Gday all
I knew it was gonna b a great day on the water sat so I knocked off work early and headed straight for the gc!! we arrived at the gc bar in my 4.1 tinny right on dawn and conditions were perfect the plan was to troll around till we seen some birds we trolled all around some shallow reefs south to the seaway and not a touch so we tried at the 20 fathom reefs a bit further out still nothing so we trolled back in when my mate seen a 8-10 foot leopard shark or so he thinks so we stopped quickly threw out some berley and i put a whole grinner sliced so i could hide the 12/0 with the 400lb wire! i was using my tyrnos 30 on the live fibre with 500 mts of 24 kilo!! after about 20 mins i had the griiner drifted around 40 foot down when i could feel something playing with it then the line went slack I knew i was on I waited it ran a little then i set the hook 3 or 4 times 2 make sure!! It wasn't fast but it was powerful and heavy after around 30 mins i turned i thought i have this, with not a bad little fight, little did i know i was way off
it turned and took 200m plus dragging the boat around i was fishing with 6kg of pressure i would turn it and get reasonably close when it would run again after around an hour same we jst couldn't get a look, so we turned up the heat to 8 kg by then my back was canning at the 3 hour mark the wind was really starting to turn up and i had to go to work later on that day so full lock we went! we were looking on the chart plotter by then it had dragged us well over a km and we still hadnt seen it after 45 mins at full lock i couldn't take it any more i was rooted my mate took over he hhad control of the rod and i was helping him lift aswell it was such a work out! At the 4hour 10 min mark after dragging us over 2km against the wind it must have bn jst out of sight when the line snapped we dont know if it was the same shark we really jst wanted 2 c it by then we were in 120 ft of water and had taken in quite a bit of water hooked on to a huge shark 5ks off shore we really bit off more than we could chew!!!!!!!