Thread: CTS blanks

CTS blanks

Has anyone bought and used these rods. Would be interested to know what they are like.

cheers roz.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Re: CTS blanks

Yes I have used a fare few CTS blanks. They are good blanks. What ones are you talking about?

G'day Roz,

Just got my hands on a CTS from Gary Howard the other day. 7' 10-15kg cobalt blue. Looks like it will be one powerful stick once built up. Can't comment otherwise as haven't fished with one before.
    Cheers, Jan.

Well to be honest, I'm asking on someone elses behalf, so I will gather more information. I do know it would likely be used for fresh water fishing, perhaps trout...

Will get back to you.

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

I know it's a long shot Jan & ozrods, but this chappie is looking at the EST16048, one piece fast action Jig/spin 4-6kg.

ta for that

cheers r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

I know my EGRELL S4 is a CTS blank and has the intergrated egrell casting tip. They are a very powerful rod
    regards josh

thanks for that Josh, i'll pass it on.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Have a look at the CTS blanks with the 33mil modulous tip with the 55mil modulous butt. Don't know the name and no.s of them but have built a few and are very nice.

Thanks Guys
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

hi all reagarding the cts blanks i am keen to build one as well who would be the best priced on these blanks, when you are starting out building your own trying to find some at honest prices is very hard, cheers all

Funnily enough, I've acatually built on an EST 7' 4-6 kg blank - fast action. It is a super light blank with a lot more power than it's weight suggests. You pick up the rod and can't believe it's rated to 6 kilos. I've always treated it as more of a 4 kilo rod, until just recently I decided I'd set my drag to 2 kilos and see how it would pull. The rod is definitely capable of taking that drag setting. The fast action blank doesn't have a super whippy tip, so I struggle to cast ultra light bream lures (in the 5 g range). they still cast OK, but I don't feel as if the tip fully "loads-up" in the cast. 10g and up to maybe 20 is the ideal range, 15 is definitely a sweet spot.

This blank is as good as any out there. Super light and sensitive and has a really crisp action.

thanks for that Irrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!! (was trying to fathom your name)

cheers roz
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Simon,did not know you were a member, hows things ,bit wet up your way I hear, hows the rod building going ,are the cts blanks any good?.
    IAN
    Last edited by coelacanth; 20-02-2008 at 09:49 PM. Reason: did not realise i was hijacking a thread

mate its not agood thing to hi jack a thread cheers ian

New to the site Sid hope the edit appeases you.
    Cheers IAN