Headed out 4:30am saturday morning to the close reefs off cape moreton. The water was a dirty green so decided to fish plastics for snapper instead of trolling. Wasnt much bait around but eventually found a nice school getting harassed on the edge of the reef. Plastics went out and first cast two of us hooked up. My mate got reefed and i pulled in a nice 50-60cm GT (jeez they fight hard!). Next few hours saw us with 5 snapper in the esky and at least a dozen bust offs before they shut down. By this time the reef was absolutely packed so we had a quick troll south towards shallow tempest.
Not much bait around there either but persisted with the pastics and hooked up a couple of times but didnt boat any fish. Had a quick swim and some lunch at shallow tempest then headed back north again in the hopes that the fish were where we left them and most of the boats would be gone. Another couple of bust offs and then scored a nice ambo.
Had a look around the top of the bay on the way home and didnt spot any surface activity. Also jigged a few beacons but didnt get anything.