Tell me the bad things about polycraft
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tell me the bad things about polycraft

Tell me the bad things about polycraft

So far I am yet to here anything bad about these boats. They seem quite reasonable priced and I have only heard good things about them to date. So is there any bad points?

One question I do have, knowing that some plastics can often split, how would one go about repairing one of these hulls on the off chance it did get damaged?

One thing I did not like when looking at a few yesterday, was that the anchor well up front was full of water, no drain holes. Perhaps this can be fixed by drilling a few small holes so the water runs into the bilge.

Thumbs up Re: Tell me the bad things about polycraft

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealAndy View Post
    So far I am yet to here anything bad about these boats. They seem quite reasonable priced and I have only heard good things about them to date. So is there any bad points?

One question I do have, knowing that some plastics can often split, how would one go about repairing one of these hulls on the off chance it did get damaged?

One thing I did not like when looking at a few yesterday, was that the anchor well up front was full of water, no drain holes. Perhaps this can be fixed by drilling a few small holes so the water runs into the bilge.
    one thing that i noticed when looking at new boats as i have bought 2 new one in the last 12mnths was the amount of second hand polys on the market. i was interested in them but the dealer had none in stock for six weeks so i got a stabi instead. the concept is a great one ! if you split here they would just plastic weld together with bit of a otto bin(wheely)not. go for a ride in 0ne to compare to traditional hulls
    good luck in your search

dbl

Re: Tell me the bad things about polycraft

Not a bad thing really but stickers don't stay stuck!

Only thing that used to annoy me about them was the internal walls are not vertical so you cant lean against the gunnel comfortably. The new 4.8 brumby however has the vertical walls. Going to be my next boat I feel.

I've got a 5.3 personaly,

I think they are a geat boat, the sides are straighter then the smaller older versions and they are tough as nails, I'd doubt you would split one. Also the the 5.3's have drain holes in the anchor well.

Yeah i went for a spin in a 6mtr job about a year ago it was fairly rough we could hear a noise from under the floor it sounded like the outer hull was flexing and hitting the inner hull with a bit of a dull thud noise.They are a good idea if you can't wash them down often say in a remote area.Doing a fitout in one would be a bit of a headache unless you were a plastic welder otherwise it's a screw and glue job i suppose.All in all there's nothing wrong with them i reckon and you would be going hard to split one i would say.Dan..........

I have a 5.3 Cuddy Cab & love it. Its a great big beamy boat. That I have fitted various items including a ski pole & its just a matter of drilling holes where you want things & using large self tappers to hold it in.

Here is a full report on mine. http://gonefishingtas.com/reviews.php

Go to http://www.polycraft.com.au/ & download the 2008 Catalogue & read the reports on what happened to 1 when it came off the trailer at 110Ks of the 1 that got squashed by a 38M super yacht.

Also try http://www.polyboatowners.com

Its all horses for courses but I love mine.

So does the floataion of the polycraft hulls rely on the air between the inner and outer hull? IF it does, is it sperated into chambers so that if the outer hull is damaged it wont destroy all the flotation. Also thinking if you wanted to bold something to the hull I would not want to compromise the boyancy.

they look like sh!t

G'day mate,
    I've got a 3 metre tuff tender and I think it is great! I have had no problems with the flotation of the boat by drilling holes in to it and I can't see any seperate chambers in it. I doubt that they would split as they are a tough boat and if it does happen to split just take it to a plastic welder and it will be fine. Any scratches that you get in the boat can be easily removed with a bit of wet and dry, after you have done that just heat it with a hot glue gun and it will make it look like the rest of the boat. Anything deep take it to a welder then just sand it up to make it look nice.

Josh

can you use them in Queensland, or do they melt?
    Last edited by ozscott; 17-02-2008 at 04:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by ozscott View Post
    can you use them in Queensland, or do they melt?
    They are made in Bundy

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealAndy View Post
    So does the floataion of the polycraft hulls rely on the air between the inner and outer hull? IF it does, is it sperated into chambers so that if the outer hull is damaged it wont destroy all the flotation. Also thinking if you wanted to bold something to the hull I would not want to compromise the boyancy.
    They are foam filled to Aus Standards plus poly floats any way.

Can you get them with a ashtray?

Oh .... How I've missed a good poly thread Its been too long!
    Nagg