Thread: Surf Fishing plastics

Surf Fishing plastics

hey all

just wondering has anyone tried surf fishing with soft plastics? If so how did you go and would you mind explaining what plastics you used, what rigs, equipment(rods reels ) and technique

Re: Surf Fishing plastics

no mate,i haven't tried it yet,but it is an idea,well like bait you will need extra weight to take it out so a bigger sized jighead would be the go,not sure on plastics,maybe a squidgy fish,but try out a few and see what happens.
    Dylan

I read an article on it a while ago in either bush and beach or qfm and they said it is much like fishing plastics in the esturary but for bream your weights don't need to be that heavy, 1/8th is great for bream and the usual plastics work i.e. gulp shrimp etc,apparently the same gear is required i.e. a lightweight rig, graphite rod with a small reel. I can't wait to give it ago, cheers Chris

i saw them using them on ifish a few times what they had rigged was a patternoster rig. on the bottom was a 2 ounce star sinker, then 1 dropper was a ganged pilly and the other was the squidgy fish on a worm hook tied directy to the line. they were using this for australian salmon and nearly all the fish were caught on the plastic. i also saw another episode where they were rock fisihng with the same rig but they had a heavier nspin rod fishing off the rocks where they flicked the squidgy fish with a 1/2 ounce jighead and they were pulling 3kg+ fish off the rocks with a about 10-15m dead lift. hope it helps,

regards,
    keechie

I've tried with gulp sandworms with poor results but I cant see why it wouldn't work if the fish are there

I've caught heaps of Flatties. I was just using my estuary outfit, casting 1/6th jig head(could def go heavier depending on surf conditions), 5inch Gulp.
    I found a big rip running right next to the rocks and just cas in there and worked it back, got hits every cast.
    another time there was a sand bank with a big gutter next to it, so I walked out on the bank (knee deep) and cast back towards the beachand worked the lure back through the edge of the gutter.
    1/6th was heavy enough on small surf days but bigger would def. be needed on bigger days......for Flathead anyway.
    It's actually quite fun, I had never ished a beach before this (successfully).

Same here . Took a 6 1/2 flick rod to a gutter on the surf side and all the mates laughed at me. First cast a nice flatty . That shut them all up. .

Depending on what is around, you might find the attrition rate very high with softer pastics like Gulps. You will lose tails very quickly to Dart and Tailor. If you find this to be the case, try using snapbacks for reduced wear and tare on your gear.

Hi I fish surf and rock with sp's using a 9ft 6" steelback rod (reddington) the extra length helps i found it hard to find a rod of any great length that would throw a 1/8 oz jighead and steelhead rods seem the best compromise you can buy loomis ones locally too i teamed with a team daiwa 3000 using 6 or 10lb platinum or super 100 mono line, a lot of people fish for flathead using the drop and lift technique in the surf with fish or shad shapes and wrigglers with great success, I like to use flick bait stcik bait minnows or whatever else they call'em jighead weight is the same rule as everywhere else the lightest weight you can get away with, if its there yuo can catch it on an sp I have caught tailor dart bream whiting trevally etc etc they work great dart tailor etc tend to be in the top third of the water column the other species inthe bottom third or so lots of fun on light line some of the fish are unstoppable on 6lb mono you can use wire for tailor with a big loop to help the lure move although i use a stinger hanging loose on 2-4" of wire sometimes a short leader and this works for me.

Falz87,

I have had good results with SP's in the surf fishing for flathead, I use my estury gear 6ft rod, any brand of SP's, best results at the low end of the tide, just find a gutter with a bit of water in it and you should be on before your mates have even cracked their first pipi!!

Adam

G'Day mate do a check back through the last few pages of saltwater reports estuary, beach... see if you can find my post titles SP woody head that should get you started.

Goodluck

I fish surf beaches frequently on soft plastics. I mainly use 1/8 tt jig head, and almost any clear lure. My more successful one is the Ecogear grassminnow in clear/White or the Squidge flick bait/ Or snapback terminator worm.

Most of my catches are huge flathead, but you do end up getting few bream and even dart.

I fished a paternoster rig with fresh beach worm on one hook and gulp beach worm on the other and I caught fish on both. That day it was dart and whiting.

i have caught tailor up at waddy point on 5 inch gulps in one cast then flathead on the next, just gotta walk a gutter and keep flicking, the heavier the jig head the better for long casts into the wash zone.