That's a decent catch for this time of the year.. Notice how the snaps arent as thick as winter time ones? Those mahi mahi are absolute ripper on the BBQ with peppered butter, but you have to kill them asap before they bruise themself too much.
G'day all,
After studying our weather sites over the last week i decided Saturday would be our chance at soothing the fishing withdrawal's due to recent weather. For months we had being trying to plan a long trip to the hards and beyond in search of reds. Only fishing the hards once briefly before i new i had my work cut out for me as a skipper to produce a good feed for myself and the crew. Craigo (saltrat) Pete and Mark left moloolaba at 2am and were greeted with a glass out run for our long journey. Pete decided to have a kip on the floor of the deck for the run out. Thankyou to Craigo for driving half the distance out too some 80km from the marina. 4am was our first drop on an isolated bommy rising 5m off the sea floor with shows of snapper and pearly's on the sounder. Noticing no or little current i decided to drift. Waisting no time the boys were landing snapper and pearlys. Drifting this spot a few times produced well for all on board. Moving to another bommy not far away more snaps, pearlies moses pearch and quality parrot made there way into our esky. Only one under size red was caught all day. On high water things shut down so we anchored on a good rise in 65m of water. Berlying up brought some dolphin fish to the boat which mark had great pleasure in catching. 1pm things still weren't happening and with a storm on the horizon we headed for home with fins on the parrot, Moses and cod snipped and a head count of 40 fish, there was smiles all round. Mark with the biggest pearly of 2.6kg and pete with the biggest snap of 4kg. Can't wait to explore more of this area and further in the months to come. thankyou to the crew for an enjoyable day and a big thankyou in helping to clean the boat. Our search for reds continues.
regards Wadeo
Last edited by wadeo; 13-02-2008 at 02:39 PM.
That's a decent catch for this time of the year.. Notice how the snaps arent as thick as winter time ones? Those mahi mahi are absolute ripper on the BBQ with peppered butter, but you have to kill them asap before they bruise themself too much.
Humility is not a weather condition.
thanks Wayne how did you blokes go? they are great eating at that size.
regards wadeo
i was on board spiro
didnt do all that well
we were caught in that storm
did u make it back to harbour before storm hit
pete
We got 10 pearlies the largest 3-4kgs we pulled them all of the one bomie and another spot we went to we got decent amount of snapper the largest about 5kg, but it looked big.. though. and like all my previous trip and using light gear. I got taken to the bottom a couple of time, ohwell, that's fishing. The plastic was killing the larger snapper in gin clear water.
Saw alot of familiar boat out there on sat.
I'm still laughing about the guy who replied on the radio to someone regarding "week end warrior"
ahh fishing there is never a dull moment.
Humility is not a weather condition.
Hello Wade Thanks Once Again For Another Great Fishing Trip.
The Boat Is A Weapon And Moves Very Quickly When Needed.
U Forgot To Mention The Dolphin Fish Wrapping Around About Ten Lines.
Look Forward To Next Trip Mate Thanks Mark
Hey mate good to see the mission paid off. Its very rewarding when you get those hauls. I havent been back to the hards since my days in the lightning. I used to use 120 litres in that boat to travel to the hards run around and home. And always did well. Id love to jump on board your ship for a hards mission sometime. I'll get me kc out there soon. Pete would have been smiling Good work mate, youll find those reds, talk soon Deano.
Awesome trip again mate, will drive the boat more if you like. I believe it stops a skipper of a boat getting to fatigued on arrival at the fishing spot, leaving him/her in better nick to fish !! Especially on those long hauls at night, certainly was a case of early bird catching the worm as things did shut down on the bottom after the dawn bite period. Your old mate in the grey suit popped up to say g"day, bet the arms are sore today.
Good decision to head in when we did, gave us enough time to put on some distance before we hit the storm, just about need racing harnesses in that cat, did I hear you right when you said 55kts? So the search for reds continues. On the law of fishing averages living on the coast, and going out as often as you do I'm sure you will live your fishing fantasy of finding the school of fish of you dreams REDS!! For die hard blue water fisherman catching a big red like the one Frank is holding in the DI Thread is the everest of reef fishing. Totaly nackered after that one boys.
Slept well when got back at Brissy. Looking forward to the next trip.
gday craig yeah arms are sore. we breifly hit 47kn traveling towards storm only to be slowed up to 40kn at the same rpm (5600) by the wind howling against us as we entered the storm. Once we hit the white out of heavy rain i pulled her back to 25kn due to no visibility. Didnt last till 8pm last night and slept for 12hrs. Felt sorry for you having to drive back to brissie. Glad ya got home safe.
regards wadeo
Nice mixed bag there wadeo you seem to be doing good up that way when i find the time ill have to give it a shot.
cheers pete...
hahaha "weekend warrior to weekday @anker" was a classic.. I lost a fish thanks to that call
Good to see ya's had a good day bud. Nice fish, bet it was good to get out.