Blue Marlin on Black Egrell - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Blue Marlin on Black Egrell

Re: Blue Marlin on Black Egrell

Gday frank how you bin latly, that is a ripper marlin. We headed out saturday to wide cal with not the greatest result with only a couple keeper pearlys and alot of undersized stuff, we had a troll with not even a hit but thats the way it goes. When are you gonna invite me and tas senior out for a trip out with you so you can show us how its done. Are you gonna go to the meet and greet at mission point in march.

cheers Dan
    Last edited by Tassie JR; 10-02-2008 at 08:20 PM.

Hi Frank...

Great looking fish. Congratulations to Navi on a superb effort. Looked like a great day, good to see you getting out and enjoying yourselves.

Eric&Deb...
    Fish Well-Fish Egrell

Good Morning Tassies,

I will give Reel Screem a call to get your number- Expect a call soon.

I am looking forward to the M & G. It is always nice to put a face to the names.

Frank OO
    Last edited by Frank OO; 11-02-2008 at 08:34 AM.

Firstly, I can't thank Frank enough for taking us out for the day and making it one of the most memorable fishing days I've ever had - and that's a few.

The plastic fishing was tonnes of fun and I was spitting all morning for dropping a really good snapper half way to the boat but that lose faded away quickly after hooking my first Marlin

Frank is a top fishermen and really knows his stuff. His advice and encouragement throughout the battle was a great help and he also drove the boat superbly which made my task of fighting the fish heaps easier. Thanks to Vin as well for being a bit slow out of the blocks and giving me first shot at the beast it was a real team effort.

Eric - thanks for that mate and I really enjoyed using your rods for both plastics and trolling. We will have to talk soon about adding a couple of your sticks to my collection.

Big Ren - I was taking advantage of Franks extended bimini and as there was no breeze on Sat, so had my shirt and hat off to cool down Didn't exactly have time to put them back on when that Marlin hit.
    I reckon Vin will be the first to suggest trolling a few skirts to try to level things again between us – he was a bit dirty on me for the rest of the day which made the catch even sweeter

Steve B – It has been a good year for us. We have had some really average sessions lately so we back on par. Maybe a bit ahead with this last catch. I’m still definitely a barra man – the short fight makes the adrenalin rush so intense but this experience is one I’ll never forget. Might try compromising and casting a few skirts next time we at monduran or may try trolling a B52 offshore on the outriggers

Again, thanks Frank – you the man!!!!! I still have a huge grin on my face – can’t say the same about Vin though

Well done guys. Great looking fish. Good to see there are still a few snaps around at that spot Frank.
    Dan i will send Frank a pm with your number. Ask him about the tailor trip .

Cheers Scott

Top work Frank gotta be happy with that!

Nice stripie frank,Good to see it was a great with a few fish.
    Good to see snaps still around at the mark.

Cheers Troy

Congratulations Navi, You deserved to get a fish after Vinnie gave you an absloute lession on barra the other week!!!!! Finally one stayed on.
    From the look of the first picture you may have got some sun burn as well. That is a bloody long fish from that photo and skinny as [ like you]. Waiting now to see the piccies and video.
    FrankOO-you got to stop giving these buggers the rods and take one for your self, extremely rewarding though to see some one hook and land a magic fish like that. Congratulations on your patience and persistance this season cos they arent coming in like they were last year. Youv'e now broken the duck with an absolute ball tearer. Well done.

Sounds like a trifector Navi. First a cracker of a barra trip then the jamican hitchiker and now a horse of a marlin. Talk about the right place at the right time. Sounds like a real team effort. Top skippering Frank and congratulations Navi on the fish of a lifetime. We had similar conditions up at the hards. Thanks very much for rigging my new combo, broke it in hard.
    Criago

Jamcian Hitch hikers. Are they the ones which hang around bus stops?

Well done Frank - always good to put the crew onto good fish and pb's

Just as well you got it in Navi (BTW well done!!!) - be a few cartons comming Franks way if you'd have dropped it!!!

Thanks Benjamin! It was an awesome experience and I was a bit lucky not to lose it as the hooked buried in the roof of the mouth so hadn't penetrated through the palate - it just slid out. Franks going to have to try and beat Vin to the rod next time!!

Saltrat - 'Jamican Hitchhiker' you'll have a lot to explain when my mum reads this post .

Revs57 - Thanks. Frank said I was rather calm about it and obviously didn't see me swap undies 3 times during the fight I would have been gutted if I dropped it.

I'll certainly be getting a photo blown up to throw on the wall - of the fish that is NOT the jamican hitchhiker .

That is just awesome Frank OO. So how soon before this weather fines up again? I really have to get out there very soon. The health is improving daily now so I think I can get ready to book in a trip. Will keep an eye out on the weather.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Swwweeeet
    Congrats To The Angler And Crew It Wouldnt Matter If It Had Pocker Dots To Me , Quallity Fish !.
    Well Done
    Monostretcho !

Quote Originally Posted by reel scream View Post
    Well done guys. Great looking fish. Good to see there are still a few snaps around at that spot Frank.
    Dan i will send Frank a pm with your number. Ask him about the tailor trip .

Cheers Scott
    Hey scott give him dads number not mine, What Tailer trip?

And once again navi great fish.

cheers Dan