing southern bay from Viccie Pt to Peel and the Pin

Caught a couple for the table but basically caught my new best mate "Fred" a greedy under sized snappery bugga a couple of dozen times, that bloke sure gets around. Im fattening him up for next season

Reckon I'll probably run into 'Fred' this weekend again if i get out

Tangles KFC

27 days total.

13 on charter.

14 on private trips or on other boats.

22 on my boat, 5 on other boats.

3 days on the Gold Coast, everything else out of Mooloolaba.

If you take December out of it because I had a good run then my stats are pretty dissappointing.

9 days out in January.

0 charter days in January.

2 charter days in February so far.

5 days out in February.

There has probably only been one day this month I should have gone other than the days that I did do but the forecast was crap.

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post

0 charter days in January.

2 charter days in February so far.
    Smithy,the charter business sure sounds like a hard slog.
    Hope the weather and business picks up for you.

Ah, that would be nought!
    To busy at work, weather non-conducive for getting my boat over the bar when not working, too many boats on the river for my liking during the summer school holidays.
    However there is always the beach, tho' I have caught very little for my efforts it's always great to get over and fish the surf for a couple hours to get a fishing 'fix'!
    Law of averages says better boating conditions on the way, but the way the weather has been this year, hard to predict!
    Cheers and here's hoping!

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    Ian,the real question is...what have you caught during all those hours?

We have caught enought to win Champion boat under 7.5 m at the Hervey Bay Game fishing Classic and Champion Boat under 8m at the G.C.G.F.C Riveria Light Tackle Masters But i would have been nice to get more!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Strewth, Some of you blokes need to get a REAL job, I'm bloody jealous

Quote Originally Posted by finding_time View Post

We have caught enought to win Champion boat under 7.5 m at the Hervey Bay Game fishing Classic and Champion Boat under 8m at the G.C.G.F.C Riveria Light Tackle Masters But i would have been nice to get more!

Good stuff..congrats

1) .... only Nepean River casting for bass ( couldn't call it fishing)

Lots of days lost during the last 4 weeks because of weather ... or the aftermath of floods!

Nagg

You blokes make me sick,

how many trips since Dec 1???
    Bloody one on the 2nd of Dec, that makes nearly 3 months without getting the boat wet at all, not counting a few dry runs in the driveway.

Not good for a bloke that likes to average twice a week to sea.

It's gotta improve at some point doesn't it???????

Hmmm - how many trips since 1 Dec?

My Centre Console has been used more for wakeboarding than anything else might have to put some of those big ass speakers up on the console and some spiffy decals on the side> ..............

Fishing - once in December chasing Flattes in the river

Had 26 days off over Christmas - got out through Mooloolaba once and even that was a washing machine.

Then had a window 2 saturdays ago - forecast 5-10 knots started the outboard up at home to check all was OK - and it wasn't - Fuel/Oil Pump was stuffed..
    grrrrrrrr - only good thing was that it was fixed under warranty - thanks to the boys at Qld. Boating World. Pick her up tomorrow am - so we'll see what this weekend bings.

Mind you the forecast is all over the place