Thread: Moreton Bay Saturday - Great Day for zip in the esky

Moreton Bay Saturday - Great Day for zip in the esky

Left Whyte island at the UN gentleman hour of 4am. Flat bay full steam ahead. Best day in a long time weather wise.

Stopped at :

Measured Mile - ZIP ZILCH NOTHIN

4 breacons - ZIP ZILCH NOTHIN

Not a show of bait or livies. Not a bird seen working. No surface activity. As the sun came up the water wasnt real flash. Discoloured a bit and alot of weed and other sh** in it.

Headed to Curtin Reef 8.30 to fish a couple of hours each side of high tide.

Picked a spot and into it. I prefer the northern end myself.

About half hour before high tide son's rod is off............... and i mean it went off big time. Fish took 100 - 120 metres of braid. Son got 50 back. Fish took another 50 meters son got 30 back. Not looking good. Reel drops it's guts - OH BUMMER!!!! LOL.

So son throws rod on floor and proceeds to bring it in by hand. Not easy on 50lb braid. Fish was running up near top all this time, then decides to go deep. And what is down deep at Curtin??????????????????? Yep. He knew what he was doing. Straight round the nearest piece of structure and GONE!!!!!!!!!!!!! The joys of fishing. I am tipping a big cobe or kingy, but we'll never know now.
    I dropped what i called a biggish snap, but again we'll never know. Felt like one with the head shakes etc.

I guess thats why it's called fishing and not catching. Didnt see anything else caught near us, so upped the pick for a very quick ride home on a flat bay at 26 knots.

Cobes 7 Me 0

Re: Moreton Bay Saturday - Great Day for zip in the esky

What a day tho, Its great to be on the water on those types of days and to have a few big hits is a bonus. You certainly weren't alone trying to find the buggers. Mate told me he did find one big school of longtails in the rainbow but had everyone and their dogs trying to charge through and turn them into fish cakes Cheers

Still sounds like an ok ish trip mike, least you had a few big hits, and it'll keep you guessing for while. Nice report.

Mickstar

G'day Mike. Yes it was a pearler of a day out there on Saturday. There were some big shapes on the sounder and often I picked up the bait fish on the sounder with the larger fish around them. That was around Peel Island though. A couple of times Scalem and I had blinding runs that were more like pelagic runs rather than snapper and got busted off. Did manage a feed with the kids however which is always a bonus. Better luck next time. See you out there some time.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Hi Mike , its good to see the people who get up while it is still dark don't catch much more than I do.
    I hit the Nudgee ramp at almost 10am wizzed over to Mud after stopping to pull a couple of livies at a beacon and fished the change of tide with a couple of dozen other guys. Not only did I get nothing I didn't see any anyone else pull anything in either. I got bored and ran over to Tangas for a swim.
    I dropped the last livie over the side on the edge of the chanel on the way back, something bit it straight off after about 10 minutes so headed home. The Western side of the bay was starting to chop up, but still a 40 minute trip from Moreton to Nudgee isn't bad for the tinnie.

Marlin Mike
    That's why it called fishing and not catching o'well better luck next time out on the water
    I was out on the bay last friday near Moreton Island threw out live's while fishing for whiting had good reel screams but kept pulling in sharks (all release)
    I thought be at least a Mac and weather forecast was way wrong again blowing a good 25knts instead being 10 to 15knts
    Mitch
    In life, start off wrong and you'll finish wrong. Put just one skeleton in the closet and you'll have to put another one in to hide the first, and so it goes.
    But start off right and you'll finish right. There's no comeback when you stick to the truth - and no skeletons!

gday mike i was the same on the water at four, tried the pearl on the way over 1 under squire , cowan 1 under sized squire no macks hard to get close to the schools of long tails [small schools] i was wondering were the massive schools of mack tuna that were reported in the paper on friday ?anyway it was a nice day to be out there trying , i also pushed the fuel tank to the limit 60 nautical miles,110 kms came in on empty

I left clontarf at 3.30am headed to mud. only few boats there then. By about 7 they were everywhere. Tried spot x and for the first time got nil. Headed to southern end near rock walls. Got keeper sweetie. Got belted by something. Lost lot.
    So headed back to northern end. Got another sweetie then got belted again. Damm big cattie. Would have gone at least 6 kg.
    Got real excited for little while.
    Started to get little choppy about 11.30 so pulled up anchor and headed back.
    Not bad run back sitting on 25 knots.
    It was nice to see that sun.

We ducked over to Moreton Saturday morn too, trying to find some decent water.

Spotted the longies and started the chase. Mate hooked up on his relatively light outfit and had him on for 15 mins and then ping!

Didn't hook up another fish all day!

Glad to hear I wasn't the only one with an empty esky.

Sorry to hear about the reel Mike, hope it wasn't that one you got off me !!!!!!!

Na Mark-P, it was one of my sons, a Penn GT330. Wasnt a bad reel. Mate PM me your mobile number again Mark, Ill give you a ring. Got a new phone after losing all my numbers in the old one. Been hard getting a deckie lately. Ill give you a ring about fishing if you PM me it.

we headed to the sandhills, not much weed in the water but it was definitely off colour. Maybe this dirty water contributed towards two firsts for me at the sandhills, a catfish and an octopus. I also lost a good mac next to the boat on a floater, luckily we got a feed of whiting and crabs to ease the pain.

I'm with a kingy Mike. I've had, and lost plenty there, and I know they're kingies 'cause I got 'em to the top.............Once the buggers hit surface it amazes me how they can get back down to the bottom, before you get a chance to put the brakes on.

Better luck next time eh?

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

i'll be there every saturday weather permitting kev till i get one of those freight trains......

How much lead did it take to get down there Mike, or were you fishing at slack?

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.