Thread: moreton reefs saturday

moreton reefs saturday

Headed out 4:30am saturday morning to the close reefs off cape moreton. The water was a dirty green so decided to fish plastics for snapper instead of trolling. Wasnt much bait around but eventually found a nice school getting harassed on the edge of the reef. Plastics went out and first cast two of us hooked up. My mate got reefed and i pulled in a nice 50-60cm GT (jeez they fight hard!). Next few hours saw us with 5 snapper in the esky and at least a dozen bust offs before they shut down. By this time the reef was absolutely packed so we had a quick troll south towards shallow tempest.
    Not much bait around there either but persisted with the pastics and hooked up a couple of times but didnt boat any fish. Had a quick swim and some lunch at shallow tempest then headed back north again in the hopes that the fish were where we left them and most of the boats would be gone. Another couple of bust offs and then scored a nice ambo.
    Had a look around the top of the bay on the way home and didnt spot any surface activity. Also jigged a few beacons but didnt get anything.

Re: moreton reefs saturday

Hey Clint

I thought I saw you out there where you in the big hardtop platey
    I think we were fishing at shallow We worked hard for 5 decent fish
    Got nothing on bait all plastics

Went a bit wide saw some show and headed back through the bar after a look at a few spots
    Sure was a nice day
    "light gear big fish big fun"

nice size snapper there clint great catch. Ya game swimming at shallow tempest.
    regards wadeo

Thats for sure wade there are a few big bities around that area,Mainly striped 1s.lol.

Cheers Troy

sweet snaps mate...they look to be the best ones caught for this site last weekend....well done
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

good going Clint - nice catch for this time of year

Quote Originally Posted by wadeo View Post
    nice size snapper there clint great catch. Ya game swimming at shallow tempest.
    regards wadeo
    Just what I was thinking Wadeo

far side - yep that was us. We also had a quick look out a bit wider in 80m but didn't come across anything

As for having a bit of a swim.. like has been said in another thread you have got more chance of being hit by a car than being taken by a shark. Although if there was heaps of bait around or we had been burleying i would avoid it.

Nice feed mate, well done.

Couple of good snapper there clint
    greg
    IS THAT A ROD IN MY POCKET OR AM I JUST HAPPY TO BE FISHING

As for having a bit of a swim.. like has been said in another thread you have got more chance of being hit by a car than being taken by a shark. Although if there was heaps of bait around or we had been burleying i would avoid it.[/quote]

Mate I Know how you feel about the swim it was really hot once it glassed out and that water was really tempting.
    However I always work on this theory

When your standing in the boat with a rod in you have your at the top of the food chain
    When your in the water your part of the food chain

Mind you I have been known to take the odd dip but never when there is any bait on the sounder.
    "light gear big fish big fun"

nice fish clunt, cracker snapper

A good report reading and you're so brave man for a swim!

Hey Clint

Couple of nice snapps there mate.
    Shaun said you guys had a bit of fun with the AJ'S.Pity about the rod caving in on you.

Cheers Dazza