Originally Posted by
insurance companies and claims,,,, they never seem to be a happy pair,,,, but in reality,,, most of the blame can fall back on the individual who takes out the insurance,,,,,
sorry to hear about your loss andrew,,,, and the above what not a dig at you,,, but reading a reply above where its the "dishonest" people who rort the system by making illegal claims is where most of the fault lays,,,
everytime you take out a policy,,, your asked a series of questions,,, number of claims is the best 1
if you've had 5,,,6,,,7,,,or more claims in the past 5 years,,,, your a higher risk than that of someone who has had none,,,, and hence your excess is higher,,
but lets say that you have ""honestly"" forgotten about 1 or 2,,, and only state that you've made 2 or 3,,,
make a claim and whammo,,,, no cover is what the insurer will call for non disclosure,,,,,,
a true story,,,, a buyer of a new xr6 turbo ute took out a new policy with a highly well known insurer,,,, 6 weeks later the car is legitamtely stolen,,,,, made all the correct calls,,, contacted insurer who immediately passed on info to assessors,,, and they discover that he had breached his notice of disclosure by not reporting traffic and loss of licence fines,,,,, insurance was canned and no payment
the ""moral"" of this reply is simple,,,, with EVERY type of insurance purchased now,,, by law you must receive a series of information booklets/pamphlets,,,,
the most important 1 is called your FSG,,,, followed by benefits,,, what is covered,,,whats not,,, these 2 items show where your money goes,,, and what you get for your hard earned dollar,,
with transportable items,, such as GPS's,, most insurers will only pay up to a certain value to stop the amount of fraud claims,,,, (hence in your case mate),,, otherwise that birthday pressie that you hated will in some cases become a claim and vanish to the next garage sale,,,,,
it does sometimes pay also,, to look at a broker who knows what companies pay for items that you need coverage for,,,, you may not want some of the standard trimmings that most companies offer,,, so don't accept them,,, just be aware of what your policy is,,,,, and what rights you have