Thread: Magic bay sat 9th.

Magic bay sat 9th.

We had to get out on the bay today with the conditions forecasted so we thought we'd have a look for a few speesters. Left from fishermans Is. and out to Mud then down past St Helena out to Harries ,back towards Mud and not a single splash . The only birds we saw were in a hurry heading way north. We persisted and kept our witts about us but couldn't find a fish. Even the current lines near Harries had our attention especially with the build up of sea grass floating on the surface. It certainly had heaps of bait holding underneath the cover but nothing was around to harrass them so we were left scratching our heads I really didn't want to throw plastics on the reef today but we weren't going to go home empty so late morning we decided to have a few drifts at Green. Heaps of undersized squire hitting our plastics . Garrett was first to land a nice squire and then he hooked a solid morwong. First one he's ever caught so he claims 3 pbs in 3 trips I hooked another solid squire and then it went a bit quiet so we had one last pass to see if we could find some fish on the surface fish but it wasn't to be or not for us anyway. We did see a c/c carving across to Green and went to see what type of boat it was. Looked a fantastic ride and then realised it was Steven 78 and crew. Sorry fellas ,I wasn't trying to suss your spots, we didn;t come over because you looked like you were working some plastics . Still a beautiful day on Moreton bay and a great way to relax Cheers

Re: Magic bay sat 9th.

Cheif, steven 78 has a Galeforce 4.8m Im pretty sure. Of all the days I had to plan concreting the boat port it had to be one that had 5-10 knots all day.

Looks like it was a great day to be out and about on the water
    A couple of good fish to top it off

sounds a pretty good morning Chief, solid Squire mate!

Looks like the weather really turned it on today, by all report there seems to be bait everywhere in the bay, but no pelagics . At least you didn't go home empty handed.

Cheers Chris

IT WAS MEEEEEE Next time you see me come over. You did better then us rasing a feed. What sort of SP where you using? I cannot not wait until summer is over i hate this heat.

Thanks fellas, G/day Steven,great day to be on the water.We were useing 4 inch nucelar chicken minnows. Interesting though,we had some solid hits and we scored a lot of small squire that were hooked half way down the body,top of the head ,any where but in the mouth.Garrett actually commented that it seemed that squire were not so much as feeding but agressively attacking in a territorial way.Interested to know your feedback. Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by chief View Post
    Thanks fellas, G/day Steven,great day to be on the water.We were useing 4 inch nucelar chicken minnows. Interesting though,we had some solid hits and we scored a lot of small squire that were hooked half way down the body,top of the head ,any where but in the mouth.Garrett actually commented that it seemed that squire were not so much as feeding but agressively attacking in a territorial way.Interested to know your feedback. Cheers
    funny you mention that mate, just got back from an afternoon hit on St Hel, only landed 4 rat Squire. One was hooked in the head and another in the eye. Lost a Small Spottie or Schoolie too

G/day Captain, Mate, it always amazes me how squire inhale large plastics. Even small fish will come up with a 4inch turtleback folded in half hanging out their mouth.Logistically out of about 12 undersized hook ups, 8 would have been fowled hooked and coming in sideways , Aggressive little buggers coming in with a big shoulder charge . Thats it footie seasons just around the corner

Hey Chief. I know what you mean about the bait. i saw acres of it yesterday up the rainbow when i went for a look for some speedsters, Didnt see one chop. nothing like last year.

Has anyone been getting any surface action consistantly?

Whytey
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

Gday chief , Sounds like you and garret did exactly what i did yesterday.Excapt i was at the sunny coast. Went looking for speedy ones and pulled a few snaps and sweeties off a reef. Saw only one small pod of longtails out past the dirty water line off caloundra and couldnt get close enough to get a cast off. Ben

Whytey.. unbelieveable,couldn't even find some troubled bait let alone any bust ups. Trying out a new leader knot to braid ,I saw Tim Morgan demonstrate and its a beauty and I'm dieing to give it a shot on a longtail .

Blooey..a mate on the coast told me on thursday he'd pick up a few spotties on Palmie. I was hopeing i might find a few in the bay .My uncle told me he'd heard of a few spotts in the bay but their certainly not where I've been fishing

Good stuff Chief, I guess you got a bit fed up with the rivers population of squire being finiky etc, atleast you had a back up plan which scored you a few good ones, and geeze garrets getting onto a few of late

Hi young chris, No not sick of them , just really wanted to take advantage of the wheather and chase some mackeral/ tuna. The river has a fair bit of fresh in it at the moment as well. Went to the protest today . Water isn't looking flash,Have a look on the news tonight. What about you young mate,Been getting into those bream? Cheers

Yeah there seems to be a lot of fresh in mos rivers around the place, i just got back from brunsick heads and the fishing was very tough, the water clarity was basically just dark brown, i only manged 5 bream for the trip all on hardbodied lures except one which fell to a flickbait. Plenty of flatties around but nt with much size.