hi i discovered this today on my 702 XL 2-4kg t-curve the rear grip on my rod but has cracked and quite severely to i am wondering what to do .
regards,
keechie
(p.s. i bought my rod in september 2007)
hi i discovered this today on my 702 XL 2-4kg t-curve the rear grip on my rod but has cracked and quite severely to i am wondering what to do .
regards,
keechie
(p.s. i bought my rod in september 2007)
What type of wood, do you know? A good quality wood glue and proper clamping will fix it, but some particular wood species may require extra prep before gluing to get the strongest bond.
get the reel off your mum's favourite rug for starters
Check the warranty on your rod. Contact Shimano or the store you bought it from and go from there. I know the reels have a 10 yr warranty.
Wags
yeah thanks wags on the water i might take it back to the shop or contact shimano.
captain stabin it is my rug thats in my room that has soft plastics and stuff on it already.
And baitthrower i have no idea on the type of cork.
thanks for the replies.
regards,
keechie
Mate if Shimano does honour it repair I would force alderite into the crack and sand off any excess. You can also use wood putty.
Ken
Ken's right, use 24 hour if you can.
I've been going on about the advantages of cork .
r.
GO THE CRUISER UTES!
....OH WHAT A FEELING!
does anyone know what could of caused this?
regards,
keechie
It's hard to tell a lot from the photo, can you see the rod through the gap??
I was wondering if the rod actually went right through to the butt cap...... Just a thought.
r.
GO THE CRUISER UTES!
....OH WHAT A FEELING!
Oh sorry cork... well, thats a different story. Sorry I had timber on my brain. If you cant get it replaced or fixed under warranty, then I reckon a good hot melt glue will bond cork up pretty well if you get good coverage in the cracked area.
sorry roz bu i could not see the crack passes right around to the other side probably cover about 220 degree's around and is about 1/5 inch from the end of the butt.
regards,
keechie
It's hard to see from the pic, but it appears that the crack doesn't line up with a join in the cork rings.
Given the shape of the handle I reckon the pressure from trolling in a rod holder could do that, but I would have thought the centre of the crack would be opposite the reel seat (i.e on the backbone).
Could be just a defect in the cork. I doubt given the price of most factory rods that you're getting select grade cork.
Owen
The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)
then maybe it was forced onto the blank to hard!!just a thought